2012 Ontario Sport Awards Winners

Male Athlete of the Year

Patrick Chan
Patrick Chan — Figure Skating — Toronto

Patrick started 2012 by winning the Canadian Figure Skating Championships for the fifth time. On the international scene, Patrick placed first in the International Skating Union (ISU) Four Continents Figure Skating Championships and the ISU Rostelecom Cup. Patrick’s greatest accomplishment in 2012 came at the World Figure Skating Championships, where he took home gold for the second consecutive year. 

Female Athlete of the Year

Mary Spencer
Rosannagh (Rosie) MacLennan — Gymnastics — Richmond Hill (training site) — King City (hometown)

Rosannagh began the year by claiming gold at the Pacific Rim Gymnastics Championship and followed that up with silver at the Elite Canada gymnastics event and gold in the National Olympic trials. From there she competed at two World Cup events, finishing first and 11th respectively. Rosannagh went on to win at the London 2012 Summer Olympics, bringing home the only gold medal for Canada.

Male Athlete with a Disability of the Year

Patrick Anderson
Patrick Anderson — Wheelchair Basketball — Fergus

Patrick led the Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball team to gold at the 2012 Summer Paralympics. In addition to his team’s success, Patrick received numerous awards and achievements, including being named a finalist for the prestigious Laureus Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award, the 2012 National Championships tournament MVP and the Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association Male Athlete of the Year. Patrick was a top scorer at 2012 Summer Paralympics.

Female Athlete with a Disability of the Year

Summer Mortimer Summer Mortimer — Para-Swimming — Ancaster
Breaking world records was a consistent theme for Summer’s 2012 season. After winning gold in the 100 metre backstroke and 100 metre Freestyle at the Paralympic Trials, she added another gold medal in the 50 metre freestyle and set a new World Record. From there she went to win gold at the CanAm Para Swimming Championship in the 100 metre backstroke, setting another World Record in the process. She went on to break her own record at the 2012 Summer Paralympics, capturing gold in the 100 metre backstroke.

Team of the Year

essa Virtue and Scott MoirTessa Virtue and Scott Moir — Figure Skating — Ilderton
Tessa and Scott dominated competition at all levels in 2012. They won gold at the Canadian Championships, ISU Four Continents Championship, Skate Canada International and the Cup of Russia. They consistently finished first place and went on to take the gold at the ISU World Figure Skating Championships.

Male Coach of the Year

Reg ChappellReg Chappell — Swimming — Newmarket
Reg began the year at the Ontario Provincial Championships, coaching numerous athletes who achieved medals and top 10 finishes.  Reg continued to see success on the international level, as he coached World Record holder and World Champion Summer Mortimer to a place on the Canadian Paralympic team to compete in London 2012 Summer Olympics. Subsequently, Reg was appointed the 2012 Canadian Paralympic Coach for the Canadian Paralympic swimmers. The Canadian Paralympic swim team was very successful at London 2012 Summer Olympics.

Female Coach of the Year

Jennifer LeeJennifer Lee — Badminton — Markham
Jennifer  coached five athletes who won medals at the Senior National Championships. In international competition, she coached Michelle Li to two championship titles while also adding two doubles Championship titles with Michelle and Alex Bruce. Jennifer coached Michelle and Alex to a fourth  place finish at the  London 2012 Summer Olympics. 

Rolf Lund Jule Nisse

Robert Brooks — Nominated by Squash Ontario

From “playground to podium” surely defines this man, both personally and through his long career in squash.  He has done it all in his 50 years in squash – as a squash professional, a coach, a board member, a committee member, an administrator, a squash club owner and as a volunteer. Rob Brooks’ passion for sport began over 60 years ago when he attended his first major league baseball game in Philadelphia. 

