Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Extreme Air Sports While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — March 9, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 1.3% (2,940,847) of adult Americans participated in an Extreme Air Sport while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Hot air ballooning (0.7%) was the most popular Extreme Air Sport activity, followed by parachuting (0.3%), bungee jumping (0.3%) and hang gliding (0.2%). Among those who participated in an Extreme Air Sport while on a trip, 37.9% (1,115,294) reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip during the past two years.

Those who participated in an Extreme Air Sport while on a trip are predominantly young (18 to 34 years old), single and male. They are more affluent than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler with higher household incomes and post-graduate education.

Those who participated in an Extreme Air Sport while on a trip were more than twice as likely as the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken a trip to Canada in the past two years (32.2% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec. However this sector is over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Travelers in this category seek vacation destinations and activities that provide them with new or unique experiences. They participate in a full range of physically challenging outdoor activities while on trips, and are much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to engage in unusual or skilled outdoor activities, such as extreme skiing, downhill skiing and snowboarding, sailing and surfing, and scuba and snorkelling.

Those who participated in an Extreme Air Sport while on a trip also participate in a variety of cultural and entertainment activities when traveling. They were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to attend sporting events as well as theatre, film and musical festivals, high art performance and rock concerts while on a trip. They were also more likely to have taken part in participatory historical activities, archaeological digs, aboriginal cultural experiences and agro-tourism while traveling.

Those who participated in an Extreme Air Sport while on a trip frequently visit travel-related websites and are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to book travel online. They are also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to read the travel sections in newspapers and travel magazines and to watch travel-related programs on television. Therefore, travel-oriented media are the most effective way to reach this sector of the travel market.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les sports aériens extrêmes chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 9 mars 2007
Sommaire

Dans les deux dernières années, 1,3 % (2 940 847) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs jours, ont participé à un sport aérien extrême. Le vol en montgolfière (0,7 %) était le sport aérien extrême le plus populaire, suivi par le parachutisme (0,3 %), le saut à l'élastique (0,3 %) et le deltaplane (0,2 %). Parmi eux, 37,9 % (1 115 294) ont indiqué qu'un sport aérien extrême était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les touristes qui pratiquent un sport aérien extrême pendant un voyage sont dans l'ensemble jeunes (groupe d'âge des 18-34 ans), célibataires et du sexe masculin. Ils sont aussi plus aisés et disposent d'un revenu de ménage plus élevé que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et ont fait des études du troisième cycle.

Les touristes qui pratiquent un sport aérien extrême pendant un voyage étaient deux fois plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada au cours des deux dernières années (32,2 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Leurs destinations préférées sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec. Toutefois, par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, ils sont surreprésentés dans tout le Canada.

Les touristes appartenant à cette catégorie recherchent des destinations de vacances et des activités qui leur permettent de faire des expériences uniques et nouvelles. En voyage, ils s'adonnent à diverses activités de plein air ardues, et sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de pratiquer des sports inhabituels ou demandant des compétences, comme le ski, le ski alpin et la planche à neige, la voile et le surf, ou la plongée autonome et le snorkelling.

Les touristes qui pratiquent un sport aérien extrême pendant un voyage participent aussi à diverses activités culturelles et assistent à des spectacles. Ils sont particulièrement enclins d'avoir pris part à des évènements sportifs, à des festivals de théâtre, de films ou de musique et d'avoir assister à des concerts rock. Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de se joindre à des activités en groupe sur l'histoire, à des fouilles archéologiques, à des expériences autochtones et des activités d'agro-tourisme.

Les touristes qui pratiquent un sport aérien extrême pendant un voyage consultent des sites touristiques sur Internet et sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de faire des réservations en ligne. Ils sont aussi plus susceptibles que ce dernier de lire la rubrique sur les voyages dans les journaux et des revues touristiques  et de regarder à la télévision des émissions sur les voyages. Par conséquent, ces médias sont très probablement le meilleur outil pour toucher ce secteur du marché touristique.