Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Loyalty Segmentation of the US Travel Market

Full report available in pdf format

TAMS 2006

Ontario Report

With respect to source markets, there is one clear focal point for Ontario when it comes to protecting tResults of this analysis suggest that the Province of Ontario faces a challenging road in its US source markets if it is to both defend its current position in the tourism marketplace and re-establish a growth trajectory. In order to meet this challenge, it is clear that creative reassessment of current marketing strategies and product offerings should be undertaken. The “prize” could be a significant one, however, in that there is evidence of very real opportunity to reinvigorate the brand and stimulate growth in the US. It is also encouraging that these findings do not point to a need to overhaul the brand or adopt a fundamentally different positioning strategy. Instead, there is perhaps an opportunity to broaden the positioning “around the edges” and, to take a more aggressive approach to promoting the brand and the product offering in strategically important markets that have not traditionally been focal points for Ontario.

There are, without question, a number of analytical paradigms that can be applied to an assessment of Ontario’s standing in the tourism marketplace. This study is founded on an approach that integrates geographic proximity with an objective assessment of traveller affinity with Ontario as a possible pleasure travel destination. As such, this work offers but one of many possible perspectives on the marketplace. It does, however, deal with two fundamentally important constructs of market opportunity (distance and psychological association or connection). Moreover, the results derived through application of this approach seemingly provide some clarity when it comes to understanding the challenges ahead, assessing the magnitude of the opportunity and deriving recommendations that have practical utility and are consistent with what we already know.

Overview

We have identified two geographic regions as strategic focal points for Ontario: Tier One and surrounding areas (essentially, the traditional Near Markets) and Tier Three (the remainder of the Great Lakes States and US Northeast). These regions have been singled out because they have distinctive relationships with Ontario, have different roles to play with respect to enhancing Ontario’s volume potential in the US, and offer dissimilar forms of opportunity that impact marketing and product in distinctive ways. The one ubiquitous characteristic cutting across both of these tiers, is the strong overall appeal generated by Ontario as a potential tourism destination. Ontario is at least as well received as any of its direct competitors among travellers in these tiers who are most capable of fuelling future success. Although Ontario may generate relatively little excitement or enthusiasm, this strong generic appeal provides a solid foundation upon which to build momentum.

A brief synopsis of the state of affairs in each of these tiers is given below.

Tier One

This represents the Near Market urban core (Buffalo, Rochester, Detroit, Cleveland and Pittsburgh). Marketing initiatives have been focused on these DMAs during the recent past (with the possible exception of Pittsburgh), and incidence of travelling to Ontario is elevated in all five. Tier Two shares much in common with these source markets, for it essentially constitutes the regions surrounding the core urban agglomerations that are in close proximity to the Ontario border. However, Tier One does present itself as a legitimate focal point for marketing efforts, given the importance of population density in establishing marketing efficiency.

Unlike the other Tiers, Tier One (and Tier Two) has strategic importance with respect to feeding both the same-day and overnight tourism volume streams for Ontario. Although the TAMS survey does not deal with same-day travel in any comprehensive way, this fact should be kept in mind, for it not only elevates the importance of the nearby tiers, but it also plays some role in structuring the nature of the Ontario tourism experience and perceptions driving familiarity with the Province among travellers resident in these areas.

Most travellers in Tier One have some degree of familiarity with Ontario and most have taken a trip to the Province at some point in the past. Awareness building is not an issue. However, there is only a small pool of travellers in this market who have not visited within the past two years and are open to the idea of considering a trip to Ontario in the future. In this sense, growth opportunities are limited. Indeed, the most significant challenge in this market is defensive in nature – specifically, convincing the large pool of past visitors who are currently uncommitted to Ontario to consider returning. To a considerable extent, this means exciting them about what Ontario offers that: is consistent with their needs; is in keeping with Ontario’s strengths (has credibility); but is different from what they may have experienced in the past. In other words, widening the range of product made available and communicated to these travellers.

