Travel activities and motivations survey - U.S.Travel Market

U.S. Travelers to Canada

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — January 31, 2008
Executive Summary

Over the last two years, 11.2% of adult Americans (24,789,506) took an overnight pleasure trip to Canada. This represents 14.5% of U.S. Pleasure Travelers. Of those who visited Canada, 24.7% reported taking two or more pleasure trips to Canada during the last two years. The majority of U.S. Pleasure Travelers who visited Canada took a trip to Ontario (56.7%). British Columbia (28.3%) was the second most popular Canadian destination followed by Quebec (21.3%) and Nova Scotia (9.2%).

Those who visited Canada tend to be older (59.7% are 45 years of age or older), predominantly married (72.5%) and less likely to have children 18 or younger living at home (76.9%). They are much more likely to have a university education (68.8%) and to report household incomes of $100,000 or more. Accordingly, U.S. visitors to Canada are over-represented among affluent, mature couples.

U.S. Pleasure Travelers who visited Canada are much more active than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler in culture and entertainment pursuits while on trips. They are especially likely to have taken part in participatory, educational activities (e.g., aboriginal cultural experiences), to have visited educational attractions (e.g., museums, science and technology exhibits) and to have attended live art performances (e.g., high art performances, live theatre) while on trips. They were also more likely to have taken part in a wine, beer or food tasting, to have gambled in a casino, to have attended a sporting event and to have attended theatre, film or music festivals. Their cultural pursuits reflect their interest in learning experiences, intellectual stimulation, novelty and live entertainment. Visitors to Canada were also very active in outdoor activities while on trips and especially nature-oriented activities (e.g., wildlife viewing), skiing, resort-based, water activities and fitness activities. They are much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have taken tours and cruises, and especially freshwater and ocean cruises, multi-location, organized tours and tours of wineries, factories and casinos. They prefer vacations in culturally distinctive destinations that provide intellectual stimulation, learning opportunities and novelty.

Those who visited Canada are above-average users of the Internet to plan (77.4%) and booking travel (58.4%). They are also above-average consumers of travel media. They may also be effectively targeted through science, nature and history television programming and magazines, news and current events media, business, finance and investing magazines and classical music and all news / talk / information radio stations.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique
Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages - U.S.Travel Market

Le tourisme américain au Canada

Version en format pdf Le 31 janvier 2008

Rapport de recherche — Le 31 janvier 2008

Sommarie

Au cours des deux dernières années, 11,2 % des Américains d'âge adulte (24 789 506) ont fait un voyage d'agrément de plus de 24 heures au Canada, ce qui représente 14,5 % des touristes Américains. Toujours pendant cette période, 24,7 % d'entre eux ont fait deux voyages d'agrément ou plus au Canada. La majorité des touristes américains qui visitent le Canada font un voyage en Ontario (56,7 %), la Colombie-Britannique (28,3 %) étant la deuxième destination de préférence suivis par le Québec (21,3 %) et la Nouvelle-Écosse (9,2 %).

Les Américains en voyage d'agrément au Canada sont beaucoup plus susceptibles d'habiter des États américains limitrophes, dont l'État de Washington, le Vermont, le Michigan, l'Alaska, le Maine, le Dakota du Nord et l'État de New York. Ils sont aussi surreprésentés parmi ceux qui habitent dans de grandes agglomérations urbaines.

Les Américains en voyage d'agrément au Canada ont tendance à être d'âge mûr (59,7 % ont plus de 45 ans), à être mariés (72,5 %) et sont moins susceptibles que la moyenne d'avoir d'enfants à charge de 18 ans ou moins habitant chez eux (76,9 %). Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles de détenir un diplôme universitaire (68,8 %) et de disposer d'un revenu de ménage de100 000 dollars ou plus. Par conséquent, les Américains qui visitent Canada sont surreprésentés chez les couples aisés et d'âge mûr.

Les Américains en voyage d'agrément au Canada aiment beaucoup plus que le touriste américain moyen les activités culturelles et les divertissements. Ils sont particulièrement portés à participer à des activités éducatives et à caractère participatif (p.ex., expériences culturelles autochtones), de visiter des attractions éducatives (p.ex., musées, expositions scientifiques et techniques) et d'assister à des spectacles sur scène (p.ex., spectacles de musique classique, pièces de théâtre). Ils sont également plus enclins à aimer les dégustations de vins, de bières et de mets, à jouer au casino, à assister à une manifestation sportive et à des festivals de théâtre, du film ou de musique. Leurs choix culturels témoignent de l'intérêt qu'ils portent aux expériences éducatives, à la stimulation intellectuelle, à la nouveauté et aux spectacles sur scène. Ils privilégient beaucoup les activités de plein air, en particulier les activités axées sur la nature (p.ex., observation de la faune), le ski, les activités aquatiques dans les centres de villégiature et le conditionnement physique. Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de faire des excursions et des croisières, en particulier des croisières en eau douce et océaniques, des excursions organisées à plusieurs endroits et des visites de caves vinicoles, d'usines et de casinos. Ils préfèrent les destinations de vacances culturellement distinctes, qui offrent nouveauté, stimulation intellectuelle et possibilités de s'instruire.

Les Américains en voyage d'agrément au Canada utilisent plus que la moyenne Internet pour planifier un voyage (77,4 %) et faire des réservations (58,4 %). Ils aiment aussi plus que la moyenne les médias touristiques. On peut les cibler très efficacement dans des émissions de télévision et des magazines sur les sciences, la nature et l'histoire, les médias d'actualités et d'information, des magazines sur les affaires, la finance et la Bourse et sur les stations de radio de musique classique,  de nouvelles, d'entretiens et d'actualités.