Rob has trained and coached many Ontario, Canadian and U.S. squash champions over the years, some of whom have gone on to represent Canada at international and world championships. Rob serves where he is needed. He has acted as manager/coach to Team Ontario many times over the past 20 years, for teams selected by Squash Ontario to represent this province in National Championships, U.S. Junior Opens, and Battle of the Borders. Rob has served on Squash Ontario’s Competitions Committee and its Junior Advisory Committee.  He came onto the Squash Ontario Board of Directors as Vice President Finance and then served 3 years as one of the association’s most successful and respected presidents. He led Squash Ontario through arguably its most successful years. 

Rob Brooks has changed squash in Ontario and he has built squash in Ontario – one soul at a time.

Sport Builder Award

Helen Gurney

Helen Gurney is a true builder of women’s sport in Ontario. After graduating from the University of Toronto in 1940, Gurney began a teaching career in physical education which helped launch her into several leadership roles with a variety of provincial and national organizations. She quickly became known as a respected educator, coach, official, and sport leader at a time when few women took on such roles. She inspired many young women to participate in sports and worked tirelessly to provide them with fair and equitable athletic opportunities.

Barry Nye

For more than 40 years Barry Nye has been an outstanding builder of amateur sport in Ontario and across Canada. His professional and volunteer contributions have touched on numerous Provincial and National Sport Organizations and he has had extensive involvement with multi-sport games including, Olympic, Commonwealth, Canada Games and Pan Am Games. 

Barry has served on various boards including the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Amateur Wrestling Association and Gymnastics Canada. He has been recognized both nationally and internationally for his outstanding contributions to the sport community and was presented with the Queen’s Silver Jubilee medal for his contribution to sport from the Government of Canada.

Corporate Sport Citation Awards

Investors Group

Investors Group

Nominated by:
Golf Association of Ontario

EC Gold Incorporated

Nominated by: Gymnastics Ontario

Budo World Martial Arts supply

Nominated by: Karate Association of Ontario

Investors GroupHyundai Auto Canada Corp.

Nominated by: KidSport Ontario

NEBs Funworld

Nominated by: Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association

TV Cogeco

Nominated by: Ontario Curling Council

Bucas Ltd.

Nominated by: Ontario Equestrian Federation

Kukri Sports Canada Inc.

Nominated by: Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Piper's Heath Golf Club

Nominated by: Ontario Sailing

RBC Greater Toronto

Nominated by: Ontario Volleyball Association

Accessibility Directorate of Ontario

Nominated by: ParaSport Ontario

Figure Skating Boutique

Nominated by: Skate Ontario

Residence and Conference Centres

Nominated by: Softball Ontario

HD Brown Enterprises Ltd.

Nominated by: Squash Ontario

Yonex Canada

Nominated by: Ontario Federation for School Athletics Association

Margarine Gold Gate Micha Inc.

Nominated by: Special Olympics Ontario

 

Syl Apps Volunteer Achievement Awards

Ian Anderson   

Nominated by: Athletics Ontario

Muriel Anderson

Nominated by: Ontario Curling Council

Sharon Arnold  

Nominated by: Ontario Tennis Association

Brian Clarke

Nominated by: Squash Ontario

Iain Craig

Nominated by: Canoe Kayak Ontario

Roy Dahl  

Nominated by: Ontario Basketball

Clifford Dell   

Nominated by: The Ontario Soccer Association

Malcolm Eade 

Nominated by: Ontario Cycling Association

Rose Margaret Engemann     

Nominated by: Ontario Lacrosse Association

Kim Genton    

Nominated by: Ontario Baton Twirling Association

Jeff Goldsworthy  

Nominated by: Badminton Ontario

Tom Hennessey         

Nominated by: Boxing Ontario

Tony Kelly    

Nominated by: Judo Ontario

Tom Laporte

Nominated by: Baseball Ontario

Bob Mannen

Nominated by: Ontario Blind Sports Association

Joanne Mauthe

Nominated by: Softball Ontario

Janice Moore  

Nominated by: Dive Ontario

John Nelson 

Nominated by: Ontario Volleyball Association

Bob North

Nominated by: Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Suzanne Paulins  

