Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Boating and Swimming While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — May 15 , 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 16.2% (35,876,397) of adult Americans participated in freshwater boating and swimming activities while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Swimming in lakes (12.6%) was the most popular activity, followed by motorboating (7.0%) and waterskiing (2.9%). 28.2% (10,100,110) of Boaters and Swimmers reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

The majority of Boaters and Swimmers are 18 to 44 years of age and married. They are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have dependent children (under 18) living at home. Their household income ($80,870) and level of education (60.7% university graduate) tends to be slightly above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska and the West North Central, East North Central and New England regions of the United States.

Over the past two years, Boaters and Swimmers traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and were somewhat more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (19.6% versus 14.6%). The most common destination was Ontario, however Boaters and Swimmers are over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Boaters and Swimmers were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to engage in a wide range of outdoor activities while on trips in the past two years. They were particularly likely to participate in other water-based activities (e.g., hiking, climbing and paddling; sailing and surfing; scuba and snorkelling), sportsmen activities (e.g., fishing; hunting) and winter activities (e.g., downhill skiing and snowboarding; snowmobiling and ATVing). Boaters and Swimmers tend to stay at public campgrounds, or at lakeside or riverside resorts when on a trip. They are also more likely than average to have taken a sightseeing cruise, lake or river cruise or a Great Lakes cruise. Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, Boaters and Swimmers are more likely to go shopping and dining and to visit theme parks and exhibits, historical sites, and fairs and festivals. Boaters and Swimmers tend to seek family-oriented vacations that allow them to enrich family relationships and provide lots of things to see and do for both adults and children.

Most Boaters and Swimmers use the Internet for trip planning (76.6%) and have booked trip components online (54.8%) in the past two years. They are more likely than average to consult official tourism guides and visitor centres. This segment can be targeted most effectively through travel-related websites and magazines and specialty magazines (e.g., outdoor activity and sports, photography and video, family and parenting).

La natation Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les sports de la navigation et de la nage chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le15 mai 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 16,2 % (35 876 397) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont pratiqué des sports de la navigation ou de la nage. Nager dans des lacs (12,6 %) était l'activité la plus populaire, suivie par le motonautisme (7,0 %) et le ski nautique (2,9 %). Parmi les plaisanciers et nageurs, 28,2 % (10 100 110) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

La majorité des plaisanciers et des nageurs sont mariés et âgés de 18 à 44 ans. Ils sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants au foyer de moins de 18 ans. Leur revenu de ménage (80 870 $) et leur niveau de scolarité  (60,7 % détiennent un diplôme universitaire) ont tendance à se situer légèrement au-dessus de la moyenne. Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska, ainsi que dans le Centre Nord-Ouest, le Centre Nord-est et en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les plaisanciers et nageurs ont voyagé plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et étaient un peu plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (19,6 % par rapport à 14,6 %). %). Leurs destinations préférées sont l'Ontario, bien qu'ils soient surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans toutes les régions du Canada.

Les plaisanciers et nageurs sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de s'adonner à une vaste gamme d'activités de plein air pendant un voyage. Ils sont enclins, en particulier, à aimer d'autres activités sur l'eau (p.ex., randonnée pédestre, escalade et pagayage ; voile et surf ; plongée autonome ou plongée avec scuba) ; pêche et chasse et activités hivernales (p.ex., ski alpin et planche à neige ; motoneige et véhicule tout-terrain). Les plaisanciers et nageurs en vacances ont tendance à séjourner dans des terrains de camping publics ou dans des stations de villégiature au bord d'un lac ou d'une rivière. Ils sont également plus susceptibles que la moyenne des touristes d'avoir fait une excursion en bateau, ou une croisière sur un lac, un fleuve ou sur les Grands Lacs. Par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, les plaisanciers et nageurs sont plus susceptibles de magasiner, d'aller au restaurant et de se rendre dans des parcs thématiques et des expositions, des lieux historiques, des foires et des festivals. Les plaisanciers et nageurs ont tendance à rechercher des vacances de type familial qui leur permettent de resserrer les liens familiaux et offrent une vaste gamme de choses à faire et à voir aux adultes et aux enfants.

Au cours des deux dernières années, la plupart des plaisanciers et des nageurs ont planifié leurs voyages sur Internet (76,6 %) et ont réservé en ligne une partie ou une autre de leurs voyages (54,8 %). Ils sont plus susceptibles que  la moyenne des touristes de consulter des guides touristiques officiels et des centres touristiques. Les  meilleurs moyens pour toucher ce segment de marché sont les sites Web, les magazines et les revues spécialisées sur le tourisme, (p.ex., activités de plein air et sports, photographie et vidéo, famille et art d'être parents).