Discovering Ontario: A Report on the Future of Tourism

Supporting Research

The Tourism Competitiveness Study commissioned 13 external studies to better understand the broader issues that impact tourism and to help inform the recommendations of the Discovering Ontario report. Each external study examined a particular issue, from global trends to the impact of our festivals on the economy. Each helped inform the recommendations in the report. They are a valuable resource to the government and industry as we work together to identify future strategies.1

Global Tourism Opportunities Research Study
Deloitte and Touche LLP, 2009

The tourism industry is experiencing global change as competition for tourist dollars intensifies. Deloitte and Touche identified the global trends and drivers of tourism assessed global niche product trends and their relevance to Ontario and identified key tourism measures for the private and public sectors.

Ontario Major Festivals and Events Attraction Research Study
PKF Consulting (with Research Resolutions), 2009

Ontario's festivals and events are a major economic driver for communities across the province. One of the province's goals should be to build and grow this potential to make the province a more attractive tourist destination domestically and internationally. This review and analysis focused on how to develop and enhance festivals and events and to strengthen our profile.

Ontario Tourism Investment Attraction Research Study
HLT Advisory (with the Tourism Company), 2008

Attracting private sector investment into the tourism industry is a challenge in many jurisdictions but it is a key element in any strategy to build tourism product. HLT Advisory studied private sector tourism investment strategies and processes. The results of this research will help advise the Ontario government on how to more aggressively pursue tourism investment and on how to stay in tune with changing marketing and tourist needs.

Ontario Tourism Infrastructure Research Study
Malone Given Parsons Ltd. (with HDR), 2009

Malone Given Parsons and HDR made recommendations about government infrastructure investments that would best help the tourism industry. The research reviewed best practices; conducted stakeholder/expert interviews; reviewed tourism trends and travel flows; identified infrastructure gaps; examined capital funding programs; and analyzed Ontario's travel information service infrastructure.

Ontario Tourism Product Assessment Research Study
Deloitte and Touche LLP, 2009

Because tourism product is a foundation of the industry, research was commissioned to examine which existing Ontario tourism products are most effective at meeting customer expectations. Deloitte & Touche was also asked to look at which product types have the greatest potential to attract people and encourage spin-off economic activity.

Ontario Way-finding Research Study
Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization and Leadership), 2009

Way-finding is more than just signs. Some jurisdictions recognize that by improving how people find their way, visitors' experiences are more memorable. Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization and Leadership) made recommendations on options to improve local tourist-oriented way-finding.

Ontario Tourism Industry Structure Assessment Research Study
Deloitte and Touche LLP, 2009

The structure and effectiveness of Ontario's tourism industry and its organizations is crucial to the industry's success. Deloitte and Touche identified best practice models for industry organization and mobilization and developed a strategic framework for marketing in Ontario.

Ontario Tourism Market Assessment Research Study
TNS Canadian Facts, 2009

TNS identified the high potential markets for Ontario tourism. TNS looked at domestic markets, adjacent and further afield U.S. markets, other potential markets and high potential international growth markets. They reviewed available data for expenditure projections for various potential markets and identified consumer segments within those markets.

Ontario Mix of Tourism Marketing and Promotion Research Study
TNS Canadian Facts, 2009

One of the current challenges faced by Ontario's tourism marketers is how to fully embrace non-traditional and best prospect marketing approaches. Other successful destination marketers have tended to focus on the entire consumer experience (from home and back) rather than just the destination's tourism offering. TNS identified the best mix of marketing tools to promote Ontario successfully. They conducted a literature review; an analysis of best practices; an analysis of Ontario's current mix of marketing/promotion; and stakeholder/expert interviews.

Ontario Reducing Barriers to Tourism Business Research Study
Pareto Consulting Inc. (with HLT Advisory), 2009

In consultations with industry members, many operators expressed concern about the impact that government legislation, regulation and enforcement activities have on their businesses. To better understand this area of concern, Pareto and HLT examined the regulatory burdens on the tourism industry with the objective of reducing the key barriers that impact the tourism industry's economic activity.

Ontario Product Distribution Research Study
Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization and Leadership), 2009

Market shifts have triggered profound changes in how tourism product is distributed today and will be in the future. Factors affecting the industry include the use of technology and the Internet, the availability of multiple sources of information to make bookings and price sensitivity. Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization and Leadership) reviewed how Ontario's tourism product is distributed to various markets and examined how other successful tourist destinations are distributing vacation experiences to visitors. They proposed approaches for how industry and government could improve and build distribution channels and develop a framework for how government and industry can work better together to package tourism product.

