Sport - boy playing Tennis Table Home > Sport Overview

Sport, Recreation and Community Programs Division

The Sport, Recreation and Community Programs Division continues to champion participation in sport and recreation activities across the province. Participation in sport contributes to better health, provides role models for the pursuit of personal excellence, exemplifies the value of teamwork and builds community pride.


image of a woman playing soccer
Belonging to a sport club affiliated with a Provincial or Multi Sport Organization is the best option for those pursuing sport at increasingly higher levels. However, if your goal is simply to be healthier or get into better shape, then programs run by community or municipal parks or recreation organizations are also a great option.

Resources

Providing additional support to athletes from the province of Ontario.

Safety in Sport

Each year many people are injured while participating in sport and recreation activities in Ontario.


A woman cycling

Recreation is vital to the health and well-being of individuals, and strengthens communities by encouraging volunteer involvement and providing constructive activities for youth. The amount that Ontarians spend each year on recreation, sport and fitness, has a powerful impact on job creation and the economy.

Ontario Trails

A world-class system of trails that captures the uniqueness and beauty of Ontario. The Ontario Trails Strategy is a long-term plan that establishes strategic directions for planning, managing, promoting and using trails in Ontario.

Framework for Recreation in Canada

The Framework, jointly developed by Provincial and Territorial Governments and key representatives from the Canadian recreation sector, intends to guide and stimulate coordinated practices in recreation that aim to improve the wellbeing of individuals and communities.


kids playing hockey

Leadership by coaches and volunteers is the key to both safe participation in recreation, sport and physical activity, and the achievement of athletic excellence. Effective coaching creates positive experiences that encourage children and youth to continue their participation and improve their skills and performance.


teenagers at school

Ontario's After School Program gives children and youth in priority neighbourhoods an opportunity to participate in fun, structured activities that contribute to their overall health and well-being.

Sport - boy playing Tennis Table Accueil > Sport

Division des sports, des loisirs et des programmes communautaires

La Division des sports, des loisirs et des programmes communautaires continue d'encourager la participation aux sports et aux activités de loisir, partout en Ontario. La participation sportive contribue à la santé de tous et sert de modèle à suivre afin d'encourager l'excellence personnelle, d'inculquer des principes de travail d'équipe, et de bâtir une fierté de l'appartenance à une collectivité.


Femme qui joue le soccer
L'adhésion à un club de sport affilié à un organisme provincial de sport ou à un organisme multisports est la meilleure option pour ceux et celles qui souhaitent pratiquer un sport à haut niveau. Toutefois, si votre objectif est simplement d'améliorer sa santé et son conditionnement physique, les programmes offerts par les organismes communautaires ou municipaux de parcs et loisirs sont aussi un excellent choix.

Ressources

D'aide aux athlètes ontariens permet de prêter assistance aux athlètes amateurs ontariens

Sécurité en sport

Chaque année, beaucoup de gens en Ontario sont blessés quand ils participent dans les activités de sport et de récréation.


Cycliste

Les loisirs constituent un élément essentiel à la santé et au bien-être des gens et renforcent les collectivités en encourageant la participation des bénévoles, et en mettant en place des activités constructives pour la jeunesse. Le montant que les Ontariens dépensent chaque année sur les loisirs, le sport et de remise en forme, a un impact puissant sur la création d'emplois et l'économie.

Sentiers de l'Ontario

A world-class system of trails that captures the uniqueness and beauty of Ontario. La Stratégie ontarienne pour l'aménagement des pistes et des sentiers est un programme à long terme qui permet d'établir des orientations stratégiques en vue de la planification, de la gestion, de la promotion et de l'utilisation des pistes et des sentiers en Ontario.

Cadre stratégique pour le loisir au Canada

Conjointement élaboré par les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que par des représentants majeurs du secteur canadien du loisir sous la direction de l'Association canadienne des parcs et loisirs, ce cadre vise à guider et à stimuler l'adoption de pratiques coordonnées dans le domaine du loisir en vue d'améliorer le bien-être des personnes et des communautés.


Enfants qui joue du hockey

Le leadership manifesté par les entraîneurs et autres bénévoles est la clé d'une participation sécuritaire à des activités de loisirs, de sport et d'activités physiques, et de la poursuite de l'excellence sportive. Un entraînement efficace contribue à susciter une expérience positive qui encourage les enfants et les adolescents à poursuivre leur participation, à améliorer leurs compétences et leur rendement.


teenagers at school

Le Programme ontarien d'activités après l'école offre aux enfants et aux adolescents de quartiers prioritaires la possibilité de participer à des activités amusantes et structurées qui améliorent leur santé et leur bien-être.