TRAILS OF
Distinction


This year, the first Trails of Distinction were announced as part of the launch of the Ontario Trails of Distinction (OTD) Program.

The OTD Program is designed to showcase and celebrate the most distinctive trails in Ontario and is considered a legacy initiative of the 150th anniversary of Ontario.

The purpose of the program is to identify and promote trails of the highest degree of distinction that:

  • Raise awareness of Ontario trails
  • Encourage today’s generation and future generations to use trails
  • Further the development and promotion of trails in Ontario
Ontario Trail of Distinction Logo

Resources


2017 Trails of Distinction

Five inaugural trails have been selected as trails of distinction.

The Great Lakes Waterfront Trail

A cyclist on the waterfront trail near Lake OntarioRunning through a tree-covered trail

The Great Lakes are the largest group of freshwater lakes on earth, containing 21% of the world’s surface freshwater. In Canada, they are unique to Ontario and one of our most precious resources. The Great Lakes Waterfront Trail is more than 1,900 kilometres long, connecting more than 116 communities and First Nations from the eastern border of Ontario to Lake Huron. The fully signed Great Lakes Waterfront Trail is a combination of pathways, neighbourhood streets, and rural roads. It is largely paved and welcomes all types of non-motorized recreational use. The Great Lakes Waterfront Trail is an innovative way to protect, connect and celebrate our Great Lakes.

Ontario Federation of Snowmobile Clubs (OFSC) Trans Ontario Provincial (TOP) Trails

Each winter, the OFSC provides a world-class snowmobile trail network that spans more than 30,000 kilometres. The TOP trails comprise approximately 23% of the total Ontario Snowmobile Trail network throughout the province. TOP trails provide access across the province on main touring route and links to services, amenities and local club trails. Through well mapped, signed and maintained TOP trails, snowmobilers experience diverse landscapes, beautiful scenery, varied terrain and wildlife while connecting with numerous communities.

The Greenbelt Route

More than 475 kilometres of cycling adventures await you in the beautiful, protected countryside of Ontario’s Greenbelt. This route has lush forests, winding rivers, welcoming communities, and family farms, as riders ride across the stunning landscape.

The one-of-a-kind Greenbelt Route was developed by the Waterfront Regeneration Trust, building on their leadership creating the Waterfront Trail, and adding to a growing network of long distance cycling routes across Ontario. With several connecting routes mapped and signed to and from the Waterfront Trail, riders can now make use of existing non-motorized trails and ravine pathways to create their own custom Greenbelt cycling holiday.

Trans Canada Trail Ontario

The Trans Canada Trail (TCT) in Ontario connects the entire province on a designated “spine” and links to similar trails in Manitoba and Quebec. Three major transportation routes are used to make this connection – land, water and roadway. The variety of recreational experience varies from canoeing- horseback riding- cycling to snowmobiling traveling through a variety of landscapes- urban, rural and wilderness. The water routes in northern Ontario are part of the Indigenous travel routes, while abandoned rail lines in southern Ontario have been converted to rail trails and still celebrate the train heritage of the area. Greenway trails in particular travel through terrain that has had trail constructed to protect the environment and educate the trail users of the sensitive sites.

Bruce Trail

The Bruce Trail is Canada's oldest and longest marked footpath. The Bruce Trail provides the only continuous public access to the magnificent Niagara Escarpment, a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve. Running along the Escarpment from Niagara to Tobermory, it spans more than 890 kilometres of main Trail and over 400 kilometres of associated side trails. From waterfalls to centuries-old coniferous trees, there is something for everyone. The Bruce Trail Conservancy (BTC) has protected more than 11,000 acres of land. The goal of the BTC is to establish and preserve a conservation corridor for the Bruce Trail along the Escarpment, in order to protect its natural ecosystems and promote environmentally responsible public access.

Sentiers
d'exception

Cette année, les premiers sentiers d’exception seront annoncés dans le cadre du lancement du Programme des sentiers d’exception de l’Ontario (SEO).

Le Programme des SEO, une initiative liée au 150e anniversaire de l’Ontario, est conçu pour mettre en valeur et célébrer les plus exceptionnels des pistes et des sentiers de la province.

