Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Horseback Riding While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — April 25, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 4.7% (10,506,278) of adult Americans went horseback riding while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. More adult Americans went on a sameday horseback riding excursion (4.6%) than went horseback riding with an overnight stop (0.6%). 24.7% of the Horseback Riders (2,590,739) reported that horseback riding was the main reason for taking at least one trip.

Unlike most other outdoor activity types, Horseback Riders are more likely to be female than male. The majority of horseback Riders range in age from 18 to 54 and they are typically married. They are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have children under 18 living at home. They are very affluent with above-average household incomes and advanced university or post-graduate education. They are over-represented in Alaska and the Pacific, Mountain and East North Central regions of the United States.

Horseback Riders were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken a trip to Canada in the past two years (24.8% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec; however, Horse-Back Riders were over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Horseback Riders were extremely active when on trips during the past two years. They were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to participate in outdoor activities when on trips, and especially equestrian and nature-oriented activities. They exhibit particular interest in wildlife viewing, and hiking, climbing and paddling. They were also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to attend equestrian and western events, garden theme attractions and participate in agro-tourism. Wilderness tours and air tours in airplane or helicopter were also especially popular activities for this segment. Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, Horseback Riders were more likely to have stayed at seaside resorts, public campgrounds, farm or guest ranches, ski or mountain resorts, and wilderness lodges.

Horseback Riders are most likely to consult the Internet when planning a trip and the majority (61.9%) have booked travel online. Horseback Riders are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to read the travel section of weekend newspapers and travel magazines, to watch travel-related television programs and to visit travel-related websites. They are also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to watch science and nature television programs and to read science and geography magazines.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

L'équitation chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 25 avril 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 4,7 % (10,506,278) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures ont fait de l'équitation. Un plus grand nombre a fait une randonnée équestre de moins de 24 heures (4,6 %) qu'une randonnée équestre d'une nuitée (0,6 %). Parmi les touristes qui font de l'équitation (2 590 739), 24,7 % de touristes ont indiqué que l'équitation était la raison principale les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage.

À la différence de la plupart des activités de plein air, l'équitation est d'ordinaire pratiquée par des femmes. La majorité des touristes qui font de l'équitation appartiennent au groupe d'âge des 18 à 54 ans et sont généralement mariés. Ils sont plus susceptibles que la majorité des Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants au foyer de moins de 18 ans. Ils sont très aisés et disposent d'un double revenu de ménage supérieur à la moyenne, et ont fait des études universitaires ou des études supérieures. Les touristes qui font de l'équitation sont surreprésentés en Alaska, dans les États du littoral pacifique, dans les régions montagneuses et dans les régions du Centre Nord-Est des États-Unis.

Les touristes qui font de l'équitation sont plus susceptibles que les Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada au cours des deux dernières années (24,8 % par rapport à 14,6 %),en particulier en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec. Ils sont toutefois surreprésentés parmi tous les touristes américains en voyage d'agrément qui ont visité les provinces et territoires canadiens.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes qui font de l'équitation ont été extrêmement actifs. Ils ont été beaucoup plus susceptibles que les Américains moyens  en voyage d'agrément d'avoir pris part à des activités de plein air, en particulier sports équestres et activités dans la nature. Ils aiment surtout observer la faune, faire des randonnées pédestres, de l'escalade et du pagayage. Comparativement aux Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément, les touristes qui font de l'équitation sont plus susceptibles d'assister à des évènements équestres et de l'Ouest, à des salons du jardinage et à pratiquer l'agrotourisme. Ce segment de marché préfère également les excursions en milieu sauvage et les excursions en avion ou en hélicoptère. Comparativement aux Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément, les touristes qui font de l'équitation sont plus susceptibles d'avoir séjourné dans une station balnéaire, un terrain de camping public, une ferme ou un ranch, une station de ski, une station de montagne ou dans un gîte situé en pleine nature.

Les touristes qui font de l'équitation préfèrent consulter Internet pour planifier leur voyage et la majorité (61,9 %) fait des réservations en ligne. Ils sont plus susceptibles que les Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément de consulter la rubrique sur les voyages dans les jounaux du week-end,  de lire des articles dans des revues touristiques, de regarder des émissions télévisées et de consulter des sites Web portant sur les voyages. Ils sont également plus susceptibles que les Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément de regarder des émissions télévisées scientifiques ou sur la nature, et de lire des revues scientifiques et géographiques.