Indigenous Lacrosse Team

Sport and Recreation Programming for Indigenous Communities

Ontario, in partnership with Indigenous organizations, is creating opportunities for Indigenous participants, athletes and coaches to achieve their personal best by:

  • Offering training for community members to lead sport and recreation activities
  • Increasing the availability of program opportunities
  • Engaging volunteers.

Working with Indigenous communities in sport and recreation is part of The Journey Together: Ontario’s commitment to Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples.


Sport Pathway for Ontario Native Wellness

Through Game ON – The Ontario Government’s Sport Plan, Ontario supports initiatives that provide sport and recreation opportunities for Indigenous athletes. This includes developing and implementing the Sport Pathway for Ontario Native Wellness initiative in partnership with the Aboriginal Sport & Wellness Council of Ontario (ASWCO).

The Sport Pathway supports an integrated regional network of opportunities for urban, rural and remote Indigenous peoples to participate at recreational levels and advance to high performance competition.

The goals of the Sport Pathway initiative are to:

  • Reduce barriers for Indigenous people to participate in organized sport
  • Create opportunities for Indigenous athletes to train and compete within the Indigenous community to build skill and competition preparedness
  • Build on the existing mainstream sport and recreation system to involve and develop Indigenous participants, athletes and coaches to achieve their full potential.

Since 2014, the Sport Pathway has increased the pool of certified Indigenous coaches through development programs as well as enhanced capacity building and organizational development of ASWCO to deliver Indigenous programming.

In 2017, Ontario successfully held the North American Indigenous Games (NAIG) for the first time, hosted by ASWCO. The Games provided Indigenous athletes, coaches and officials with the opportunity to participate in organized sport, develop their skills and pursue excellence in their sport.

From July 16 to 23, 5,000 athletes competed in 14 different sports across the Toronto and the Greater Hamilton area at some of the state of the art venues built for the 2015 Pan / Parapan American Games. The Games welcomed close to 32,000 out-of-town visitors and contributed over $18.7 million to the local economy. The Games also educated spectators on diverse Indigenous cultures and celebrated Indigenous heritage – just one of the many steps on Ontario’s journey of healing and reconciliation.

Ontario continues to build upon these successes by fostering existing partnerships to support expanded sport programming for all ages, developing a Far North Strategy and focusing on traditional Indigenous sports including canoeing, archery and lacrosse.


Community Aboriginal Recreation Activator Program

The Community Aboriginal Recreation Activator Program provides First Nation communities with community-driven sport, recreation, and physical activities to enhance the quality of life for community members.

Participating communities are provided with funding to hire an Activator. Each Activator creates a recreation plan to meet the needs in their local community, and facilitates and implements the plan, with the goal of enhancing the community’s participation in sport and recreation.

In 2016, approximately 21,000 participants attended programming in the following communities:

  • Alderville First Nation
  • Algonquins of Pikwakanagan
  • Aundeck Omni Kaning
  • Batchewana First Nation of Ojibways
  • Chippewas of Nawash
  • Chippewas of the Thames
  • Constance Lake First Nation
  • Curve Lake First Nation
  • Eabametoong First Nation (Fort Hope)
  • Asuabepeeschoseewagong Netum Anishinabek (Grassy Narrows) First Nation
  • Kingfisher Lake First Nation
  • Lac Seul First Nation
  • Long Lake #58 First Nation
  • Mississauga First Nation
  • Mitaanjigaming First Nation
  • Moose Cree First Nation
  • Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
  • Nibinamik First Nation
  • Nipissing First Nation
  • Ojibways of Onigaming
  • Oneida of the Thames First Nation
  • Sachigo Lake First Nation
  • Saugeen First Nation
  • Sheshegawaning First Nation
  • Wasauksing First Nation
  • Webequie First Nation

These communities also receive ongoing support and mentorship from staff from the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport to support capacity building.


Youth Cultural Camps

An initiative of The Journey Together: Ontario’s commitment to Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples, the Youth Cultural Camps initiative provides community-based cultural programming opportunities for Indigenous youth to expand understanding of traditional knowledge and languages, while developing leadership skills through hands-on activities.

The program is targeted to Indigenous teens (ages 15-18) and young adults (ages 19-24) and helps youth lead cultural events in their communities on their way to becoming community leaders.

Ontario is investing $4.5 million over two years to partners with 10 Indigenous organizations to provide more than 12 leadership-in-training camps and over 40 community camps through the Youth Cultural Camp initiative.

Youth Cultural Camp funding assists Indigenous organizations in administering and coordinating youth cultural camps in their member communities, enabling youth to connect to their culture and the people in their community.

Indigenous Lacrosse Team

Programmes de sports et de loisirs pour les communautés autochtones

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario, en partenariat avec des organismes autochtones, crée des possibilités pour encourager les participants, athlètes et entraîneurs autochtones à se surpasser :

  • en proposant des formations aux membres de communautés qui souhaitent assumer la responsabilité d’activités sportives et récréatives;
  • en accroissant l’offre de programmes;
  • en mobilisant des bénévoles.

Collaborer avec les communautés autochtones à la promotion du sport et des loisirs fait partie de Cheminer ensemble : l’engagement de l’Ontario envers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones.


Voie sportive pour le bien-être des Autochtones en Ontario

Dans la foulée de ON joue – Le Plan de promotion du sport du gouvernement de l’Ontario, la province appuie les possibilités favorisant le sport et les loisirs pour les communautés autochtones. Ce plan comprend l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de l’initiative Voie sportive pour le bien-être des Autochtones en partenariat avec l’Aboriginal Sport and Wellness Council of Ontario (ASWCO).

