Travel activities and motivations survey — Canadian travel market

Cross-Country Skiing and Snowshoeing While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — October 26, 2007

Executive Summary

Over the last two years, 6.9% (1,715,769) of adult Canadians went cross-country skiing or snowshoeing while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Cross-country skiing or snowshoeing was the 14th most common outdoor activity undertaken by Canadian Pleasure Travelers while traveling in the past two years. Sameday cross-country skiing (4.6%) and snowshoeing (3.2%) were much more popular than back-country skiing as an overnight touring trip (0.9%). 35.3% (605,715) of Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers cited this activity as the main reason for taking at least one trip.

Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers are more likely to be female (54.0%) and slightly over-represented among those 18 to 34 years of age. They also especially over-represented among Young Singles and Young Couples. They are the most likely of the 21 outdoor activity types to have a university education (44.8%) and their household income ($78,897) is also above-average. They are most commonly live in Quebec.

Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers are frequent travelers. They were the most likely of the 21 outdoor activity types to have taken a trip within their own province or region (96.6%) and the second most likely to have traveled to a non-adjacent province or region (42.4%) in the last two years. They were especially likely to have visited Quebec, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and the Northern Territories in the last two years. Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers are less likely to take out-of-country trips. They were the 14th most likely to have visited the United States (54.9%), the 19th most likely to have visited Mexico (12.3%) and the 10th most likely to have taken a Caribbean trip (18.9%).

Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers were highly active in both outdoor activities and culture and entertainment pursuits while traveling. Relative to the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler, Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers exhibited particular interest in nature-based activities (e.g., hiking, climbing and paddling, wilderness tours) as well as physically challenging winter (e.g., downhill skiing and snowboarding) and summer activities (e.g., sailing and surfing, exercising and jogging). They were also very active in culture pursuits (e.g., literary and film festivals, high art performances, aboriginal cultural experiences) reflecting their keen interest in learning. They seek vacations that are unique and different, intellectually stimulating and physically challenging.

Cross-Country Skiers and Snowshoers are above-average users of the Internet to plan (76.7%) and book travel (49.2%). They were also more likely than others to use guidebooks and official tourism information to plan trips. They can be effectively targeted through the travel media, through nature, outdoors and science media and though news and current events media.

Cross country skiing Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique canadien

Le ski de fond et la raquette chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heure

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche —Le 26 octobre 2007

Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 6,9 % (1 715 769) des Canadiens d'âge adulte qui ont effectué un voyage d'une nuit ou plus ont fait du ski de fond ou de la raquette. Le ski de fond et la raquette viennent au quatorzième rang parmi les activités de plein air les plus communes auxquelles se sont adonnés les touristes canadiens en voyage d'agrément au cours des deux dernières années. La pratique du ski de fond (4,6 %) ou de la raquette (3,2 %) dans le cadre d'un voyage du même jour est beaucoup plus fréquente que celle du ski de randonnée nordique dans le cadre d'un voyage itinérant d'une nuit ou plus (0,9 %). Parmi les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette, 35,3 % (605 715) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage.

Les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette sont en majorité plutôt des femmes (54,0 %), et ils sont légèrement surreprésentés parmi le groupe d'âge des 18 à 34 ans. Ils sont par ailleurs fortement surreprésentés chez les jeunes célibataires et les jeunes couples. Parmi les adeptes des 21 types d'activités de plein air, les touristes qui font du ski de fond ou de la raquette sont les plus susceptibles d'avoir suivi des études universitaires (44,8 %). Leur revenu de ménage (78 897 $) est également supérieur à la moyenne. La plupart d'entre eux vivent au Québec.

Les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette voyagent fréquemment. Parmi les adeptes des 21 types d'activités de plein air, ils sont les plus susceptibles d'avoir effectué un voyage dans leur propre province ou région (96,6 %) et viennent au second rang des voyageurs les plus susceptibles d'avoir effectué un voyage dans une province ou une région non adjacente (42,4 %) au cours des deux dernières années. Ils sont particulièrement susceptibles d'avoir visité le Québec, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la Nouvelle-Écosse et les Territoires du Nord au cours des deux dernières années. Les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette sont moins susceptibles de voyager à l'étranger. Ils représentent le quatorzième groupe de voyageurs le plus susceptible d'avoir visité les États-Unis (54,9 %), le dix-neuvième groupe le plus susceptible d'avoir effectué un voyage au Mexique (12,3 %) et le dixième groupe le plus susceptible d'avoir effectué un voyage aux Caraïbes (18,9 %).

Les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette s'adonnent fréquemment pendant leurs voyages à des activités de plein air, mais aussi culturelles et de divertissement. Comparativement au Canadien moyen en voyage d'agrément, les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette s'intéressent tout particulièrement aux activités axées sur la nature (p. ex., randonnée pédestre, escalade et pagayage; excursions en milieu sauvage) ainsi qu'aux activités exigeantes sur le plan physique, en hiver (p. ex., ski alpin et planche à neige) comme en été (p. ex., voile et surf; exercice physique et jogging). En outre, les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette sont très friands d'activités culturelles (p. ex., festivals littéraires et de cinéma; arts du spectacle; expériences culturelles autochtones) qui reflètent leur grande soif d'apprendre. Ils recherchent des vacances uniques et singulières, intellectuellement stimulantes et exigeantes sur le plan physique.

Les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette consultent Internet pour planifier leurs voyages (76,7 %) et pour faire leurs réservations (49,2 %) plus souvent que la moyenne. Ils sont également plus susceptibles que les autres d'utiliser des guides et des sources d'information touristique officielles pour planifier leurs voyages. Les outils les plus efficaces pour toucher les adeptes du ski de fond et de la raquette sont les médias axés sur les voyages, la nature, les activités de plein air et les sciences, ainsi que les nouvelles et les événements médiatiques d'actualité.