L’objet du programme est d’identifier et de promouvoir les pistes et sentiers dont le caractère d’exception peut :

  • accroître la sensibilisation à l’égard des pistes et sentiers de l’Ontario
  • encourager les générations actuelles et futures à utiliser les pistes et sentiers
  • améliorer l’aménagement et la promotion des pistes et sentiers de l’Ontario
Sentier d'exception de l'Ontario

Ressources


Sentiers d'exception - 2017

Les premiers sentiers d’exception 2017 comprennent :

Le sentier riverain des Grands Lacs

Les Grands Lacs sont le plus grand groupe de lacs d’eau douce sur Terre, contenant 21 p. cent de toute l’eau douce de surface dans le monde. Au Canada, ils sont uniques à l’Ontario et sont l’une de nos ressources les plus précieuses. Le sentier riverain des Grands Lacs s’étend sur plus de 1900 kilomètres, reliant plus de 116 communautés et Premières nations, de la frontière orientale de l’Ontario jusqu’au lac Huron. Le parcours entièrement balisé du sentier riverain des Grands Lacs est une combinaison de sentiers, de rues de quartier et de routes rurales. Il est en grande partie asphalté et accueille tous les types d’utilisation récréative non motorisée. Le sentier riverain des Grands Lacs est un moyen novateur de protéger, de relier et de célébrer nos Grands Lacs.

Les sentiers Trans Ontario Provincial (TOP) de l’Ontario Federation of Snowmobile Clubs (OFSC)

Chaque hiver, l’OFSC fournit un réseau de sentiers de motoneige de classe mondiale qui s’étend sur plus de 30 000 kilomètres. Les sentiers TOP représentent environ 23 p. cent du réseau total de sentiers de motoneige en Ontario dans toute la province. Les sentiers TOP permettent d’accéder à l’ensemble de la province sur la route principale et comportent des liens vers les services, les commodités et les sentiers de club locaux. Grâce aux sentiers TOP bien cartographiés, balisés et entretenus, les motoneigistes peuvent faire l’expérience de beaux paysages diversifiés, de terrains variés et de la faune, tout en se connectant à de nombreuses communautés.

La Route Greenbelt

Plus de 475 kilomètres d’aventures cyclistes vous attendent dans la campagne belle et protégée de la Route Greenbelt de l’Ontario. Cette route comporte des forêts luxuriantes, des rivières sinueuses, des communautés accueillantes et des fermes familiales, alors que des utilisateurs traversent ses paysages magnifiques.

La Route Greenbelt, unique en son genre, a été créée par le Waterfront Regeneration Trust, en s’appuyant sur son expérience à créer le sentier riverain. Elle s’ajoute à un réseau croissant de routes cyclables de longue distance en Ontario. Avec plusieurs itinéraires de correspondance cartographiés et balisés depuis et vers le sentier riverain, les utilisateurs peuvent désormais utiliser des sentiers non motorisés et des chemins de ravin existants pour créer leurs propres vacances cyclistes personnalisées sur la Greenbelt.

Sentier transcanadien Ontario

Le Sentier transcanadien en Ontario relie toute la province à une « colonne vertébrale » désignée et relie des sentiers semblables au Manitoba et au Québec. Trois itinéraires majeurs de transport sont utilisés pour établir cette liaison - sur terre, sur l’eau et sur la route. La variété de l’expérience récréative varie grandement : canot, équitation, cyclisme et motoneige, dans divers paysages urbains, ruraux et sauvages. Les routes d’eau dans le nord de l’Ontario font partie des itinéraires autochtones, tandis que les voies de chemin de fer abandonnées dans le sud de l’Ontario ont été transformées en sentiers linéaires et célèbrent encore le patrimoine ferroviaire de la région. En particulier, les couloirs de verdure sont établis dans du territoire qui a été aménagé pour protéger l’environnement et éduquer les utilisateurs des sentiers sur les sites sensibles.

Sentier Bruce

Le sentier Bruce est le sentier balisé le plus ancien et le plus long du Canada. Le sentier Bruce offre le seul accès public continu au splendide escarpement du Niagara, une réserve mondiale de la biosphère de l’UNESCO. En longeant l’escarpement du Niagara jusqu’à Tobermory, il s’étend sur plus de 890 kilomètres de sentier principal et plus de 400 kilomètres de sentiers latéraux associés. Des chutes d’eau aux conifères centenaires, il y en a pour tous les goûts. Le Bruce Trail Conservancy (BTC) a protégé plus de 11 000 acres de terres. L’objectif du BTC est d’établir et de préserver un couloir de conservation pour le sentier Bruce le long de l’escarpement du Niagara, afin de protéger ses écosystèmes naturels et de promouvoir un accès public écologiquement responsable.