Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Canadian Travellers who visited Northern Ontario - A Profile for Marketing Implications

Full report available in pdf format

June 2007
Executive summary

A PROFILE OF CANADIAN TRAVELLERS WHO VISITED NORTHERN ONTARIO:

  • Majority reside in Ontario, particularly Toronto
  • Seek undiscovered and less built up destinations
  • Seek more solitude and isolation than other Canadian Travellers
  • Seek to be more physically challenged than other Canadian Travellers
  • Have a strong relationship with outdoor recreation activities, particularly camping and fresh water fishing
  • Value accessibility by car more than other modes of transportation
  • Are not traveling to be pampered or stay in luxury accommodation
  • Have higher incomes compared to other Canadian travellers
  • Generally are slightly younger than other Canadian travellers
  • Live mainly with a spouse or partner without young children
  • A majority use the advice of friends and relatives as an important source of information for planning their trips
  • A majority of them made their travel decisions over the Internet (accommodation and air tickets)

PRODUCT IMPLICATIONS:

Experiences that offer relaxation and physical activity

  • Product development could move towards offering experiences that incorporate relaxation with physical activity. 67.3% of Canadian travellers to Northern Ontario seek to relax and relieve stress. However, this group of travellers differs on the fact that they also seek to be more challenged physically than all other Canadian travellers.
  • 52.8% swam in lakes during a trip in the past two years
  • 41.9% camped during a trip in the past two years
  • 35.2% fished in fresh water during a trip in the past two years

Camping as a popular activity

  • Camping is of significant interest to Canadians who have visited Northern Ontario. Supporting this is the fact that 14.3% of Canadian travellers to Northern Ontario indicated that the availability of camping was highly important in their travel making decisions compared to all Canadian travellers (12.7%). Fewer travellers to Northern Ontario indicated that the availability of camping was of no importance in their travel making decisions (47.3%) compared to all Canadian travellers (51.0%).

A niche market for nature-based activities

  • Although shopping at clothing, shoe and jewellery shops and dining at restaurants that offer local ingredients are activities that are common to most Canadian travellers to Northern Ontario, they are also common to most Canadian travellers in general. Among the most frequently mentioned activities by travellers who had visited Northern Ontario, there are a number which relate to the natural environment (swimming in lakes, fresh water fishing, camping, and visiting national or provincial nature parks).
    • There exists an opportunity to capitalize on the existence of specialized outdoor activities in the North such as fresh water fishing.
    • Relaxation in the outdoors is an influential factor as 24.6% of Canadian travelers who visited Northern Ontario indicated that sunbathing/sitting on the beach was a main reason for taking an overnight trip in the past 2 years.
    • The remoteness of the North is also an influential factor.
    • However, given the importance of activities such as shopping and dining, there is a need to emphasize that these activities are available alongside of the specialized, nature-based activities.

FACTORS PREDICTING TRAVEL:

  • Northern Ontario's primary travel market includes residents of Ontario. Toronto not only generated most of the Canadian travellers visiting Northern Ontario (primarily because of its population size), but also had the highest incidence of travel to Northern Ontario.
  • Factors predicting travel to Northern Ontario include: participation in one of Northern Ontario's intrinsic activities; fresh water fishing as a main reason for travel; and traveling to seek undiscovered, less built up places.

OPPORTUNITIES FOR GROWTH:

  • The Primary potential visitor market for Northern Ontario is Toronto.
  • Secondary potential visitor markets for Northern Ontario include:
    • Montreal
    • Areas of British Columbia (excluding Victoria and Vancouver)
    • Vancouver and Calgary, however, to a lesser degree
  • These areas had the highest incidence of Canadians who did not visit Northern Ontario, rated Ontario highly and indicated that at least one of Northern Ontario's intrinsic activities was a main reason for taking a trip in the past two years.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages

Les touristes canadiens qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario - Un profil expliquant les conséquences en matière de marketing

Version en format pdf

Juin 2007

Sommaire

PROFIL DES TOURISTES CANADIENS QUI ONT VISITÉ LE  NORD DE L'ONTARIO :

