Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Canadian Travelers to Quebec

Full report available in pdf format

Canadian Travel Market

A Profile Report


January 31, 2008


Executive summary


Over the last two years, 20.2% of adult Canadians (3,810,487) from another province took an overnight trip to the province of Quebec. 70.7% (2,692,937) of these Quebec trips were "pleasure trips". Overall, 18.9% of Canadian Pleasure Travelers from other provinces reported taking at least one pleasure trip to Quebec during the past two years. Among those who took a pleasure trip to Quebec, 44.2% took two or more pleasure trips to Quebec in the last two years.

Those who visited Quebec are most likely to live in Ontario and the Atlantic Region. Those from Saskatchewan were the least likely to have taken a trip to Quebec.

Canadian Pleasure Travelers who visited Quebec are over-represented among 25 to 34 year olds and those who are not married. They are also more likely to have a university degree (42.3%) and household incomes above $100,000 (34.3%) than the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler. As such, Canadians who visited Quebec are over-represented among affluent, young singles and young couples.

Canadians who visited Quebec are quite sophisticated in their cultural pursuits while both traveling and not traveling and were much more likely than other Canadian Pleasure Travelers to have attended a literary or film festival, high art performances and to have taken part in a participatory historical activity on a trip. While not traveling, they are especially likely to patronize local live art performances (e.g., the opera, ballet, classical music concerts, live theatre, jazz clubs) and to visit local museums and art galleries. This suggests that Quebec's cultural activities may be especially appealing to out-of-province Canadians. However they are also very active in outdoor activities while traveling and in particular, skiing (downhill and cross country) and canoeing and kayaking. Relative to other Canadian Pleasure Travelers, they prefer vacations that provide intellectual stimulation, learning opportunities (e.g., learn about the history and culture of the destination) and novelty (i.e., to see and do something new). They are also more likely to take vacations that are physically challenging and energizing. This implies that Quebec should promote both its rich and distinctive culture as well as its opportunities for outdoor activities (e.g., skiing, canoeing and kayaking) to the Canadian marketplace.

Canadians who took a trip to Quebec are above-average users of the Internet to plan (70.1%) and book travel (49.6%). However, their consumption of travel media is only slightly above-average. They may be most effectively targeted though news magazines, news / information / talk radio stations and news websites, city lifestyle magazines and business, finance and investing magazines. They may also be reached through radio stations that feature jazz / big band music and classical music.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique canadien

Le tourisme canadien au Quebec

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche

Sommaire —Le 31 janvier 2008

Au cours des deux dernières années, 20,2 % des Canadiens d'âge adulte (3 810 487) habitant une autre province ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures au Québec. Parmi ces voyages au Québec, 70,7 % (2 692 937) étaient des « voyages d'agrément ». Au total, 18,9 % des touristes canadiens originaires d'une autre province ont déclaré avoir fait au moins un voyage d'agrément au Québec dans les deux dernières années. Toujours pendant la même période, 44,2 % d'entre eux ont fait deux voyages d'agrément ou plus au Québec.

Les Canadiens qui visitent le Québec sont plus susceptibles d'habiter en Ontario et dans la région de l'Atlantique. Les Saskatois sont les moins susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Québec.

Les Canadiens en voyage d'agrément qui visitent le Québec sont surreprésentés dans le groupe des 25-34 ans et chez les célibataires. Ils sont aussi plus susceptibles de détenir un diplôme universitaire (42,3 %) et de disposer d'un revenu de ménage supérieur à 100 000 dollars (34,3 %) que le Canadien moyen en voyage d'agrément. Par conséquent, les Canadiens qui visitent le Québec sont surreprésentés chez les jeunes célibataires et les couples aisés.

Les Canadiens qui visitent le Québec recherchent des activités culturelles raffinées en voyage et chez eux, et sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que les autres Canadiens en voyage d'agrément d'assister à un festival de littérature ou du film ainsi qu'à des spectacles sur scène et de participer à des échanges historiques. Chez eux, ils sont particulièrement portés à parrainer des spectacles sur scène locaux (p.ex., opéra, ballet, concerts de musique classique, théâtre, jazz clubs) et à visiter les musées et galeries d'art locaux, ce qui laisse à penser que les Canadiens des autres provinces sont peut-être particulièrement attirés par les activités culturelles du Québec. Toutefois, ils participent aussi activement en voyage à des activités de plein air, surtout le ski (ski alpin et ski de fond), le canotage et le kayak. Par rapport à d'autres Canadiens en voyage d'agrément, ils préfèrent des vacances qui leur offrent stimulation intellectuelle, possibilités de s'instruire (p.ex., histoire et culture de la destination) et nouveauté (p.ex., faire ou voir quelque chose de nouveau). Ils sont aussi plus enclins à prendre des vacances qui sont physiquement stimulantes et leur redonnent de l'énergie, ce qui signifie que le Québec devrait promouvoir non seulement sa riche spécificité culturelle, mais aussi ses activités de plein air (p.ex., ski, canotage et kayak) sur le marché canadien.

Les Canadiens qui visitent le Québec utilisent plus que la moyenne Internet pour planifier un voyage (70,1 %) et faire des réservations (49,6 %). Par contre, ce sont des consommateurs à peine au-dessus de la moyenne des médias touristiques. On peut les cibler très efficacement dans des magazines d'actualités, des émissions de radio (nouvelles, actualités et débats) ainsi que sur les sites Web de nouvelles, dans les magazines sur le mode de vie urbain et les magazines sur les affaires, la finance et la Bourse. On peut aussi les atteindre efficacement sur des stations de radio de jazz / big band et de musique classique.