Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Team Sports While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — March 23, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 6.1% (13,447,743) of adult Americans played a team sport while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Of those who played a team sport, almost one-half (48.8%, or 6,565,004 adult Americans) reported that this sport was the main reason for taking at least one trip.

Those who played a team sport while on a trip are primarily young (18 to 34), single and male. They are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have a university degree, but perhaps reflecting their age, their household incomes are only slightly above average. They tend to reside in the central and western U.S. states, and in smaller towns or rural areas.

Those who played a team sport while on a trip were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken a trip to Canada in the past two years (18.8% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario and British Columbia, but this sector of the travel market is over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Those who played a team sport while on a trip also participate in a wide range of outdoor activities while traveling. The majority have participated in competitive games and individual sports (e.g., tennis) while on trips. They were also much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have engaged in physically challenging outdoor activities such as skateboarding, extreme sports, cycling, downhill skiing and snowboarding. Their cultural and entertainment interests while traveling tend to be predominately sports-related (e.g., national / professional / amateur sporting events).

Those who played a team sport while traveling were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Travel to have taken organized single and multiple location tours (which may be linked to their sport) and look for destinations that offer lower-cost package deals and mid-ranged accommodations. During the past two years, they were most likely to have camped at a public campground and to have stayed at various types of resorts (seaside, lake or riverside, ski or mountain). Thus, inexpensive, sports-related, travel packages may be particularly attractive to this sector of the travel market.

Those who played a team sports while on a trip tend to consult the Internet for travel information and are more likely to have booked travel online, and especially trip packages, than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler. Their media preferences are clearly oriented towards sports with respect to television, websites, magazines and the radio. As such, sports-related media would appear to be the most efficient method by which to reach this sector of the travel market.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les sports d’équipe chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 23 mars 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 6,1 % (13 447 743) des Américains d’âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs jours, ont joué à un sport d’équipe. Parmi eux, presque la moitié (48,8 % ou 6 565 004) a indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison l’ayant incitée à faire au moins un voyage.

Les touristes qui jouent à un sport d’équipe pendant un voyage sont surtout de jeunes hommes (18 à 34 ans) célibataires. Ils sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément de détenir un diplôme universitaire. En revanche, peut-être en raison de leur âge, leur revenu de ménage est à peine supérieur  à la moyenne. Ils habitent en général dans les régions du centre et de l’ouest des États-Unis, dans de petites villes et dans des régions rurales.  

Les touristes qui jouent à un sport d’équipe pendant un voyage sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir séjourné au Canada, principalement en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique, au cours des deux dernières années (18,8 % par rapport à 14,6 %).  Ce secteur du marché touristique est toutefois surreprésenté parmi les Américains qui ont fait un voyage d’agrément dans l’ensemble des territoires et provinces du Canada.

Les touristes qui jouent à un sport d’équipe pendant un voyage participent aussi à un vaste éventail d’autres activités de plein air. La majorité a joué à des jeux de compétition et à des sports individuels (p.ex., tennis). Ils sont aussi beaucoup plus enclins que  l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir participé à des activités de plein air ardues, comme la planche à roulettes, les sports extrêmes, le cyclisme, le ski alpin et la planche à neige. Leurs goûts culturels et les divertissements qu’ils aiment ont surtout tendance à être liés aux sports (p.ex., manifestations de sport amateur, professionnel et international).

Les touristes qui jouent à un sport d’équipe pendant un voyage sont plus susceptibles que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément de faire des excursions organisées vers un ou plusieurs sites (qui peuvent avoir un lien avec le sport qu’ils pratiquent) et de rechercher des destinations où ils peuvent trouver des forfaits à prix modique et un hébergement de catégorie moyenne. Au cours des deux dernières années, ils ont privilégié les terrains de camping publics, et ont séjourné dans divers types de centres de villégiature (balnéaire – mer, lac ou rivière – station de ski ou de montagne). Par conséquent, des forfaits de voyage à prix modique, axés sur les sports, pourraient particulièrement attirer ce secteur du marché touristique.

Les touristes qui jouent à un sport d’équipe pendant un voyage consultent fréquemment Internet pour trouver des renseignements touristiques et sont plus susceptibles de faire  leurs réservations en ligne, en particulier des forfaits voyages, que l’Américain moyen en voyage d’agrément. Parmi les médias, ils préfèrent nettement ceux axés sur les sports ( télévision, sites Web, magazines et radio). Il semble donc que les médias sportifs représentent la meilleure méthode pour toucher ce secteur du marché touristique.