Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Extreme Skiing While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — April 25, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 0.3% (567,211) of adult Americans participated in extreme skiing activities while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Cross-country or back-country skiing as an overnight touring trip (0.2%) was the most popular extreme skiing activity, followed by heli-skiing (0.1%) and ski jouring (0.1%). The majority of those who went extreme skiing (60.2% or 341,549) stated this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Extreme Skiers tend to be male, single and 18 to 34 years of age. This segment is very affluent with above-average education (30.3% with post-graduate degree) and household incomes ($94,788). They are over-represented in Alaska and the Pacific, Mountain, and New England regions of the United States.

Extreme Skiers are frequent travelers and were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken a trip to Canada (37.9% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec; however Extreme Skiers are considerably over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Extreme Skiers were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have participated in a broad range of outdoor activities while on trips. They were particularly likely to have participated in strenuous outdoor activities such as cross-country skiing and snowshoeing, extreme air sports, ‘board and blade' activities (e.g., ice skating, skateboarding), sailing and surfing, and downhill skiing and snowboarding. They were also much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have stayed at a remote or fly-in wilderness lodge or outpost. They pursued culture and entertainment activities while on trips with the same enthusiasm as they pursued outdoor activities, with exceptionally high participation in a broad range of cultural activities and sporting events. Not surprisingly, Extreme Skiers seek vacation destinations that allow them to be physically energized and that offer many opportunities to learn and to enrich their lives.

Most Extreme Skiers use the Internet for trip planning (81.3%) and have booked at least part of a trip online (66.2%) in the past two years. This segment can be targeted most effectively through both traditional travel media and specialty magazines (e.g., photography and video, city lifestyle, outdoor activity and sports, business and finance).

Extreme skiing Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Le ski extrême chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 25 avril 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 0,3 % (567 211) des Américains d'âge adulte, qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont participé à des activités de ski extrême. Un plus grand nombre de skieurs a fait du ski de fond ou du ski dans l'arrière-pays au cours d'une excursion d'une nuitée (0,2 %) que de l'héliski (0,1 %) ou du skijoring (0,1 %). Parmi les skieurs extrêmes (341 549), 60,2 % ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Le skieur extrême est généralement célibataire, du sexe masculin et appartient au groupe d'âge des 18 à 34 ans. Il est très aisé et a un niveau études supérieur à celui de du touriste américain moyen (30,3 % détiennent un diplôme d'études supérieures) et son revenu de ménage est de 94 788 dollars. Il est surreprésenté en Alaska et dans les États du littoral pacifique, dans les régions montagneuses et en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Le skieur extrême voyage souvent. Il est beaucoup plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (37,9 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Il a une préférence marquée pour l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec. Il est toutefois considérablement surreprésenté parmi les touristes américains qui visitent les provinces et les territoires canadiens.

Le skieur extrême est plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir pris part à diverses activités de plein air. Il est plus susceptible d'avoir participé à des activités de plein air ardues comme le ski de fond, la raquette, les sports de l'air extrême, les activités en planche et patins (patinage sur glace, planche à roulettes), la voile et le surf, le ski alpin et la planche à neige. Il est aussi plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir séjourné dans un pavillon ou un camp en milieu sauvage éloigné ou accessible par avion ou hydravion. En voyage, il recherche des activités culturelles et des spectacles avec autant d'engouement que lorsqu'il s'adonne à des activités de plein air. Son taux de participation à tout un éventail d'activités culturelles et d'évènements sportifs est exceptionnellement élevé. Il n'est pas surprenant que le skieur extrême recherche des destinations de vacances qui lui redonnent du tonus, le stimulent intellectuellement et enrichissent sa vie.

La majorité des skieurs extrêmes consultent Internet pour planifier leur voyage (81,3 %) et ont au moins fait une réservation de voyage partielle (66,2 %) au cours des deux dernières années. Les meilleurs outils médiatiques pour toucher les skieurs extrêmes sont probablement les médias touristiques traditionnels et les magazines spécialisés (photographie et vidéo, style de vie urbaine, activités de plein air et sports, affaires et finance).