Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Board and Blade While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — April 25,
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 3.1% (6,969,316) of adult Americans participated in board and blade activities while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Ice skating (1.7%) was the most popular activity, followed by inline skating or rollerblading (0.9%), ice hockey (0.6%) and skateboarding (0.5%). Among those who participated, 28.0% (1,992,985) reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip during the past two years.

Board and Bladers are well represented among both women and men and 18 to 44 years of age. The majority are married and they are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have children less than 18 living at home. Their household income and level of education is above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska, and the New England, Middle Atlantic and Pacific regions of the United States.

Over the past two years, Board and Bladers traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and they were more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (26.5% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec; however they are over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Board and Bladers tend to participate in many more activities on their trips than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler. They consider it important that a vacation offers opportunities to see and do something new or different and allows them to be physically challenged and intellectually stimulated. Board and Bladers tend to prefer strenuous outdoor pursuits (e.g., games and individual sports; downhill skiing and snowboarding; team sports; extreme skiing, extreme air sports). They also exhibit an above average interest in sports-related entertainment activities (e.g., professional sporting events, amateur tournaments, national and international sporting events) while on trips. A vacation that combines a variety of physically challenging outdoor activities, learning opportunities and sporting events may have strong appeal for this activity segment.

Board and Bladers were also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to go on cruises and tours when on trips. They tended to stay at seaside resorts or public campgrounds, and they were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have stayed at ski or mountain resorts during the past two years.

The Internet is a key vacation planning tool for Board and Bladers. The large majority have visited travel websites and have booked at least part of a trip online in the past two years. Their media preferences are strongly oriented toward both sports and travel-related media.

Snorwboarding Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les activités en planches et patins chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 25 avril 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 3,1 % (6 969 316) des Américains d'âge adulte, qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont participé à des activités en planches et patins. Ils étaient plus nombreux à faire du patinage sur glace (1,7 %) que du patinage à roues alignées (0,9), du hockey sur glace (0,6 %) et de la planche à roulette (0,5 %). Parmi eux, 28,0 % (1 992 985) ont indiqué que ces activités étaient la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage.

Le planchiste ou le patineur est également un homme ou une femme, marié et appartient au groupe d'âge des 18 à 44 ans. Il est aussi plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants au foyer de moins de 18 ans. Son revenu de ménage et son niveau d'études sont plus élevés que ceux du touriste américain moyen. Il est surreprésenté en Alaska, en Nouvelle-Angleterre, dans l'Atlantique centre et les États du littoral pacifique.

Dans les deux dernières années, le planchiste ou le patineur a voyagé plus souvent que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et est plus susceptible d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (26,5 % par rapport à 14,6 %), en particulier en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec. Il est toutefois surreprésenté parmi tous les touristes américains en voyage d'agrément qui visitent les provinces et territoires canadiens.

Lorsqu'il voyage, le planchiste ou le patineur est plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de s'adonner à beaucoup plus d'activités. Il est à la recherche de voyages qui lui donnent l'occasion de voir et de faire des choses nouvelles, ou sortant de l'ordinaire, présentent des défis physiques et sont intellectuellement stimulants. Le planchiste ou le patineur préfère généralement les activités de plein air ardues (p.ex., jeux et sports individuels; ski alpin et  planche à neige; sports d'équipe; ski extrême, sports aériens extrêmes). En voyage, il s'intéresse plus que les autres touristes aux évènements sportifs (p.ex., sports professionnels, tournois d'amateurs, manifestations sportives canadiennes et internationales). Le planchiste ou le patineur en voyage d'agrément a surtout tendance à rechercher une multitude d'activités de plein air qui présentent à la fois des défis et offrent des occasions d'apprentissage. Il préfère également les évènements sportifs.

Lorsqu'il voyage, le planchiste ou le patineur est par ailleurs plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de faire des croisières ou des excursions. Il est aussi plus enclin à séjourner dans une station balnéaire ou à fréquenter un terrain de camping public. Il est également beaucoup plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir séjourné dans une station de ski ou une station de montagne au cours des deux dernières années.

Internet est un outil de planification de vacances essentiel pour le planchiste ou le patineur. La grande majorité de planchistes ou de patineurs a fait au moins une réservation de voyage partielle en ligne au cours des deux dernières années. En ce qui concerne les médias, il préfère surtout ceux qui se spécialisent dans les sports et les voyages.