Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Attending Professional Sports Events While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — July 4, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 12.5% (27,464,064) of adult Americans attended a professional sports event while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Baseball games were the most popular professional sports event attended on trips (8.1%), followed by football games (4.4%), basketball games (2.5%), ice hockey games (1.9%) and golf tournaments (1.0%). 45.9% (12,602,543) of those who attended a professional sports event reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, those who attend professional sports events while on trips are more likely to be young, single males 18 to 34 years of age. They are relatively affluent with an above-average level of education and above-average household incomes ($86,175). They are over-represented in Alaska and the West North Central, East North Central and New England regions of the United States.

Over the past two years, those who attended professional sports events while on trips traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and they were more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (22.5% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, however, this segment is over-represented among U.S. travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Those who attend professional sports events as spectators are much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to also play sports (e.g., games and individual sports, golf, team sports) and to participate in strenuous outdoor activities (e.g., downhill skiing and snowboarding) while on trips. They are also more likely than average to take advantage of nightlife activities (e.g., rock concerts and recreational dancing), the arts (e.g., theatre, film and music festivals) and other sporting events (e.g., amateur tournaments) while traveling. This segment most often stayed at a seaside resort or public campground while on trips and was more likely than average to take tours (especially casino, winery or factory tours) and cruises.

This segment is more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to use the Internet to plan (80.5%) and book (62.1%) travel. They were particularly likely to have purchased tickets for specific activities or attractions online (presumably for professional sports events).

This segment can be targeted most effectively through sports-related media, including professional sports magazines, television sports game or talk shows, all-sports radio stations and sports-related websites.

Prepared by Lang Research Inc. on behalf of:

Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation, Quebec Ministry of Tourism, Travel Manitoba, Canadian Tourism Commission, Tourism Saskatchewan, Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership, Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, Department of Canadian Heritage, Tourism British Columbia, Parks Canada Agency, Government of Yukon, Government of Northwest Territories

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Fréquentation d'évènements sportifs professionnels chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 4 juillet 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 12,5% (27 464 064) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont assisté à un évènement sportif professionnel. Les matchs de baseball étaient l'évènement sportif professionnel le plus populaire (8,1%), suivis par les matchs de football (4,4%), de basket-ball (2,5%), de hockey sur glace (1,9%) et les tournois de golf (1,0%). Parmi les personnes qui ont assisté à un évènement sportif professionnel, 45,9% (12 602 543) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, les touristes qui assistent à des évènements sportifs professionnels sont plus susceptibles d'être de jeunes hommes célibataires âgés de 18 à 34 ans. Ils sont relativement aisés, et ont un niveau de scolarité et un revenu de ménage au-dessus de la moyenne (86 175 $). Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska, dans le centre nord-ouest et nord-est et en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes qui ont assisté à des évènements sportifs professionnels ont voyagé plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (22,5% par rapport à 14,6%). Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, bien qu'ils soient surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans toutes les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Les touristes qui ont assisté à des évènements sportifs professionnels en spectateurs sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de faire du sport (p.ex., jeux et sports individuels, golf, sports d'équipe) et de participer à des activités de plein air ardues (p.ex., ski alpin et planche à neige) pendant un voyage. Ils sont aussi plus enclins que le touriste moyen à profiter de la vie nocturne (p.ex., concerts rock et danse), d'aller au spectacle (p.ex., festivals de théâtre, de cinéma et de musique) et d'assister à d'autres évènements sportifs (p.ex., tournois amateurs) pendant un voyage. Ce segment séjourne le plus souvent dans une station balnéaire ou un terrain de camping public pendant un voyage et est plus susceptible que la moyenne de faire des excursions (casino, caves vinicoles et usines en particulier) et des croisières.

Ce segment est plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de consulter Internet pour planifier un voyage (80,5%) et faire des réservations (62,1%). Il est particulièrement susceptible d'acheter des billets en ligne pour se rendre à des activités ou assister à des attractions précises (probablement pour des évènements sportifs professionnels).

Le meilleur moyen de cibler ce segment reste les médias sportifs, notamment les magazines de sports professionnels, les matchs ou les émissions-débats sur les sports à la télévision, toutes les stations de radio sportives et les sites Web sur les sports.