Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. travel market

Visiting Garden Theme Attractions While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — December 5, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 10.5% (23,307,038) of adult Americans visited garden theme attractions while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. More adult Americans visited botanical gardens (9.1%) than visited garden theme parks (3.2%) while on trips. 20.6% (4,804,719) of those who visited garden theme attractions reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Those who visited garden theme attractions while on trips are slightly more likely to be female than male. Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, they are more likely to be older (58.3% 45 or older) and married without dependent children (18 and younger) living at home. They tend to be well-educated (68.2% university degree or higher) with above-average household incomes ($83,478). They are over-represented in Alaska and the Pacific and Middle Atlantic regions of the United States as well as in large cities.

Over the past two years, those who visited garden theme attractions while on trips traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and they were almost twice as likely to have taken a trip to Canada (28.5% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, however, they were over-represented among U.S. visitors to all Canadian provinces and territories. This segment is a prime target market for Canadian tourism initiatives.

Those who visited garden theme attractions while on trips were much more active than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler in culture and entertainment activities. They were especially more likely to have visited attractions with an educational theme (e.g., science & technology exhibits, aboriginal cultural experiences, archaeological digs), but also enjoy high art performances and fine cuisine. They were also quite active in outdoor activities while traveling including nature-oriented sightseeing (e.g., wildlife viewing) and more strenuous physical activities (e.g., sailing & surfing, cycling). They were much more likely than average to have taken a wide variety of tours and cruises in the past two years. Not surprisingly, this segment seeks vacation destinations that offer novelty, intellectual stimulation, cultural distinctiveness and opportunities to learn.

Those who visited garden theme attractions while traveling were more likely than average to use the Internet to plan (79.3%) and book travel (60.6%) in the past two years. They are avid consumers of travel-related media, however they can also be targeted effectively through media that focuses on home and gardens and natural science as well as radio stations that offer classical, multicultural or jazz music.

Inn the garden Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les amateurs d'attractions paysagères chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 31 août 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 10,5 % (23 307 038) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont visité des attractions paysagères. Un nombre plus grand a visité des jardins botaniques (9,1 %) des parcs paysagers thématiques (3,2 %). Parmi les touristes qui ont visité des attractions paysagères, 20,6 % (4 804 719) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les touristes qui ont visité des attractions paysagères sont légèrement plus susceptibles d'être des femmes. Par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, ils ont tendance à être plus âgés (58,3 % ont 45 ans ou plus), mariés avec des enfants à charge (18 ans ou moins) habitant au foyer, à avoir un haut niveau de scolarité (68,2 % ont un diplôme universitaire ou supérieur) et à disposer d'un revenu supérieur à la moyenne (83 478 $). Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et dans les États du littoral Pacifique et de l'Atlantique centre ainsi que parmi les touristes habitant dans de grandes villes.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes qui ont visité des attractions paysagères ont voyagé plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et étaient presque deux fois plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (28,5% par rapport à 14,6%). Si leurs destinations les plus fréquentes au Canada sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, ils sont toutefois surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans l'ensemble des provinces et territoires, ce qui en fait un excellent marché cible dans le cadre des initiatives canadiennes en matière de tourisme.

Les touristes qui ont visité des attractions paysagères s'intéressent beaucoup plus que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément aux activités culturelles et aux activités de divertissement. Ils sont en particulier beaucoup plus susceptibles de visiter des attractions éducatives (p.ex., expositions scientifiques et technologiques, expériences culturelles autochtones, fouilles archéologiques), mais aiment aussi les arts d'interprétation et la cuisine gastronomique. Ils participent également activement à des activités de plein air, dont visites touristiques dans la nature (p.ex., observation de la faune), et pratiquent des sports exigeants (p.ex., voile, surf et cyclisme). Ils sont  beaucoup plus susceptibles d'avoir fait au cours des deux dernières années toutes sortes d'excursions et de croisières. Rien d'étonnant à ce compte que ce segment recherche des destinations vacances qui lui procurent de la nouveauté, une stimulation intellectuelle, des possibilités de s'instruire et soient d'une culture différente.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes qui ont visité des attractions paysagères ont été plus susceptibles que le touriste moyen d'avoir recours à Internet pour planifier leurs voyages (79,3 %) et faire des réservations (60,6 %). Ce sont d'avides consommateurs des médias touristiques, mais on peut aussi les cibler efficacement dans les médias se spécialisant dans la décoration intérieure, le jardinage et les sciences naturelles ainsi que sur les stations radio de musique classique, multiculturelle et de jazz.