In Tier One, there is a need, perhaps to go to a new level by rekindling interest in Ontario through efforts to broaden the repertoire on the same positioning platform. This means embellishment and adding depth, rather than re-invention, and also suggests an opportunity to work with a broader palate of intended emotional responses.

In Tier Three, the essence of Ontario needs to be placed front and centre on the stage. At the present time, the province is hidden in the wings to some degree. It is understood, of course, that the budget is not available to target Tier Three in its entirety. Still, an argument can be made to selectively target a few key population centres in this region.

Finally, it is important to recognize that there are two sets of competitors that offer primary competition to Ontario and against which it must achieve some success as a tourist destination in the US. The first of these consists of the nearby border states such as New York and Ohio. The second is represented by US tourism regions that have very broad reach – Florida being primary among them. Although the latter may not be directly competitive, these destinations are nonetheless capable of attracting a large share of available pleasure travel dollars. Ontario must, therefore, be provided with enough innate appeal to reserve its share of tourism dollars within this competitive environment.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages

Segmentation de la fidélisation du marché touristique américain

Version en format pdf

EAPV 2006

Rapport de l'Ontario

Selon les résultats de cette étude, il semblerait que la province de l'Ontario aura fort à faire sur ses principaux marchés américains, si elle veut à la fois défendre sa position actuelle sur le marché touristique et rétablir une trajectoire de croissance. Pour relever ce défi, il ne fait aucun doute qu'elle doit réévaluer dans un esprit créatif ses stratégies actuelles de marketing et de présentation de ses produits. Toutefois, le « prix » pourrait être élevé, puisque tout tend à montrer qu'il existe de réelles possibilités de revigorer la marque et de stimuler la croissance aux États-Unis. Il est également encourageant de noter que, d'après les résultats, une révision de la marque ou l'adoption d'une stratégie de positionnement fondamentalement différente ne s'imposent pas. Il existe, par contre, la possibilité d'élargir le positionnement « à la périphérie » et d'adopter une méthode plus agressive pour promouvoir la marque et la présentation des produits sur les marchés stratégiquement importants, que l'Ontario n'a pas jusqu'ici considéré comme des pôles d'attraction.

Il y a de toute évidence un certain nombre de paradigmes analytiques à appliquer pour évaluer la situation de l'Ontario sur le marché touristique. Cette étude se fonde sur une méthode qui associe la proximité géographique et une évaluation objective de l'attirance qu'exerce l'Ontario sur les touristes en tant que destination de voyage. Cette étude offre donc non pas une mais plusieurs optiques différentes du marché. Elle porte, toutefois, sur deux concepts de débouchés fondamentalement importants (la distance et l'association ou le lien psychologiques). De surcroît, les résultats qu'engendre l'application de cette méthode permettent, semble-t-il, de mieux comprendre les difficultés qui se présenteront à l'avenir, d'évaluer la portée des possibilités et de formuler des recommandations utiles et correspondant à ce que nous savons déjà.

Vue d'ensemble

Nous avons cerné deux régions géographiques représentant des pôles d'attraction stratégiques en Ontario : la catégorie un et les régions avoisinantes (il s'agit essentiellement des marchés proches traditionnels) et la catégorie trois (le reste des États riverains des grands lacs et le nord-est des États-Unis). On a singularisé ces régions, car elles ont une relation particulière avec l'Ontario, ont un rôle distinct à jouer dans l'augmentation des possibilités de l'Ontario aux États-Unis et offrent des opportunités différentes ayant des conséquences diverses sur le marketing et les produits.

On retrouve une caractéristique identique dans ces deux catégories : le fort attrait global qu'exerce l'Ontario comme destination touristique possible. Dans les catégories les plus susceptibles d'occasionner des succès à l'avenir, l'Ontario est au moins aussi bien accueilli que ses concurrents directs parmi les touristes. Si l'Ontario provoque un enthousiasme relativement faible, ce fort attrait général, en revanche, forme une solide base sur laquelle capitaliser.