Nominated by: Swim Ontario

Dave Post

Nominated by: Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association

Anna Poste

Nominated by: Golf Association of Ontario

Joe Putos

Nominated by: Triathlon Ontario

Martin Ritsma

Nominated by: Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA)

Donna Scott

Nominated by: Ontario Sailing

Norm Steeper

Nominated by: OSGA

Louis Stong    

Nominated by: Skate Ontario

Peter Stratford     

Nominated by: CIRA Ontario

Suenori Tominaga    

Nominated by: Karate Association of Ontario

Rick Walker       

Nominated by: Special Olympics Ontario

Lauréats des Récompenses sportives de l'Ontario 2012

Athlète masculin de l’année

Patrick Chan
Patrick Chan — patinage artistique — Toronto

2012 a été une autre année exceptionnelle pour Patrick. Il a commencé l'année en remportant le Championnat canadien de patinage artistique pour la cinquième fois. Sur la scène internationale, Patrick a décroché la première place au Championnat de patinage artistique Four Continents de l'UIP et à la Coupe Rostelecom. Le plus grand accomplissement de Patrick en 2012 a culminé aux Championnats internationaux de patinage artistique où il a remporté la médaille d'or pour la deuxième année consécutive. 

Athlète féminine de l’année

Mary Spencer
Rosannagh (Rosie) MacLennan — gymnastique —
King City
Rosannagh a commencé l'année en remportant la médaille d'or aux Pacific Rim Gymnastics Championship. Ensuite, elle a obtenu une médaille d'argent à l'épreuve Elite Canada de gymnastique et l'or aux Essais olympiques nationaux. Elle a par la suite participé à deux événements de coupe du monde, finissant première et 11e respectivement. Rosannagh s'est retrouvée sur le podium aux Jeux olympiques d'été de Londres de 2012, ramenant la seule médaille d'or pour le Canada.

Athlète handicapé masculin de l’année

Patrick Anderson
Patrick Anderson — basketball en fauteuil roulant — Fergus
Patrick a conduit l'équipe masculine nationale en basketball en fauteuil roulant vers la médaille d'or aux Jeux paralympiques d'été de 2012. Outre la réussite de son équipe, Patrick a remporté de nombreux prix et récompenses. Il a notamment été finaliste pour le prestigieux prix sportif international Laureus remis au meilleur athlète handicapé, le titre de joueur le plus utile du tournoi des Championnats nationaux de 2012 et l'athlète masculin de l'année pour l'Association canadienne des sports en fauteuil roulant. Patrick a marqué un grand nombre de points aux Jeux paralympiques d'été de 2012.

Athlète handicapée féminine de l’année

Summer Mortimer Summer Mortimer — paranatation — Ancaster
Battre des records du monde a été le motto de la saison d'été de 2012 . Après avoir remporté l'or à l'épreuve 100 mètres nage sur le dos et à l'épreuve 100 mètres nage libre aux essais paralympiques, Summer a ajouté une autre médaille d'or dans la catégorie 50 mètres nage libre et a marqué un nouveau record du monde. Ensuite, elle a décroché une médaille d'or au championnat Can Am Para Swimming Championship dans la catégorie 100 mètres nage sur le dos, battant un autre record du monde. Elle a même battu son propre record aux Jeux paralympiques d'été de 2012, avec la médaille d'or dans la catégorie 100 mètres nage sur le dos.

Équipe de l’année

essa Virtue and Scott MoirTessa Virtue et Scott Moir — patinage artistique — Ilderton
Tessa et Scott ont dominé les compétitions à tous les niveaux en 2012. Ils ont remporté la médaille d'or aux Championnats canadiens, à la compétition Four Continents Championships de l'UIP, au championnat Skate Canada International et à la coupe de Russie. Ils ont régulièrement fini en première position et ont remporté l'or aux Championnats du monde de patinage artistique de l'UIP.

