2013 Ontario Sport Awards Winners

Male Athlete of the Year

Patrick ChanPatrick Chan — Figure Skating — Toronto

In 2013, Patrick won his sixth Canadian National Figure Skating Championship. He also won both the Skate Canada and the Trophée Eric Bompard Grand Prix events, and finished second at the International Skating Union (ISU) Grand Prix Final. Patrick also helped Team Canada win silver at the ISU Team Trophy event in Japan. Lastly, he won his third consecutive ISU World Figure Skating Championship.

Female Athlete of the Year

Jessica KlimkaitJessica Klimkait — Judo — Whitby

Jessica won the gold medal in the cadet level at the 2013 World Judo Championship, becoming the first Canadian in any age category to become a judo world champion. The excellent results continued in 2013 when she placed third at the European U21 Cup and the Thüringen German Cup, and achieved a top five finish at the Pan American championship in Costa Rica. Jessica won the Canadian U21 title, Ontario senior open and the Pacific International senior events and placed second at the senior level championships.  

Male Athlete with a Disability of the Year

Mac MarcouxMac Marcoux — Alpine Skiing — Sault Ste. Marie

Mac and his guide, BJ Marcoux won the silver in giant slalom and bronze in super combined at the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) World Championships, while also competing in two other events. Mac finished on the podium in three World Cup races and won slalom and giant slalom events at the Canadian National Championships.

Female Athlete with a Disability of the Year

Virginia McLachlan Virginia McLachlan — Athletics — Windsor

Virginia won the 100 metre and 200 metre sprint titles at the Canadian Championships and the Boiling Point Track Classic  in Ottawa.  In international competition, she placed second in the 100 metre event at the Sainsbury International Games.  She then won two silver medals at the IPC World Championships in the 100 metre and 200 metre sprint distances.

Male Coach of the Year

Volker NolteVolker Nolte — Ontario University Athletics — London

As Head Coach for men’s and women’s rowing at the University of Western Ontario, Volker had great results in 2013. Overall, the men finished first in seven events and second in four events, while the women finished first in eight events and second in two events. As a national team coach at the 2013 World Championships, he coached Carling Zeeman to a second place showing in the women’s single rowing.

Female Coach of the Year

Vickie CroleyVickie Croley — Athletics — London

Vickie coached Damian Warner in the decathlon to his third consecutive national title and his bronze medal win at the World Championships. Taylor Stewart won gold at the national championships and had a top ten finish in the FISU Games in Long Jump.

Team of the Year

essa Virtue and Scott MoirTessa Virtue and Scott Moir — Figure Skating — Ilderton

Tessa and Scott started strong in 2013, retaining their Canadian National title in ice dance. Tessa and Scott then finished second at the ISU  Four Continents Figure Skating Championships and second again at the ISU World Figure Skating Championships. Later in 2013, the ice dance team finished first or second in every event they entered at the international level. 

Rolf Lund Jule Nisse

Marianne AllenMarianne Allen
Nominated by: Softball Ontario

Marianne has been a player, Umpire, a Member of the Local Softball Association in addition to serving at the Provincial and National level.  She began her softball career in 1954 playing for St. Catharine's, she also joined the St. Catharine's Ladies league as a member of their local executive.  She has been Secretary of the local association for many years, and for over 25 years has been umpiring local league games on a weekly basis.  Marianne has lined the field, hosted recreational, regional, provincial and national championships on behalf of St. Catharine's Ladies Softball League.   

Marianne has been a dedicated member of the Provincial Women's Softball Association's Board of Directors for 55 years.  Marianne started out as an Executive Member participating on numerous Committees and acting as a Tournament Co-coordinator at various Regional and Provincial Championships.  Marianne Allen has also represented Softball Ontario at the National level at Softball Canada Annual General Meetings and participated on many national committees over the years.  Marianne joined Softball Ontario’s Board in 2013 as one of the PWSA delegates.

