Provincial Sport/Multi Sport Organizations

Provincial Sport / Multi-Sport Organizations (PSO/MSOs) are not-for profit organizations formally recognized by the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport as the governing body of a particular amateur sport in Ontario. The primary function of PSO/MSOs is the development of athletes, coaches and officials.

Recognized PSO/MSOs play an important role in the sport system by developing their respective sports across Ontario and encouraging participation in recreational and competitive sport programs. They are self-governing organizations responsible for: developing their sports; providing a competitive pathway for athlete development; selecting provincial teams; recruiting and training coaches, officials and volunteers; conducting provincial championships; and ensuring they operate within their National Sport Organization (NSO) rules.

For the public, a provincially recognized PSO/MSO provides assurance that the organization:

  • Operates in a safe and effective manner;
  • Follows national standards when developing and offering a sport;
  • Offers high quality programs to their members;
  • Has certified coaches and officials; and
  • Has established risk management policies (discipline, harassment, anti-doping, screening for volunteers etc.).

Belonging to a sport club affiliated with a Recognized PSO/MSO is important

PSO/MSOs oversee all aspects of a designated sport and offer programs for people of all ages and abilities, and at all levels of competition. By participating in activities delivered by an organization recognized by a PSO/MSO the public can be assured appropriate standards of coaching, technical programming, officiating and safety have been considered. This will provide individuals with an enjoyable experience while benefiting from sport participation.

The Ministry works with PSO/MSOs to ensure safety is a top priority. This ensures the highest safety standards are applied and monitored throughout all programs and events delivered by those organizations.

View the current list of recognized provincial sport organizations.

Sport Recognition Policy 2016

The Sport Recognition Policy sets out mandatory requirements that all PSO/MSOs must meet in order to be recognized by the Government of Ontario as the governing body for the sport in the province. These requirements help to ensure that sport activities offered by Ontario’s organizations meet a high standard of quality, safety and effectiveness.

The Ministry undertook a review of the Sport Recognition Policy as one of the commitments made under the Ontario Government’s Sport Plan – Game ON.

The revised policy clarifies the steps organizations must take in order to attain recognition. All PSO/MSOs will need to re-apply for recognition under the revised policy, illustrating that they satisfy the criteria.

Organizations are welcome to submit an application to be recognized under the Sport Recognition Policy at any time. However organizations aiming to also obtain funding will need to align with the funding cycle of the Ministry. Below are links to the updated Sport Recognition Policy and the Application Form and Guidelines

  1. Sport Recognition Policy (EN/FR)
  2. Application Form and Guidelines for Sport Recognition Policy (EN/FR)

If you have any questions about the applying for recognition please contact:

Patricia Vena
Manager, Sport and Recreation Unit
Phone: (416) 314-7791
Email: Patricia.Vena@ontario.ca

Ontario Amateur Sport Fund

The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport undertook a redesign of the current sport funding programs to reduce the administrative burden and duplication and to improve the application process. This redesign was a commitment under Game ON – The Ontario Government’s Sport Plan.

The Ontario Amateur Sport Fund (OASF) is a multi-year funding program designed to support the three pillars identified in Game ON: Participation, Development and Excellence.

The Ontario Amateur Sport Fund will lead to greater support for PSO/MSOs to strengthen athlete programming, identify clear athlete performance targets, develop a stronger talent identification system, and operationalize strategic plans for their organizations. The Ontario Amateur Sport Fund will pave the way for Ontarians to have access to a best-in-class amateur sport system from the playground to the podium.

Organismes provinciaux de sport et organismes multisports

Les organismes provinciaux de sport et les organismes multisports (OPS/OMS) sont des organismes sans but lucratif officiellement reconnus par le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport comme les instances dirigeantes d’un sport amateur donné en Ontario. Leur principale responsabilité est le développement des athlètes, des entraîneurs et des officiels.

Les OPS/OMS reconnus jouent un rôle important dans le système sportif : ils font la promotion de leur sport respectif en Ontario et favorisent la participation aux programmes de sport récréatif et compétitif. Ce sont des organismes indépendants chargés de faire progresser leur sport, d’offrir à leurs athlètes la possibilité de participer à des compétitions, de sélectionner des équipes provinciales, de recruter et de former des entraîneurs, des officiels et des bénévoles, d’organiser des championnats provinciaux ainsi que de veiller au respect des règles de leur organisme national de sport.

