Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Wildlife Viewing While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — April 25, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 26.9% (59,539,747) of adult Americans went wildlife viewing while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Visiting nature parks (20.4%) and viewing land animals (10.9%) were the most popular wildlife viewing activities, followed by viewing wildflowers and other flora (6.9%), watching whales and other marine life (6.3%), birdwatching (5.4%) and viewing the northern lights (1.7%). 37.5% of Wildlife Viewers (22,302,786) reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

The demographic profile of Wildlife Viewers parallels the American middle-class (25 to 64 years of age, married, above-average levels of household income and education). They are slightly more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have children under 18 living at home. They are over-represented in Alaska and the Mountain, Pacific, East North Central and West North Central regions of the U.S.

Wildlife Viewers were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken a trip to Canada in the past two years (21.3% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec. However, they are over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to almost all Canadian destinations, and especially the Western provinces and Canadian territories.

Wildlife Viewers prefer vacation experiences that allow them to enjoy nature and provide intellectual stimulation and educational opportunities. They were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to go hiking, climbing and paddling, horseback riding, and cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. They were also much more likely to have visited garden theme attractions, archaeological digs and aboriginal cultural experiences and to have taken part in participatory historical activities. During the past two years, Wildlife Viewers tended to stay at public campgrounds and seaside resorts, and they were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have stayed at a wilderness lodge or outpost and to have taken a wilderness tour.

Wildlife Viewers frequently use the Internet to obtain travel information (78.2%) and to book travel (56.9%). They are also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to consult official provincial or state travel information sources when planning a trip. This segment can be targeted effectively through travel-related media channels and media with a nature theme (e.g., science and nature television, science and geography magazines) or a domestic theme (e.g., home and garden magazines and television programs).

Un caribous Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

L’observation de la faune chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 25 avril 2007

Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 26,9 % (59 539 747) des Américains d’âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont observé la faune. Ils étaient plus nombreux à visiter des réserves naturelles (20,4 %) qu’à observer des animaux terrestres (10,9 %), des fleurs sauvages et autres plantes (6,9 %), des baleines et la faune et flore marines (6,3 %), des oiseaux (5,4 %) et les aurores polaires (1,7 %). Parmi les touristes qui observent la faune (22 302 86), 37,5 % ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Le profil démographique du touriste qui observe la faune est comparable à celui du touriste américain moyen (appartient au groupe d’âge des 25 à 64 ans, est marié, a un revenu de ménage et un niveau d’études supérieurs à ceux du touriste américain moyen). Il est à peine plus susceptible que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir des enfants au foyer de moins de 18 ans. il est surreprésenté en Alaska, dans les régions montagneuses, les États du littoral Pacifique, ainsi que dans le Centre Nord-Est et le Centre Nord-Ouest.

Le touriste qui observe la faune est plus susceptible que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir fait un voyage au Canada au cours des deux dernières années (21,3 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Ses destinations préférées sont l’Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec. Il est toutefois surreprésenté parmi les Américains moyens qui voyagent dans presque tout le Canada, en particulier dans les provinces de l’Ouest et les territoires.

Le touriste qui observe la faune préfère passer des vacances qui lui donnent l’occasion d’apprécier la nature et de s’adonner à des activités intellectuellement stimulantes et éducatives. Il est plus susceptible que le voyageur américain en voyage d’agrément de faire de la randonnée pédestre, de l’escalade et du pagayage, de l’équitation, du ski de fond et de la raquette. Il est également beaucoup plus susceptible d’avoir visité des attractions sur le thème du jardinage et à des fouilles archéologiques, et d’avoir participé à des évènements culturels autochtones et à des échanges historiques. Au cours des deux dernières années, Le touriste qui observe la faune la faune a eu tendance à séjourner dans des terrains de camping publics et des stations balnéaires. Il était aussi beaucoup plus susceptible que le voyageur américain en voyage d’agrément d’avoir séjourné dans un pavillon en pleine nature ou un camp éloigné accessible par avion ou hydravion et d’avoir fait une excursion en milieu sauvage.