In 1981 Marianne was named the St. Catharine's sports Person of the Year, in 1992 she received the Queen's Medal for her significant contribution to her community andwas inducted into the St. Catharine's Sports Hall of Fame as a Builder.  Marianne has been recognized with numerous awards for her dedication and contribution to the sport at the Provincial and National level over the years, including the Rose Hodgson award for service to Softball - above and Beyond.

Marianne has been Softball’s Female Games Chairman for the Female Ontario Summer Games Program.  This position involved co-ordinating all registration, communications, scheduling, organizing the qualifying tournament and acting as Tournament Co-ordinator for the Ontario Summer Games event.

Sport Builder

Gordon PetersonGordon Peterson — Dive Ontario — London

Gordon Peterson has contributed not only to the sport of diving for over 40 years, but he has also contributed to all sports in numerous ways. Gordon has been a COC board member for over 15 years, having sat on the Executive Committee from 2005 - 2009 as well as on various committees and task forces. He was a member of the COC mission staff for both the 2004 and 2008 Olympic Games and was elected as one of the two COC Vice-Presidents in 2009 He was a national team diver and following his retirement as an athlete, he has assumed a variety of leadership roles including: President of Diving Plongeon Canada (1994-1996) and President of the Aquatic Federation of Canada (1997-2001).  Gordon continues his involvement in diving as a top-level international official. Gordon has actively promoted fairness in sport and contributed to the creation of an alternative dispute resolution program for the sport community.  He has been director of the Sport Dispute Resolution Center of Canada since its inception since 2004. Gordon was also a board member of the Toronto 2015 Board of Directors, helping in its successful bid for the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games.

Shirley ShelbyShirley Shelby — Ontario Blind Sports Association

A passionate inspirational leader and pioneer in sports for the physically disabled, Shirley Shelby has left her mark on the sporting landscape of Ontario. Shirley impacted sports in two different capacities, in the travel industry and in sports administration. She started her own travel agency which specialized in special needs travel, at a time when there was no template for success for such a venture.  She managed the travel and accommodation needs for several organizations including Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association and Canadian Blind Sports Association. Shirley was also a leader in changing policies and procedures of airlines to create better ease of travel for persons with a disability. Shirley was also a founding member of Sport for Disabled Ontario and also joined the Ontario Blind Sports Association as President, relationships she continues to this day. She has been steering the ship through program and athlete development all while balancing books. Shirley has had a positive impact on hundreds of persons living with a disability as an achiever and builder.

Syl Apps Volunteer Achievement Award

Recipient

Stephanie Beauregard

William Boland

Louise Bull-Barton

Gary Burkholder

Dr.  John Byl

Grover Claire

Kathy Dyer

Jeff Francom

Betty Mochizuki

Stan Hannaford

Frank Hignell

Elizabeth Hoffman

Lynn Kelman

Gordon Ley

Jennifer Meron

Don Moxley

Henry Nelson

Arja Nesbitt

Patrick Richardson

Steven Sheffield

Brian Skinner

Bill Stephens

Ken Urbach

Gary Wren

Nominated by

Special Olympics Ontario

Skate Ontario

Swim Ontario

Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association

CIRA

Ontario Curling Council

Sailing Ontario

Ontario Ringette

Karate Ontario

Tennis Ontario

Gymnastics Ontario

Golf Association of Ontario

OFSSA

Ontario Volleyball Association

Ontario Baton Twirling Association

Ontario Cycling Association

Ontario Soccer Association

Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Squash Ontario

Judo Ontario

ParaSport Ontario

Athletics Ontario

Ontario Basketball

Softball Ontario

Corporate Sport Citation Awards

Recipient

Bowling Sales of Canada

City of Waterloo

Emilio Franch

Hamilton Sheraton Hotel

Harrow Sports

Home Run Sports

Investors Group

JB Video Productions

John Shea Insurance Brokers Ltd.