  • La majorité d'entre eux habite en Ontario, en particulier à Toronto
  • Ils recherchent des destinations inconnues ou moins touristiques
  • Ils recherchent davantage la solitude et l'isolement que les autres touristes canadiens
  • Ils recherchent des activités physiques plus difficiles que les autres touristes canadiens
  • Ils aiment beaucoup les activités récréatives de plein air, en particulier le camping et la pêche en eau douce
  • Ils accordent de l'importance à l'accès en voiture plus que par tout autre moyen de transport
  • Ils ne voyagent pas pour être choyés ou descendre dans des hôtels luxueux
  • Leur revenu est supérieur à celui des autres touristes canadiens
  • Ils sont en général un peu plus jeunes que les autres touristes canadiens
  • Ils habitent en général avec un conjoint ou une conjointe, sans jeunes enfants
  • La majorité se tourne vers leurs amis et parents pour avoir des renseignements et planifier leur voyage
  • Une majorité d'entre eux ont recours à Internet pour décider de la destination de leur voyage (hébergement et billets d'avion)

IMPLICATIONS EN CE QUI CONCERNE LES PRODUITS :
Des expériences qui procurent détente et activités physiques

  • Dans le cadre du développement des produits, on pourrait se tourner vers l'offre d'expériences qui comprennent détente et activités physiques. Parmi les touristes canadiens qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario, 67,3% cherchent à se détendre et à se relaxer. Toutefois, ce groupe de touristes sont différents de tous les autres touristes canadiens en ce sens qu'ils recherchent des activités physiquement plus exigeantes.
    • 52,8% ont fait de la natation dans un lac pendant un voyage au cours des deux dernières années
    • 41,9% ont campé pendant un voyage au cours des deux dernières années
    • 35,2% ont pêché en eau douce pendant un voyage au cours des deux dernières années

La popularité du camping

  • Le camping intéresse beaucoup les Canadiens qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario. À l'appui de cette donnée, disons que 14,3% par rapport à 12,7% de tous les touristes canadiens qui ont visité le nord de l'Ontario ont indiqué que la présence de terrains de camping avait joué un rôle primordial dans le choix de leur destination de voyage. Par rapport à tous les touristes canadiens (51,0%), un nombre plus restreint de touristes (47,3%) qui a visité le nord de l'Ontario a indiqué que la présence de terrains de camping n'avait joué aucun rôle dans le choix de leur destination de voyage.

Un créneau pour les activités axées sur la nature

  • Si la majorité des touristes canadiens qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario aime magasiner (vêtements, chaussures et bijoux) et aller dans des restaurants qui servent des plats locaux, ces mêmes activités sont aussi courantes chez la plupart des touristes canadiens. Parmi les activités que mentionnent les touristes canadiens qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario, il y en a un certain nombre qui se déroulent dans la nature (natation dans les lacs, pêche en eau douce, camping et visites de pars naturels provinciaux et nationaux).
    • Il existe donc la possibilité de capitaliser sur les activités spéciales de plein air déjà pratiquées dans le nord, comme la pêche en eau douce.
    • La relaxation en plein air constitue un facteur primordial, puisque 24,6% des touristes canadiens qui ont visité le nord de l'Ontario ont indiqué que les bains et le bronzage sur la plage représentaient la principale raison pour laquelle ils avaient fait un voyage de plus d'une nuit au cours des deux dernières années.
    • L'éloignement du nord est aussi un facteur capital.
    • Toutefois, compte tenu de l'importance qu'occupent des activités comme le magasinage et les sorties au restaurant, il faut mettre l'accent sur le fait que ces dernières existent parallèlement à des activités spéciales dans la nature.

LES FACTEURS LAISSANT PRÉVOIR DES VOYAGES :

  • Le principal marché touristique du nord de l'Ontario comprend les habitants de l'Ontario. Toronto génère non seulement le plus de touristes canadiens qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario (surtout à cause de sa population importante), mais enregistre aussi l'incidence la plus élevée de voyages à destination du nord de l'Ontario.
  • Parmi les facteurs qui laissent prévoir des voyages dans le nord de l'Ontario, citons : la participation à l'une des activités typiques pratiquées dans le du nord de l'Ontario, la pêche en eau douce, à titre de raison principale d'un voyage et la découverte d'endroits inconnus ou moins touristiques.

LES POSSIBILITÉS DE CROISSANCE :

  • Toronto est le principal marché touristique possible du nord de l'Ontario.
  • Parmi les marchés touristiques possibles de deuxième ordre du nord de l'Ontario, citons :
    • Montréal
    • Certaines régions de la Colombie-Britannique (sauf Victoria et Vancouver)
    • Vancouver et Calgary, à un moindre degré
  • On enregistre dans ces régions la plus forte incidence de Canadiens qui n'ont pas visité le nord de l'Ontario. Ces derniers ont accordé une cote supérieure à l'Ontario et ont indiqué qu'au moins l'une des activités typiques du nord de l'Ontario constituait la principale raison pour laquelle ils avaient fait un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.