Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Playing Games and Individual Sports While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — March 2 , 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 14.9% (37,901,009) of adult Americans played games or individual sports (i.e., mini-golf, board games, bowling, tennis, beach volleyball, volleyball, badminton) while on an out-of-town overnight trip or one or more nights. Among those who participated, 14.9% (5,640,849) reported that these activities were the main reason for taking at least one trip.

Those who played games or individual sports while on trips are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to be younger adults (18 to 44 years) with children under 18 living at home. Household incomes and level of education are above-average. They are most likely to reside in the northern and eastern United States indicating that they tend to live closer to Canada than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler.

Consistent with this fact, those who have played games or individual sports while on trips were slightly more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken a trip to Canada in the past two years (17.6% versus 14.6%). They were most likely to have taken a trip to Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec. In relative terms, they are over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers who visited Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec during the past two years.

Those who have participated in games or individual sports while on trips were also active in a wide range of other outdoor activities, and especially team sports, "board and blade" activities (e.g., rollerblading or ice skating), cycling, extreme sports, exercising and jogging. They have also participated in a variety of culture and entertainment activities while on trips, ranging from sports-related events (e.g., amateur, professional and international sporting events) to artistic attractions (e.g., theatre, film and musical festivals) and educational activities (e.g., participatory historical activities).

Those who played games or individual sports while on trips are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to seek vacations that offer family-oriented benefits (e.g., enriching family relationships). They also consider it important that a destination has lots of things to see and do for both adults and children. During the past two years, they have most often stayed at seaside resorts and public campgrounds, and were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken tours and cruises.

Those who have played games or individual sports while on trips frequently use the Internet to obtain travel information and frequently book travel online. The most effective media channels by which to reach this segment are sports-related radio programs, television shows and magazines and family / parenting magazines.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Jeux et sports individuels chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 2 mars 2007
Sommaire

Dans les deux dernières années, 14,9 % (37 901 009) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs jours, ont joué à des jeux ou pratiqué des sports individuels (p.ex., mini-golf, jeux de société, jeu de quilles, tennis, volley-ball de plage, volley-ball, badminton). Parmi eux, 14,9 % (5 640 849) ont indiqué que ces activités étaient la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage.

Les touristes qui jouent à des jeux ou pratiquent des sports individuels pendant un voyage sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'être de jeunes adultes (18 à 44 ans) qui ont des enfants âgés de moins de 18 ans. Ils disposent d'un revenu de ménage et ont un niveau de scolarité supérieurs à la moyenne.  Ils sont plus susceptibles d'habiter dans le nord et l'est des États-Unis, soit plus près du Canada que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément.

De pair avec ce fait, les touristes qui jouent à des jeux ou pratiquent des sports individuels pendant un voyage sont un peu plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir séjourné au Canada, principalement en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec, au cours des deux dernières années (17,6 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Relativement parlant, ils sont surreprésentés parmi les Américains qui ont fait un voyage d'agrément à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Ontario et au Québec au cours des deux dernières années.

Les touristes qui jouent à des jeux ou pratiquent des sports individuels en voyage participent aussi à un vaste éventail d'autres activités de plein air, dont en particulier sports d'équipe, et activités en patins et planches (p.ex., patins à roues alignées ou patinage artistique), cyclisme, sports extrêmes, conditionnement physique et jogging. Ils participent aussi à diverses activités culturelles et assistent à des spectacles, allant des manifestations sportives (p.ex., sport amateur, professionnel et international) aux spectacles culturels (p.ex., festivals de théâtre, de films et de musique) en passant par  des activités éducatives (p.ex., des activités en groupe sur l'histoire).

Les touristes qui jouent à des jeux ou pratiquent des sports individuels sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de rechercher des vacances de type familial (p.ex., pour resserrer les liens familiaux). Ils estiment aussi qu'il est important qu'une destination offre de nombreuses choses à faire et à voir aux adultes et aux enfants. Au cours des deux dernières années, ils sont souvent restés dans des centres de villégiature en bord de mer et dans des terrains de camping publics. Ils sont aussi plus enclins que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément à faire des excursions et des croisières.