SSG Gloves 

The MLSE Foundation

VIA Rail Canada

Wind Athletes

Nominated by

Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Ontario Volleyball Association

Karate Ontario

Ontario 5 Pin Bowling Association

Squash Ontario

Softball Ontario

Golf Association of Ontario

Skate Canada

Ontario Curling Council

Ontario Equestrian Association 

KidSport Ontario

Special Olympics Ontario

Ontario Sailing

Ontario Games Award

Recipient

2013 Ontario ParaSport Games

2014 Ontario Winter Games

Nominated by

City of Kingston

 Muskoka Region

Lauréats des Récompenses sportives de l'Ontario 2013

Athlète masculin de l’année

Patrick ChanPatrick Chan — patinage artistique — Toronto

En 2013, Patrick a remporté les Championnats canadiens de patinage artistique pour la sixième fois. Il a également décroché la première place dans deux compétitions du Grand Prix, à savoir les Internationaux Patinage Canada et le Trophée Éric Bompard, et a terminé second à la Finale du Grand Prix International Skating Union (ISU). Patrick a en outre permis à l'équipe du Canada de remporter la médaille d'argent au Trophée ISU par équipe, au Japon. Enfin, il a remporté un troisième titre consécutif aux Championnats du monde de patinage artistique.

Athlète féminine de l’année

Jessica Klimkait — judo — Whitby

Lors des Championnats du monde cadets de judo 2013, Jessica a décroché la médaille d'or, devenant ainsi la toute première canadienne à remporter le titre de championne du monde de judo, toutes catégories d'âge confondues. Ses excellents résultats se sont poursuivis en 2013 : elle a occupé la troisième marche du podium lors de la Coupe d'Europe, dans la catégorie moins de 21 ans, et de la Coupe de Thuringe, en Allemagne, et s'est classée parmi les cinq premiers des Championnats panaméricains de judo au Costa Rica. Jessica a remporté les Championnats canadiens, dans la catégorie moins de 21 ans, l'Ontario Open et les compétitions Pacific International, dans la catégorie senior. Elle s'est en outre classée à la seconde place du championat Pacific International dans la catégorie senior.

Athlète handicapé masculin de l’année

Mac Marcoux — ski alpin— Sault Ste. Marie

Mac et son guide, BJ Marcoux, ont gagné la médaille d'argent au slalom géant et la médaille de bronze au super-combiné lors des Championnats du monde du Comité international paralympique (IPC), tout en participant à deux autres compétitions. Mac a fini sur le podium de la Coupe du monde dans trois courses et a remporté la compétition de slalom géant aux Championnats canadiens.

Athlète handicapée féminine de l’année

Virginia McLachlan Virginia McLachlan — athlétisme — Windsor

Virginia a remporté le 100 mètres et le 200 mètres sprint à l'occasion des Championnats canadiens et du Boiling Point Track Classic, à Ottawa. Sur la scène internationale, elle a fini deuxième au 100 mètres aux Jeux internationaux de Sainsbury. Elle a ensuite obtenu deux médailles d'argent aux Championnats du monde de l'IPC au 100 mètres et au 200 mètres sprint.

Entraîneur de l’année

Volker Nolte — Ontario University Athletics — London

En 2013, Volker a obtenu d'excellents résultats en sa qualité d'entraîneur en chef des équipes masculine et féminine d'aviron de l'Université Western Ontario. Les hommes ont décroché la médaille d'or dans sept courses et la médaille d'argent dans quatre courses. Les femmes, quant à elles, ont terminé premières dans huit courses et deuxièmes dans deux courses. En tant qu'entraîneur de l'équipe nationale lors des Championnats du monde de 2013, il a permis à Carling Zeeman d'accéder à la deuxième place dans l'épreuve individuelle des femmes. 

Entraîneuse de l’année

Vickie CroleyVickie Croley — athlétisme — London

Vickie a entraîné Damian Warner pour l'épreuve de décathlon qui lui a permis de décrocher pour la troisième année consécutive le titre national. Il a également décroché une médaille de bronze aux championnats du monde. Taylor Stewart a remporté sa médaille d'or au championnat national et a terminé parmi les dix premiers lors de la compétition de saut en longueur des jeux organisés par la Fédération internationale du sport universitaire (FISU).

