Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Canadian Travelers to Alberta

Full report available in pdf format

Canadian Travel Market

A Profile Report — February 1, 2008

Executive summary

Over the last two years, 15.4% of adult Canadians (3,428,894) took an overnight trip from another province to the province of Alberta. 70.9% (2,429,375) of these Alberta trips were "pleasure trips". Among those who took a pleasure trip to Alberta, 46.5% took two or more pleasure trips to Alberta during the last two years. Alberta was the fourth most frequently visited Canadian destination by Canadian Pleasure Travelers who visited other provinces.

Those who visited Alberta are most likely to live in Saskatchewan and, to a lesser extent, British Columbia and Manitoba. Those from Quebec were the least likely to have taken a trip to Alberta.

Relative to the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler, visitors to Alberta are slightly over-represented among those 18 to 34 year olds and among those 55 or older. The majority are married and do not have dependent children 18 or younger living at home. They are more likely to have a university degree and report above-average household incomes. As such, those who visited Alberta are over-represented among young singles and young couples and more mature, affluent couples.

Alberta Visitors are more active than the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler in culture and entertainment activities while on trips. They were especially likely to have attended equestrian and western events as well as sporting events while on trips. Relative to others, visitors to Alberta were also more likely to have taken part in educational, participatory activities and to have visited educational exhibits. They were also very active in outdoor activities while on trips, and especially nature-oriented activities, golfing, downhill skiing and snowboarding and fitness activities. Visitors to Alberta most often stayed in campgrounds or resorts, but were especially likely to have stayed in wilderness settings, ski or mountain resorts and farm or guest ranches.

Alberta Visitors prefer vacations that provide physical challenge, intellectual stimulation, novelty and learning opportunities. They are also more likely to take vacations to renew personal connections with family members and friends and, on occasion, to seek solitude and isolation. These findings suggest that Alberta should promote its unique outdoor recreation activities as well as its western culture to the Canadian marketplace.

Alberta Visitors are above-average users of the Internet to plan (67.9%) and book travel (48.9%). They are only slightly above-average consumers of travel media and may be more effectively reached through country music radio, sports media and magazines pertaining to photography and video, science and geography and crafts, antiques and collectibles.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique canadien

Le tourisme canadien en Alberta

Version en format pdf (en anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 1er février 2008

Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 15,4 % des Canadiens d'âge adulte (3 428 894) habitant une autre province ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures en Alberta. Parmi ces voyages, 70,9 % (2 429 375) étaient des « voyages d'agrément ». Toujours pendant la même période, 46,5 % de ces touristes ont fait deux voyages d'agrément ou plus en Alberta. L'Alberta s'est classé à la quatrième place des destinations canadiennes que les Canadiens en voyage d'agrément ont le plus visitées.

Les Canadiens qui visitent l'Alberta sont plus susceptibles d'habiter en Saskatchewan et, à moindre titre, en Colombie-Britannique et au Manitoba. Les Québécois sont les moins susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage en Alberta.

Par rapport au Canadien moyen en voyage d'agrément, les Canadiens qui visitent l'Alberta sont légèrement surreprésentés chez les18-34 ans et les plus de 55 ans. La majorité est mariée et n'a pas d'enfants à charge âgés de 18 ans ou moins qui habitent au foyer. Ils sont plus susceptibles de détenir un diplôme universitaire et de disposer d'un revenu de ménage supérieur à la moyenne. Par conséquent, ils sont surreprésentés parmi les jeunes célibataires, les jeunes couples et les couples aisés d'âge mûr.

Les Canadiens qui visitent l'Alberta sont plus enclins que le Canadien moyen en voyage d'agrément à rechercher des activités culturelles et des spectacles. Ils sont en particulier enclins à assister à des manifestations équestres et « western » ainsi qu'à des évènements sportifs. Par rapport à d'autres, ils sont très susceptibles de participer à des activités éducatives à caractère participatif et de visiter des expositions éducatives. Ils s'adonnent aussi beaucoup à des activités de plein air, particulièrement des activités axées sur la nature, comme le golf, le ski alpin et la planche à neige, et au conditionnement physique. Ils séjournent le plus souvent dans des campings ou des centres de villégiature, en particulier en milieu sauvage, dans des stations de ski ou de montagne et dans des fermes ou ranchs.

Les Canadiens qui visitent l'Alberta préfèrent des vacances qui leur offrent stimulation physique et intellectuelle, nouveauté et possibilités de s'instruire. Ils sont aussi plus enclins à prendre des vacances pour renouer des liens avec des membres de la famille et des amis ou rechercher la solitude et l'isolement. D'après ces résultats, l'Alberta devrait, semble-t-il, promouvoir ses activités de loisirs uniques et sa culture « western » sur le marché canadien.

Les Canadiens qui visitent l'Alberta utilisent plus que la moyenne Internet pour planifier un voyage (67,9 %) et faire des réservations (48,9 %). Ils se servent à peine un peu plus que la moyenne des médias touristiques. On peut le mieux les cibler sur les stations de radio de musique « country », dans les médias sportifs, les magazines de photographie et de vidéos, ainsi que dans les revues sur les sciences, la géographie, l'artisanat, les antiquités et les objets de collection.