Entraîneur de l’année

Reg ChappellReg Chappell — natation — Newmarket
Reg a commencé l'année aux Championnats provinciaux de l'Ontario, entraînant de nombreux athlètes qui ont obtenu des médailles et se sont placés parmi les dix premiers. Reg a obtenu d'autres succès au niveau international, entraînant la titulaire du record du monde et championne internationale Summer Mortimer qui a décroché une place dans l'équipe paralympique du Canada pour participer aux Jeux olympiques d'été de 2012. Ensuite, Reg a été nommé entraîneur paralympique canadien de l'année 2012 pour l'équipe paralympique canadienne de natation. Cette équipe de natation a remporté plusieurs médailles aux Jeux olympiques d'été de 2012.

Entraîneuse de l’année

Jennifer LeeJennifer Lee — badminton — Markham
Jennifer a entraîné cinq athlètes qui ont remporté des médailles au Championnat canadien senior. Sur la scène internationale, elle a entraîné Michelle Li qui a décroché deux titres tout en ajoutant deux titres doubles avec Michelle et Alex Bruce. Jennifer a entraîné Michelle et Alex qui se sont placés en quatrième position aux Jeux olympiques d'été de 2012. 

Prix Rolf Lund Jule Nisse

Robert Brooks — mis en nomination par Squash Ontario

La mention du terrain de jeu jusqu’au podium définit très bien cet homme, tant en ce quiconcerne sa vie personnelle que sa longue carrière en squash. Robert Brooks a tout accompli au cours des 50 années qu’il a consacrées au squash, que ce soit à titre de professionnel, d’entraîneur, de membre du conseil d’administration, de membre de comités, d’administrateur, de propriétaire d’un club de squash ou de bénévole. La passion que M. Brooks éprouve à l’égard du sport date de plus de 60 ans, depuis qu’il a assisté à sa première partie de baseball des ligues majeures à Philadelphie.

Au fil des ans, M. Brooks a formé et entraîné de nombreux champions de squash en Ontario, au Canada et aux États-Unis, dont certains ont représenté le Canada à l’occasion de championnats internationaux et mondiaux. M. Brooks rend service là où on a besoin de lui; à maintes reprises au cours des 20 dernières années, il a fait fonction de gérant et d’entraîneur d’Équipe Ontario, afin d’aider les équipes choisies par Squash Ontario pour représenter la province dans le cadre des championnats régionaux ainsi que des tournois Junior Open aux États-Unis et Battle of the Borders. M. Brooks a siégé au comité des compétitions de Squash Ontario de même qu’au comité consultatif junior s’y rapportant. Il est entré au sein du conseil d’administration de Squash Ontario à titre de vice-président, Finances pour siéger pendant 3 ans comme l’un des présidents les plus performants et respectés de l’association. Il a assurément dirigé Squash Ontario durant sa période la plus faste.

Somme toute, M. Brooks a influé sur l’évolution et la consolidation du squash en Ontario... une personne à la fois.

Prix du bâtisseur sportif

Helen Gurney

Helen Gurney est véritablement une bâtisseure du sport pour femmes en Ontario. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l’Université de Toronto en 1940, Mme Gurney a amorcé sa carrière en éducation physique, de sorte qu’elle a pu assumer plusieurs rôles de chef de file au sein de diverses organisations provinciales et nationales. Elle a acquis rapidement une réputation de formatrice, d’entraîneuse, d’arbitre et de chef de file respectée dans le monde du sport, à une époque où peu de femmes assumaient de tels rôles. Pour de nombreuses jeunes femmes qui se sont lancées dans le sport, Mme Gurney a été une source d’inspiration; elle n’a jamais ménagé les efforts pour donner à ses jeunes femmes des possibilités justes et équitables en athlétisme.