Équipe de l’année

essa Virtue and Scott MoirTessa Virtue et Scott Moir — patinage artistique — Ilderton

Tessa et Scott ont commencé fort en 2013 puisqu'ils ont remporté le titre de champions du Canada en danse sur glace. Le couple a ensuite terminé deuxième aux Championnats de patinage artistique Four Continents de l'ISU et aux Championnats du monde de patinage artistique de l’ISU. Plus tard en 2013, Tessa et Scott ont fini premiers ou seconds à chacune des compétitions internationales auxquelles ils ont participé. 

Prix Rolf Lund Jule Nisse

Marianne Allen
Nominée par : Softball Ontario

Joueuse et arbitre de softball, Marianne Allen a non seulement participé activement à son association de softball locale, mais s'est également investie aux niveaux provincial et fédéral. Sa carrière dans le softball a débuté en 1954, lorsqu'elle a intégré l'équipe de St. Catharine's en tant que joueuse en plus de devenir membre du comité exécutif de la ligue féminine de la ville. Pendant de nombreuses années, elle a occupé le poste de secrétaire de l'association locale et a arbitré pendant plus de 25 ans les matchs hebdomadaires de la ligue locale. Au-delà sa présence sur le terrain, Marianne Allen a également organisé des championnats informels mais aussi les championnats régionaux, provinciaux et nationaux pour le compte de la Ligue féminine de softball de St. Catharine's.

Membre active du conseil d'administration de l'association de softball féminin de la province depuis 55 ans, Marianne Allen a commencé en tant que simple membre exécutive, participant à de nombreux comités et agissant à titre de co-coordonnatrice de tournois à divers championnats régionaux et provinciaux. Elle a également représenté Softball Ontario au niveau national, lors des assemblées générales annuelles de Softball Canada et a participé à de nombreux comités nationaux au fil des ans. Elle a intégré le conseil d'administration de Softball Ontario en 2013 en qualité de déléguée de l'association provinciale de softball féminin (PWSA).

En 1981, elle a été élue personnalité sportive de l'année de St. Catharine's. En 1992, elle a reçu la Médaille de la Reine en reconnaissance de son importante contribution à sa communauté. Elle a également été intronisée au Temple de la renommée sportive de St. Catharine's en tant que Fondatrice. Marianne Allen s'est vue décerner de nombreux prix pour son engagement et sa contribution au softball aux niveaux provincial et national au fil des ans. Elle a notamment reçu le prix Rose Hodgson, catégorie « Above and Beyond », en reconnaissance des services qu'elle a rendus au softball.

Elle occupe le poste de présidente des jeux féminins de Softball dans le cadre du programme des Jeux d’été de l’Ontario (équipes féminines). À ce titre, elle est responsable de la coordination de toutes les inscriptions mais aussi des communications, de la planification du calendrier, de l'organisation des tournois de qualification, et de la coordination des tournois des événements de softball organisés dans le cadre des Jeux d'été de l'Ontario.

Prix du bâtisseur sportif

Gordon Peterson — Dive Ontario — London

Pendant 40 ans, Gordon Peterson a été très engagé dans le sport du plongeon, ainsi que dans l'ensemble du secteur sportif canadien. Membre du conseil d'administration du Comité olympique canadien (COC) pendant plus de 15 ans, Gordon Peterson a siégé à de nombreux comités exécutifs entre 2005 et 2009, ainsi qu'à divers comités et groupes de travail. Il fut membre du personnel de mission du COC pour les Jeux olympiques de 2004 et de 2008 et fut élu à l'un des deux postes de vice-président du COC en 2009. Il a fait partie de l’équipe nationale de plongeon et a rempli plusieurs fonctions de dirigeant après sa retraite comme athlète : président de Diving Plongeon Canada, l'association canadienne de plongeon amateur, de 1994 à 1996 et président de la Fédération aquatique du Canada de 1997 à 2001. Aujourd’hui encore, il continue de s’impliquer dans le plongeon comme officiel international. Gordon Peterson a fait activement la promotion de l’équité dans le sport et a contribué à la création d’un programme extrajudiciaire des différends sportifs. Il est le directeur du Centre de règlement des différends sportifs au Canada depuis sa création, en 2004. Il était également membre du Conseil d’administration de Toronto 2015, contribuant à la sélection de la ville pour les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de 2015.