Cette initiative soutient un réseau régional intégré d’options pour les peuples autochtones vivant dans des zones urbaines, rurales ou éloignées qui désirent participer à des volets récréatifs et se perfectionner en vue de compétitions de haut niveau.

Les objectifs de l’initiative Voie sportive sont :

  • la réduction des obstacles à la participation des Autochtones au sport organisé;
  • l’ouverture de débouchés pour permettre à des athlètes autochtones de s’entraîner et de compétitionner à l’intérieur de leurs communautés afin de développer des habiletés et de se préparer aux compétitions;
  • l’utilisation du système récréatif et sportif conventionnel pour encourager la participation et le perfectionnement de participants, d’athlètes et d’entraîneurs autochtones afin qu’ils réalisent leur plein potentiel.

Depuis 2014, l’initiative Voie sportive accroît le bassin d’entraîneurs autochtones certifiés par des projets de perfectionnement, en plus d’améliorer le renforcement des capacités et le développement organisationnel de l’ASWCO pour la mise en œuvre de programmes autochtones.

En 2017, l’Ontario a tenu avec succès, pour la première fois, les Jeux autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord (JAAN), dont l'ASWCO était l’hôte. Les Jeux ont offert aux athlètes, aux entraîneurs et aux officiels autochtones la possibilité de participer au sport organisé, de développer leurs compétences et de poursuivre l’excellence dans leur discipline sportive.

Du 16 au 23 juillet, 5 000 athlètes se sont mesurés dans 14 sports différents aux quatre coins de Toronto et dans la région du Grand Hamilton dans certaines installations de pointe construites pour les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de 2015. Les Jeux ont accueilli près de 32 000 visiteurs de l’extérieur et permis d’injecter plus de 18,7 millions de dollars dans l’économie locale. De plus, l’événement a fait connaître diverses cultures autochtones et célébré leur patrimoine unique – l’une des nombreuses étapes que l’Ontario franchit dans le processus de guérison et de réconciliation.

L’Ontario continue d’exploiter ces réalisations au profit de partenariats existants en vue de soutenir l’élargissement des offres sportives pour les personnes de tous âges, élaborer une stratégie relative au Grand Nord et promouvoir des sports autochtones traditionnels, comme le canot, le tir à l’arc et la crosse.


Programme d’animateurs de loisirs communautaires pour les Autochtones

Le Programme d’animateurs de loisirs communautaires pour les Autochtones propose aux communautés des Premières Nations des volets communautaires axés sur le sport, les loisirs et les activités physiques afin d’améliorer la qualité de vie de leurs membres.

Les communautés y prenant part obtiennent un financement pour embaucher des animateurs. Les animateurs créeront un plan récréatif adapté aux besoins de leur communauté locale, et veilleront à l’animer et à le mettre en œuvre dans le but d’accroître la participation au sport et aux loisirs.

En 2016, environ 21 000 participants ont bénéficié de ce programme dans les communautés suivantes :

  • Première Nation d’Alderville
  • Algonquins de Pikwakanagan
  • Aundeck Omni Kaning
  • Première Nation ojibway de Batchewana
  • Chippewas de Nawash
  • Chippewas de la Thames
  • Première Nation de Constance Lake
  • Première Nation de Curve Lake
  • Première Nation Eabametoong (Fort Hope)
  • Première Nation Asuabpeeschoseewagong Netum Anishinabek (Grassy Narrows)
  • Première Nation de Kingfisher Lake
  • Première Nation du lac Seul
  • Première Nation de Long Lake (réserve no 58)
  • Première Nation Mississauga
  • Première Nation de Mitaanjigaming
  • Première Nation crie de la Moose
  • Mohawks de la baie de Quinte
  • Première Nation de Nibinamik
  • Première Nation de Nipissing
  • Ojibways d’Onigaming
  • Première Nation Oneida de la Thames
  • Première Nation de Sachigo Lake
  • Première Nation de Saugeen
  • Première Nation Sheshegawaning
  • Première Nation Wasauksing
  • Première Nation de Webequie

Ces communautés recevront également un soutien constant et du mentorat du personnel du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport afin d’appuyer le renforcement de capacités.


Camps culturels pour les jeunes

L’initiative des camps culturels pour les jeunes, qui s’inscrit dans Cheminer ensemble : l’engagement engagement de l’Ontario envers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones, offre des activités culturelles communautaires à l’intention des jeunes Autochtones afin d’accroître leur compréhension des connaissances et langues traditionnelles tout en acquérant le sens du leadership au moyen d’activités pratiques.

Le programme vise les adolescents (15 à 18 ans) et les jeunes adultes (19 à 24 ans) autochtones, et les aide à l’organisation d’événements culturels dans leur parcours les amenant à devenir des leaders communautaires.

L’Ontario investit 4,5 millions de dollars sur deux ans afin de fournir plus de 12 camps de formation en leadership et plus de 40 camps communautaires, et de soutenir 10 organisations autochtones dans le cadre de l’initiative des camps culturels pour les jeunes.

Le financement alloué à cette initiative aidera les organisations autochtones à administrer et à coordonner des camps culturels pour les jeunes dans leurs communautés membres, incitant ainsi les jeunes à renouer avec leur culture et à resserrer les liens.