Ontario Cultural and Heritage Tourism Product Research Study
Lord Cultural Resources with Brain Trust Marketing and Communications, 2009

Lord Cultural Resources advised on how to develop and position Ontario as a significant cultural tourism destination on the world stage. They analyzed successful cultural tourism attractions and best practices worldwide.

Role of Government in Tourism Research Study
Deloitte and Touche LLP, 2009

To better understand how government can help increase tourism's capacity and profile as an economic driver and an important component of economic development, Deloitte and Touche reviewed practices in other leading "best in class" jurisdictions.

Although copyright in the research papers is held by the Queen's Printer for Ontario, the papers were prepared by external companies and their conclusions do not necessarily represent the views of the Government of Ontario. The research papers were commissioned by the Ontario Ministry of Tourism for the Tourism Competitiveness Study and as such their conclusions are intended for this purpose only and shall not be relied-upon by third parties.

À la découverte de l'Ontario

Recherches complémentaires

Le ministère a commandé 13 études externes complémentaires à l'Étude sur la compétitivité de l'industrie du tourisme afin de mieux comprendre les questions générales qui influent sur le tourisme et d'orienter les recommandations présentées dans le rapport À la découverte de l'Ontario. Chaque étude externe était consacrée à un thème particulier, des tendances mondiales aux retombées économiques des festivals existants. Ces études ont orienté la formulation des recommandations présentées dans le rapport et constituent des ressources utiles pour le gouvernement et l'industrie pour l'établissement de stratégies1.

Étude sur les possibilités touristiques mondiales
Deloitte and Touche LLP, 2009

L'industrie touristique connaît une transformation mondiale tandis que la concurrence s'intensifie pour obtenir les recettes du tourisme. Deloitte & Touche a établi les tendances mondiales et les facteurs essentiels influant sur le tourisme, a évalué les tendances mondiales relatives aux produits spécialisés et leur pertinence pour l'Ontario et a déterminé les principales initiatives touristiques pour les secteurs privé et public.

Étude sur l'attraction de festivals et de manifestations de premier plan en Ontario
PKF Consulting (avec Research Resolutions), 2009

Les festivals et les manifestations tenus en Ontario sont un moteur économique pour les collectivités de toute la province. L'un des objectifs de cette dernière devrait être d'accroître ce potentiel afin que l'Ontario devienne une destination touristique plus attrayante pour les voyageurs canadiens et étrangers. Cet examen et cette analyse étaient axés sur les mesures à prendre pour développer les festivals et les manifestations en Ontario et pour mieux faire connaître la province.

Étude sur l'attraction d'investissements touristiques en Ontario
HLT Advisory (avec the Tourism Company), 2008

Attirer des investissements du secteur privé vers l'industrie touristique est un défi dans de nombreux endroits, mais c'est un élément indispensable de toute stratégie visant à renforcer le produit touristique. HLT Advisory a étudié les processus et les stratégies d'investissement touristique du secteur privé. Les résultats de cette étude aideront à conseiller le gouvernement de l'Ontario sur la voie à suivre pour rechercher plus activement des investissements touristiques et pour se tenir au fait de l'évolution des besoins dans le domaine du marketing et du tourisme.

Étude sur l'infrastructure touristique ontarienne
Malone Given Parsons Ltd. (avec HDR), 2009

MGP et HDR ont fait des recommandations sur les investissements du gouvernement dans l'infrastructure qui profiteraient le plus à l'industrie du tourisme. Ils ont examiné les pratiques exemplaires, interrogé des intervenants et des experts, examiné les tendances du tourisme et les flux de voyageurs, déterminé les lacunes en matière d'infrastructure, examiné les programmes de financement des immobilisations et analysé l'infrastructure des services d'information touristique de l'Ontario.

Étude d'évaluation des produits touristiques ontariens,
Deloitte & Touche LLP, 2009

Le produit touristique étant à la base de l'industrie, cette recherche a été commandée afin de déterminer les produits touristiques ontariens qui répondent le mieux aux attentes de la clientèle. Deloitte & Touche a cerné les types de produits qui ont le plus de chances d'attirer les visiteurs et de générer des retombées économiques.

Étude consacrée à l'orientation en Ontario
Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization & Leadership), 2009

L'orientation va plus loin que la simple signalisation. Certaines administrations sont d'avis qu'en faisant en sorte que les visiteurs trouvent facilement leur chemin, on rend leur expérience plus mémorable. Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization and Leadership) a formulé des recommandations sur la manière d'améliorer l'orientation à l'intention des touristes.