Les OPS/OMS reconnus par la province garantissent à la population qu’un organisme :

  • mène ses activités de manière sécuritaire et efficace;
  • respecte les normes nationales pour promouvoir et offrir son sport;
  • offre des programmes de grande qualité à ses membres;
  • compte des entraîneurs et des officiels certifiés;
  • est doté de politiques de gestion des risques (mesures disciplinaires, contre le harcèlement, antidopage, sélection des bénévoles, etc.).

Importance d’appartenir à un club sportif affilié à un OPS/OMS reconnu

Les OPS/OMS régissent tous les aspects de leurs sports respectifs et offrent des programmes aux gens de tous les âges, peu importe leurs aptitudes ou leur niveau de compétition. Quiconque participe aux activités d’organismes reconnus par un OPS/OMS peut avoir la certitude que les normes adéquates en matière d’entraînement, de programmation technique, d’arbitrage et de sécurité ont été mises en place. Les participants auront donc une expérience agréable tout en profitant des bienfaits du sport.

Le Ministère travaille avec les OPS/OMS pour s’assurer que la sécurité est leur priorité absolue. Il veille ainsi à la mise en oeuvre et à l’encadrement des normes de sécurité les plus élevées dans les programmes et les événements de ces organismes.

Politique sur la reconnaissance des sports 2016

La Politique sur la reconnaissance des sports énonce les exigences que doivent respecter les OPS/OMS afin d’être reconnus par le gouvernement de l’Ontario comme instance dirigeante de leur sport dans la province. Ces exigences visent à garantir que les activités sportives offertes en Ontario répondent à des normes élevées de qualité, de sécurité et d’efficacité.

Le ministère a procédé à l’examen de la Politique sur la reconnaissance des sports, conformément à son engagement annoncé dans ON joue – Le Plan de promotion du sport du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Les étapes que les organismes doivent suivre pour obtenir la reconnaissance sont définies plus clairement dans la politique révisée. Chaque OPS/OMS devra faire une nouvelle demande de reconnaissance au titre de la politique révisée pour démontrer qu’il satisfait aux critères.

Les organismes peuvent faire leur demande à tout moment. Toutefois, les organismes qui souhaitent aussi obtenir des fonds devront suivre le cycle de financement du Ministère. Vous trouverez les liens vers la nouvelle Politique sur la reconnaissance des sports, le formulaire de demande et les lignes directrices ci-après.

  1. Politique sur la reconnaissance des sports (EN/FR)
  2. Formulaire de demande et Lignes directrices de la Politique sur la reconnaissance des sports (EN/FR)

Pour toute question sur les demandes de reconnaissance, communiquez avec :

Patricia Vena
Gestionnaire, Unité des sports et des loisirs
Téléphone : (416) 314-7791
Courriel : Patricia.Vena@ontario.ca

Fonds ontarien pour le sport amateur

Le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport a entrepris une refonte des programmes existants de financement du sport afin de réduire le fardeau administratif et les dédoublements, et pour améliorer le processus de demande. Cette refonte constituait un engagement pris en vertu du plan ON joue - Le Plan de promotion du sport du gouvernement de l'Ontario.

Le Fonds ontarien pour le sport amateur (FOSA) est un programme de financement pluriannuel conçu pour soutenir les trois piliers définis dans le Plan de promotion du sport du gouvernement de l'Ontario : la participation, le développement et l'excellence.

Le Fonds ontarien pour le sport amateur offrira un meilleur soutien aux OPS/OMS pour leur permettre de renforcer les programmes pour athlètes, de définir des cibles de performance claires pour les athlètes, d'élaborer un système plus solide de dépistage des talents et de concrétiser des plans stratégiques pour leurs organismes. Le Fonds ontarien pour le sport amateur pavera la voie pour que les Ontariennes et les Ontariens puissent avoir accès au meilleur système de sport amateur, du terrain de jeux jusqu'au podium.