On trouve ci-dessous un bref bilan de la situation dans chacune des catégories.

Catégorie un 

La catégorie un représente le noyau urbain du marché proche (Buffalo, Rochester, Détroit, Cleveland et Pittsburgh). Récemment, les initiatives en matière de marketing se sont concentrées sur ce marché précis (à l'exception peut-être de Pittsburgh), et la fréquence des voyages en Ontario est élevée dans les cinq villes. La catégorie deux a de nombreux éléments en commun avec ces marchés sources, car elle constitue essentiellement les régions aux alentours des agglomérations urbaines proches de la frontière ontarienne. La catégorie un, néanmoins, se présente comme un élément primordial et légitime des efforts commerciaux déployés, compte tenu de l'importance de la densité de la population pour déterminer l'efficacité du marketing.

Contrairement aux autres catégories, la catégorie un (et la catégorie deux) occupent une importance stratégique pour entretenir le flot des voyageurs qui séjournent moins ou plus de 24 heures en Ontario. Bien que l'EAPV ne se penche pas sérieusement sur les voyages de moins de 24 heures, il faut garder ce fait à l'esprit, car il montre non seulement l'importance de la catégorie qui se trouve à proximité, mais il joue aussi un certain rôle pour illustrer la nature des expériences touristiques et la perception que les voyageurs ont de l'Ontario, et pour familiariser les touristes habitant dans ces régions à la province.

La plupart des touristes de la catégorie un connaissent plus ou moins l'Ontario et la majorité y ont fait un séjour à un moment ou à un autre. Bâtir la notoriété de la province n'est pas un problème. Toutefois, sur ce marché, on ne rencontre qu'un petit nombre de touristes qui ne sont pas venus en Ontario au cours des deux dernières années et restent ouverts à l'idée de visiter la province à l'avenir. Dans ce sens, les possibilités de croissance sont restreintes. En fait, la plus grande difficulté sur ce marché est de nature défensive, c'est-à-dire qu'il faut réussir à convaincre le nombre important d'anciens touristes, que l'Ontario n'intéresse pas pour le moment, à revenir. Dans une grande mesure, cela signifie leur donner des raisons de penser que ce que l'Ontario a à offrir répond à leurs besoins, est fidèle aux points forts de l'Ontario (crédibilité), tout en étant différent des expériences qu'ils ont pu y faire auparavant. Bref, il faut augmenter la gamme des produits que l'on présente aux touristes ou qui sont à leur disposition.

Pour la catégorie un, il faut peut être passé à un autre niveau en ranimant l'intérêt que suscite l'Ontario, c'est-à-dire s'efforcer d'élargir le répertoire tout en conservant la même plate-forme pour le positionnement. On entend par là embellir et donner de la profondeur, au lieu de réinventer, et saisir l'occasion de s'appuyer sur un éventail plus vaste de réactions affectives.

Pour la catégorie trois, l'essence des besoins de l'Ontario doit être au cœur de la scène. Pour le moment, la province se cache jusqu'à un certain point dans les coulisses. Il est entendu qu'il n'existe pas les moyens financiers pour cibler toute la catégorie trois. Quoiqu'il en soit, on peut défendre le ciblage sélectif de quelques centres clés dans cette région.

Enfin, il est important de reconnaître que l'Ontario est en lice avec deux groupes de concurrents, auxquels il doit quelque peu battre le pion en tant que destination touristique aux États-Unis. Son premier concurrent est les États frontaliers, comme New York et l'Ohio. Les régions touristiques américaines qui ont une grande portée, dont la Floride en premier lieu, représentent son deuxième concurrent. Bien que ces dernières ne soient pas forcément en concurrence directe avec lui, elles peuvent néanmoins attirer une part importante des dollars disponibles pour les voyages d'agrément. Il faut donc donner à l'Ontario un attrait suffisamment inné pour qu'il garde sa part des débouchés touristiques dans ce milieu concurrentiel.