Étude d'évaluation de la structure de l'industrie touristique ontarienne
Deloitte & Touche LLP, 2009

La structure et l'efficacité de l'industrie touristique ontarienne et de ses organisations sont cruciales pour sa réussite. Deloitte & Touche a défini des modèles fondés sur des pratiques exemplaires pour l'organisation et la mobilisation de l'industrie, et a conçu un cadre stratégique de marketing pour l'Ontario.

Étude d'évaluation des marchés touristiques ontariens
TNS Canadian Facts, 2009

TNS a défini les marchés à fort potentiel pour le tourisme ontarien. L'entreprise s'est penchée sur les marchés intérieurs, les marchés étatsuniens voisins et autres, les autres marchés éventuels ainsi que sur les marchés étrangers en croissance et à fort potentiel. TNS a aussi examiné les données relatives aux prévisions des dépenses pour divers marchés éventuels et a défini les segments de consommateurs au sein de ces marchés.

Étude sur le dosage de marketing et de promotion touristiques en Ontario,
TNS Canadian Facts, 2009

L'un des défis auquel les spécialistes du marketing touristique de l'Ontario sont actuellement confrontés est de trouver la meilleure façon d'adopter des approches de marketing non traditionnelles et les approches les plus prometteuses. Certains spécialistes performants en matière de marketing de destinations se sont surtout concentrés sur l'ensemble de l'expérience du consommateur (de son départ du lieu de résidence à son retour) plutôt que sur l'offre touristique de la destination. TNS a défini le meilleur ensemble d'outils de marketing pour promouvoir efficacement l'Ontario. Le cabinet a réalisé une analyse documentaire, une analyse des pratiques exemplaires, une analyse des activités de marketing et de promotion actuelles ainsi que des entrevues avec des intervenants et des experts.

Étude sur la réduction des obstacles au secteur touristique ontarien
Pareto Consulting Inc. (avec HLT Advisory), 2009

Au cours des consultations avec les membres de l'industrie, de nombreux exploitants ont exprimé des inquiétudes sur l'incidence de la législation, de la réglementation et des activités connexes d'application du gouvernement sur leurs activités. Pour mieux comprendre ces inquiétudes, Pareto et HLT ont examiné le fardeau réglementaire pesant sur l'industrie du tourisme en vue de réduire les principaux obstacles qui entravent l'activité économique dans ce secteur.

Étude sur la distribution des produits ontariens,
Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization & Leadership), 2009

Les changements qu'ont connus les marchés ont profondément transformé le mode actuel et futur de distribution des produits touristiques. Des facteurs comme les nouvelles technologies et Internet, l'accès à de nombreuses sources d'information pour faire des réservations et la sensibilité au prix influent sur l'industrie. Oliver Wyman (Delta Organization & Leadership) a étudié les modes de distribution des produits touristiques de l'Ontario dans divers marchés et la façon dont d'autres destinations touristiques performantes font vivre l'expérience des vacances aux visiteurs. Le cabinet a suggéré des mesures que l'industrie et le gouvernement pourraient prendre pour mettre en place de nouveaux canaux de distribution et améliorer les canaux existants, et pour collaborer de manière plus fructueuse à la mise en forme des produits touristiques.

Étude sur les produits touristiques culturels et patrimoniaux de l'Ontario
Lord Cultural Resources avec Brain Trust Marketing & Communications, 2009

Lord Cultural Resources a fait des suggestions sur la manière dont l'Ontario pourrait se développer et se positionner comme une destination importante de tourisme culturel sur la scène mondiale. Le cabinet a analysé les attractions populaires dans le domaine du tourisme culturel et les pratiques exemplaires dans le monde.

Étude sur le rôle du gouvernement dans le secteur du tourisme
Deloitte & Touche LLP, 2009

Pour mieux comprendre comment le gouvernement peut soutenir l'accroissement de la capacité et l'image du tourisme comme un moteur économique et un élément important du développement économique, Deloitte & Touche a étudié les pratiques suivies dans des administrations qui remportent un franc succès.

Bien que l'imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario possède les droits d'auteur sur ces travaux de recherche, ceux-ci ont été réalisés par des entreprises externes, et leurs conclusions ne représentent pas nécessairement l'opinion du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Les recherches ont été commandées par le ministère du Tourisme de l'Ontario pour l'Étude sur la compétitivité de l'industrie du tourisme de l'Ontario. Les conclusions tirées ne servent que cette fin, et les tiers ne devraient pas se fonder sur elles.