Barry Nye

Pendant plus de 40 ans, Barry Nye fut un bâtisseur exceptionnel du sport amateur en Ontario et partout au Canada. Son apport professionnel et bénévole a influé sur de nombreux organismes provinciaux et national de sport, et il s’est beaucoup investi dans les jeux multidisciplinaires, dont les Jeux olympiques, les Jeux du Commonwealth, les Jeux du Canada et les Jeux panaméricains.

M. Nye a siégé à de nombreux conseils, dont le Comité olympique canadien, l’Association canadienne de lutte amateur et Gymnastique Canada. Tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale, on a souligné son apport exceptionnel au monde du sport; de fait, le gouvernement du Canada lui a décerné la Médaille du jubilé de la reine Élizabeth II pour souligner sa contribution au sport.

Mentions à titre d'entreprises commanditaires :

Organismes récipiendaires :

Investors Group

Investors Group

Nominé par :
Golf Association of Ontario

EC Gold Incorporated

Nominé par : Gymnastics Ontario

Budo World Martial Arts supply

Nominé par : Karate Association of Ontario

Investors GroupHyundai Auto Canada Corp.

Nominé par : KidSport Ontario

NEBs Funworld

Nominé par : Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association

TV Cogeco

Nominé par : Ontario Curling Council

Bucas Ltd.

Nominé par : Ontario Equestrian Federation

Kukri Sports Canada Inc.

Nominé par : Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Piper's Heath Golf Club

Nominé par : Ontario Sailing

RBC Greater Toronto

Nominé par : Ontario Volleyball Association

Accessibility Directorate of Ontario

Nominé par : ParaSport Ontario

Figure Skating Boutique

Nominé par : Skate Ontario

Residence and Conference Centres

Nominé par : Softball Ontario

HD Brown Enterprises Ltd.

Nominé par : Squash Ontario

Yonex Canada

Nominé par : Ontario Federation for School Athletics Association

Margarine Gold Gate Micha Inc.

Nominé par : Special Olympics Ontario

 

Prix d'excellence Syl Apps pour contribution bénévole exceptionnelle

Ian Anderson   

Nominé par : Athletics Ontario

Muriel Anderson

Nominé par : Ontario Curling Council

Sharon Arnold  

Nominé par : Ontario Tennis Association

Brian Clarke

Nominé par : Squash Ontario

Iain Craig

Nominé par : Canoe Kayak Ontario

Roy Dahl  

Nominé par : Ontario Basketball

Clifford Dell   

Nominé par : The Ontario Soccer Association

Malcolm Eade 

Nominé par : Ontario Cycling Association

Rose Margaret Engemann     

Nominé par : Ontario Lacrosse Association

Kim Genton    

Nominé par : Ontario Baton Twirling Association

Jeff Goldsworthy  

Nominé par : Badminton Ontario

Tom Hennessey         

Nominé par : Boxing Ontario

Tony Kelly    

Nominé par : Judo Ontario

Tom Laporte

Nominé par : Baseball Ontario

Bob Mannen

Nominé par : Ontario Blind Sports Association

Joanne Mauthe

Nominé par : Softball Ontario

Janice Moore  

Nominé par : Dive Ontario

John Nelson 

Nominé par : Ontario Volleyball Association

Bob North

Nominé par : Ontario Lawn Bowls Association

Suzanne Paulins  

Nominé par : Swim Ontario

Dave Post

Nominé par : Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association

Anna Poste

Nominé par : Golf Association of Ontario

Joe Putos

Nominé par : Triathlon Ontario

Martin Ritsma

Nominé par : Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA)

Donna Scott

Nominé par : Ontario Sailing

Norm Steeper

Nominé par : OSGA

Louis Stong    

Nominé par : Skate Ontario

Peter Stratford     

Nominé par : CIRA Ontario

Suenori Tominaga    

Nominé par : Karate Association of Ontario

Rick Walker       

Nominé par : Special Olympics Ontario