Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. travel market

Visiting Theme Parks and Exhibits While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — June 29, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 29.1% (7,221,5Over the last two years, 37.8% (83,501,751) of adult Americans visited theme parks and exhibits while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. An amusement park (26.0%) was visited most often, followed by a zoo (15.7%), an aquarium (15.7%), a water theme park (9.6%), a movie theme park (5.4%) and a wax museum (3.2%). 47.0% (39,285,999) of those who visited a theme park or exhibit reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Theme Park and Exhibit Visitors are typically 18 to 44 years of age. Most are married and they are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have dependent children (under 18) living at home. Their level of education (60.8% university or higher) and household incomes ($78,940) are slightly above-average. They are slightly over-represented in Alaska and the South Atlantic, Middle Atlantic and East South Central regions of the United States and slightly less likely to live in rural areas or smaller towns.

Theme Park and Exhibit Visitors were slightly more likely to have taken a trip to Canada than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler (16.7% versus 14.6%), however, this segment is not a prime target group for Canadian tourism activities. The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec.

Theme Park and Exhibit Visitors are family-oriented in terms of their trip activities and vacation preferences. When on trips, Theme Park and Exhibit Visitors were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have visited exhibits (e.g., science & technology exhibits, garden theme attractions) and to have participated in family-friendly outdoor activities (e.g., games & individual sports, team sports, cycling, horseback riding). They tend to value relaxing vacations (e.g., get a break from their day-to-day environment, relax & relieve stress) and prefer vacations that enrich family relationships and offer lots of things to see and do for both adults and children.

Most Theme Park and Exhibit Visitors frequently use the Internet to plan trips (77.7%) and to book at least part of a trip online (56.6%). They are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to obtain information and purchase tickets from the websites of attractions and exhibits. Their media preferences reflect their family-orientation and especially in terms of magazines read (e.g., family & parenting magazines). The majority visit travel-related websites and read the travel section of weekend newspapers. They are also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to obtain travel information from television shows and television advertising.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Visites de parcs thématiques et d'expositions parmi les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 29 juin 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 37,8 % (83 501 751) des Américains d’âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont visité des parcs thématiques et des expositions.  Un parc d’attractions (26,0%) a accueilli le plus de visiteurs, suivi d’un zoo (15,7%), d’un aquarium (15,7%), d’un parc d'attractions nautiques (9,6%), d’un parc d’attractions cinématographiques (5,4%) et d’un musée de cire (3,2%). Parmi les personnes qui ont visité un parc thématique ou une exposition, 47,0% (39 285 999) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les touristes qui visitent des parcs thématiques ou des expositions ont en général de 18 à 44 ans. La plupart sont mariés et sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir des enfants à charge (moins de 18 ans) qui habitent avec eux. Leur niveau de scolarité (60,8 % ont au moins un diplôme universitaire) et leur revenu de ménage (78 940 $) sont légèrement supérieurs à la moyenne.  Ils sont quelque peu surreprésentés en Alaska, dans les régions Atlantique sud et Atlantique centre et dans le Centre sud-est des États-Unis et un peu moins susceptibles d’habiter dans une région rurale ou dans une petite ville.

Les touristes qui visitent des parcs thématiques ou des expositions sont légèrement plus susceptibles d’avoir fait un voyage au Canada que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément (16,7 % par rapport à 14,6 %), bien que ce segment ne soit pas un premier marché visé  en ce qui concerne les activités touristiques au Canada. Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l’Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec.

Les touristes qui visitent des parcs thématiques ou des expositions recherchent des activités et des vacances axées sur la famille.  En voyage, ils sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage de visiter des expositions (p.ex., sciences et technologie, attractions botaniques) et de participer à des activités de plein air plaisant à toute la famille (p.ex., jeux et sports individuels, sports d’équipe, cyclisme et équitation). Ils ont tendance à aimer des vacances relaxantes (p.ex., échapper au milieu quotidien, se détendre et se libérer du stress) qui enrichissent les rapports familiaux et offrent un bon nombre de choses à voir et à faire pour les adultes et les enfants.

La plupart des touristes qui visitent des parcs thématiques ou des expositions planifie fréquemment leurs voyages sur Internet (77,7 %) et réserve au moins une partie du voyage en ligne (56,6 %). Ces touristes sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage de se procurer des renseignements et d’acheter des billets sur les sites Web des attractions et des expositions. Leurs préférences en matière de médias témoignent de l’importance qu’ils attachent à la famille, en particulier en ce qui concerne la presse  (p.ex., magazines sur la famille et l’art d’être parents). La majorité d’entre eux consultent des sites Web sur le tourisme et lisent la rubrique sur les voyages dans le journal du week-end. Ces touristes sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage de se procurer des renseignements sur les voyages en regardant des émissions et des annonces publicitaires à la télévision.