Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

U.S. Travelers to Ontario

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — January 24, 2008

Executive summary

Over the last two years, 8.2% of adult Americans (14,067,041) took an overnight to Ontario. This represents 6.4% of the U.S. Pleasure Travelers. 32.2% of the U.S. Pleasure Travelers who visited Ontario took two or more pleasure trips to Ontario in the last two years. Ontario was by far the most frequently visited Canadian destination by U.S. Pleasure Travelers during the last two years.

Ontario visitors are most likely to live in a border state such as Michigan, New York and Wisconsin or nearby states such as Pennsylvania, Ohio and Vermont. As expected, the likelihood of a visit to Ontario declines as the distance from Ontario increases. Ontario visitors are also over-represented among those living in larger urban centers.

Those who took a trip to Ontario in the last two years are predominantly married and over-represented among those 55 and older. They are more affluent than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and more likely to have post-secondary education (68.0% versus 58.2% for the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler). They also have above-average household incomes ($87,150 versus $74,303 for the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler). Accordingly, Ontario visitors are over-represented among affluent, mature couples.

Those who visited Ontario are much more likely than other U.S. Travelers to have attended theatre, film and music festivals, high art performances and professional sporting events while on trips. They are also more likely to have taken part in participatory cultural activities (e.g., participatory historical activities, aboriginal cultural experiences, archaeological digs and sites) while traveling. They were more than twice as likely to have skied (e.g., cross-country skiing, downhill skiing) and more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have gone golfing, horseback riding, sailing and surfing and cycling while on trips. They prefer luxury accommodation and fine cuisine. They were also more likely to have taken winery tours, city tours and cruises on the St. Lawrence River or Great Lakes during the past two years.

Ontario visitors prefer intellectually stimulating vacations that offer opportunities to learn, a distinctive culture and novelty. This indicates that Ontario should promote its cultural distinctiveness to the American marketplace.

Those who visited Ontario are above-average users of the Internet to research (76.5%) and book travel (57.0%). They are also above-average consumers of travel media. They may be most effectively targeted though intellectual television programs (i.e., history, biography, science and nature), news and current events programming and business, finance and investment magazines. They may also be effectively reached through classical music, multicultural, jazz / big band and all sports radio stations.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Le tourisme américain en Ontario

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 24 janvier 2008

Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 8,2 % des Américains d'âge adulte (14 067 041) ont fait un voyage d'agrément de plus de 24 heures en Ontario, ce qui représente 6,4 % des touristes Américains. Toujours pendant cette période, 32,2 % d'entre eux ont fait deux voyages d'agrément ou plus en Ontario. Toujours pendant cette période, l'Ontario a été de loin la destination canadienne que les Américains en voyage d'agrément ont le plus choisie.

Les touristes américains qui visitent l'Ontario sont plus susceptibles d'habiter dans un État limitrophe, comme le Michigan, L'État de New York et le Wisconsin, ou dans un État proche, comme la Pennsylvanie, l'Ohio et le Vermont. Selon toute attente, plus ils habitent loin de l'Ontario, moins il est probable qu'ils visitent la province. Ils sont aussi surreprésentés parmi ceux qui habitent dans de grandes agglomérations urbaines.

Les touristes américains qui ont visité l'Ontario au cours des deux dernières années sont souvent mariés et surreprésentés parmi les 55 ans et plus  Ils sont plus aisés que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et plus susceptible de détenir un diplôme postsecondaire (68,0 % par rapport à 58,2 % chez les Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément). Ils disposent aussi d'un revenu de ménage supérieur à la moyenne (87 150 $ par rapport à 74 303 $ pour l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément). Par conséquent, ce segment est surreprésenté chez les couples aisés et d'âge mûr.

Les touristes américains qui visitent l'Ontario sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que les autres touristes américains d'assister à des festivals de théâtre, du film et de musique, à des spectacles de musique classique et à des manifestations sportives professionnelles. Ils sont aussi plus enclins à participer à des activités culturelles créatives (p.ex., échanges historiques, expériences culturelles autochtones, sites et fouilles archéologiques). Ils sont deux fois plus susceptibles de faire du ski (p.ex., ski de fond, ski alpin) et plus portés que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément à faire du golf, de l'équitation, de la voile, du surf et du cyclisme. Ils préfèrent un hébergement de luxe et la cuisine fine. Ils sont également plus enclins à visiter des caves vinicoles, à faire des excursions en ville et  des croisières sur le Saint-Laurent ou les Grands Lacs.

Les touristes américains qui visitent l'Ontario préfèrent des vacances intellectuellement stimulantes qui leur offrent la possibilité de s'instruire, une culture particulière et la nouveauté, ce qui montre que l'Ontario devrait faire valoir sa spécificité culturelle sur le marché américain.

Les touristes américains qui visitent l'Ontario utilisent plus que la moyenne Internet pour faire des recherches (76,5 %) et des réservations de voyage (57,0 %). Ils aiment aussi plus que la moyenne les médias touristiques. On peut les cibler très efficacement dans des émissions de télévision intellectuelles (p.ex., histoire, biographies, sciences et nature), des émissions de nouvelles et d'actualité et des magazines sur les affaires, la finance et la Bourse. On peut aussi les atteindre efficacement sur des stations de radio de musique classique, multiculturelles, de jazz / big band et de sports.