Shirley Shelby — Ontario Blind Sports Association

Chef de file passionnée et inspirante, pionnière dans le secteur du handisport, Shirley Shelby a laissé son empreinte dans le paysage sportif ontarien. Elle a influencé le monde du sport tant en qualité d'actrice de l'industrie du voyage qu'en tant qu'administrative sportive. Elle a lancé sa propre agence de voyages, se spécialisant dans les voyages destinés aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux à une époque où personne n'avait encore emprunté cette voie. Elle s'est occupée de la gestion des voyages et de l'hébergement de plusieurs organismes tels que l'Association canadienne des sports en fauteuil roulant et l'Association canadienne des sports pour aveugles. C'est également elle qui a été à l'origine des modifications apportées aux politiques et procédures des compagnies aériennes afin de rendre les voyages des personnes atteintes d'un handicap plus faciles. Shirley Shelby a également été l'un des membres fondateurs de Sport for Disabled - Ontario (l'association ontarienne des sports pour personnes handicapées), et a intégré l'Ontario Blind Sports Association (l'association ontarienne des sports pour aveugles) en qualité de présidente, deux postes qu'elle occupe encore aujourd'hui. Elle jongle depuis lors entre l'élaboration des programmes, le perfectionnement des athlètes et la gestion du budget. Shirley Shelby a eu une influence positive sur des centaines de personnes vivant avec un handicap, en tant que créatrice et en tant que fondatrice.

Prix d'excellence Syl Apps pour contribution bénévole exceptionnelle

Récipiendaires

Stephanie Beauregard

William Boland

Louise Bull-Barton

Gary Burkholder

Dr.  John Byl

Grover Claire

Kathy Dyer

Jeff Francom

Betty Mochizuki

Stan Hannaford

Frank Hignell

Elizabeth Hoffman

Lynn Kelman

Gordon Ley

Jennifer Meron

Don Moxley

Henry Nelson

Arja Nesbitt

Patrick Richardson

Steven Sheffield

Brian Skinner

Bill Stephens

Ken Urbach

Gary Wren

Nominée par :

Special Olympics Ontario

Skate Ontario

Swim Ontario

Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association

CIRA

Ontario Curling Council

Sailing Ontario

Ontario Ringette

Karate Ontario

Tennis Ontario

Gymnastics Ontario

Golf Association of Ontario

OFSSA

Ontario Volleyball Association

Ontario Baton Twirling Association

Ontario Cycling Association

Ontario Soccer Association

Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Squash Ontario

Judo Ontario

ParaSport Ontario

Athletics Ontario

Ontario Basketball

Softball Ontario

Mentions à titre d'entreprises commanditaires

Récipiendaires

Bowling Sales of Canada

City of Waterloo

Emilio Franch

Hamilton Sheraton Hotel

Harrow Sports

Home Run Sports

Investors Group

JB Video Productions

John Shea Insurance Brokers Ltd.

SSG Gloves 

The MLSE Foundation

VIA Rail Canada

Wind Athletes

Nominée par :

Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Ontario Volleyball Association

Karate Ontario

Ontario 5 Pin Bowling Association

Squash Ontario

Softball Ontario

Golf Association of Ontario

Skate Canada

Ontario Curling Council

Ontario Equestrian Association 

KidSport Ontario

Special Olympics Ontario

Ontario Sailing

Prix des Jeux Ontario

Récipiendaires

2013 Ontario ParaSport Games

2014 Ontario Winter Games

Nominée par :

City of Kingston

 Muskoka Region