Ontario Place Statement of Cultural Heritage Value

Description of the property

Ontario Place is located off the shore of Lake Ontario on Toronto’s western waterfront. The 63 hectare land and water lot property (28 hectares land, 35 hectares water) is located directly south of Exhibition Place. The site consists of two artificially-made islands linked to the waterfront via a network of structures (entry plazas, pedestrian bridges and pathways) and the public entry gates from the waterfront trail. The core area features the iconic Cinesphere and Pavilion, as well as the crystalline forms of three village clusters set within the prominent naturalized landscape, canals, lagoons and a centrally-located marina. The property boundary extends 330 metres west and 25 metres east from the edges of the islands into Lake Ontario, north to Lake Shore Boulevard and south to the end of the marina breakwater.

Ontario Place was listed in 1994 by the International Committee for Documentation and Conservation of Buildings of the Modern Movement (DOCOMOMO International) on its inventory of significant international works of the Modern Movement.

Vision statement

Ontario Place, opened in 1971, was conceived by former Premier, the Honorable John Robarts, as a showplace for the province’s identity, culture and economic growth. Ontario Place was designed as an inclusive public entertainment, educational and recreational space and programmed to reflect the province’s people, culture and geography, as well as a vision for the province’s future.

Ontario Place featured innovative new landforms and structures built on Toronto’s waterfront, reshaping the relationship between the urban landscape and Lake Ontario. Ontario Place, a cultural heritage landscape, remains a rare and intact Modernist expression of integrated architecture, engineering and landscape that honours and incorporates the natural setting of Lake Ontario. It was a remarkable and ambitious achievement of late twentieth century architecture, and holds an enduring influence in Toronto, the province and internationally.

Heritage Value

Ontario Place is a cultural heritage landscape of provincial significance.

Contextual and historical value

Ontario Place, a significant provincial public works project of the Canadian Centennial era, reflects a time of prosperity and social development in Ontario which began after the Second World War. The development occurred at a time of dynamic economic expansion and urbanization, of optimism and confidence, of new intellectual and cultural life within the province.

Ontario Place is a response to the success of the temporary Ontario Pavilion at Expo’ 67 in Montreal, as well as a reflection of the provincial government’s commitment to investing in cultural identity through public entertainment and educational facilities and public agencies including but not limited to the Ontario Science Centre and Fort William Historical Park.

The site in its entirety — integrating innovative approaches to planning, landscape, architecture, engineering and educational programming — represents a bold visionary statement of its time realized at a scale and quality that earned international recognition and admiration. Ontario Place has strong associations with the politicians and civil servants who shaped the idea and provided the resources, and with the designers who translated those ideas into reality. Associations are held with former Premier, the Honourable John Robarts, and provincial civil servant Jim Ramsay, Royal Architectural Institute of Canada gold medalist architect Eberhard Zeidler, landscape architect Michael Hough and play structure architect and pioneer Eric McMillan.

As an entertainment, educational and recreational centre serving the entire province, Ontario Place has attracted millions of visitors since its opening in 1971 and has remained a familiar and iconic landmark for many Ontarians and visitors. The site was intended as a place for a diverse and multi-generational audience experience.

Design value

Ontario Place is a rare surviving example of a designed cultural heritage landscape within the international modernist movement of the late twentieth century. The site created a uniquely integrated environment for entertainment, education and recreation.

The core area of Ontario Place (see map) remains relatively intact and embodies the modernist design vision of interconnected geometries. This is demonstrated in the megastructure forms of both the Cinesphere and pods with their interconnecting walkways, as well as the more modest crystalline modular forms of the three village clusters, designed as gathering places for visitors. These structures are set against an ecological landscape of naturalized landforms, a range of water features, including canals, lagoons and a marina, offering various intimate and compelling views within its designed space.

This particular combination of elements constitutes one of the most important expressions of late twentieth century modernism in the history of the province — the naturalized landforms, on the cutting edge of new ecological design interests; the Cinesphere with its triodetic dome and pioneering IMAX technology; the Pavilion, comprised of five interconnected pods with their tensile structural arrangement; the Forum and the Children's Village play area with their new forms of public engagement (both no longer in existence); and the overall programming designed to change the public perception of Toronto’s waterfront.

Heritage Attributes

There exist a number of contextual and design attributes on the site that individually and collectively contribute to the provincial cultural heritage value of Ontario Place. The historical values are woven throughout the site and landscape, and expressed in the attributes described below.

Contextual attributes

The following attributes are expressed throughout the site, and continue to represent the original ideas behind the creation of Ontario Place:

  • Bold redefinition of the relationship between city and lake, with an integrated approach to architecture, engineering, landscape and waterscape.
  • Innovative integration of design and programming – the landforms, structures and plazas that reflect the vision of Ontario Place as a centre for recreation, education, entertainment and public gathering.
  • A public works project dedicated to the people of Ontario as commemorated in a plaque at the main entrance.
  • A geometric and technologically innovative series of interconnected structures, including buildings, bridges and pods set against the naturalized surroundings of mature trees and native plant species.
  • The shaping of the landforms to create an integrated series of lagoons and canals, as well as naturalized shorelines open to the larger expanse of Lake Ontario, creating both close-range and distant relationships between land and water.
  • Pathways with constructed views into and out of the site, to and from the urban landscape to the north and to the open expanse of Lake Ontario.
  • The views within the core area, as part of the various pathways for movement on land, on water and within the megastructure components.

Design attributes

The following attributes are located in the core area of Ontario Place and represent the innovative and iconic elements of the site as reflected in the structures, the integration of the architecture with the landscape and the water features:

  • The highly geometric architecture of the Pavilion, the Cinesphere and the connecting walkways and bridges, composed of glass and steel detailing (such as columns, beams, braces) in modern architectural style.
  • The triodetic structural system of the Cinesphere with its iconic spherical shape and screen design to host the innovative IMAX projection system.
  • The Pavilion, with its five mast-hung pods, each projecting up out of the open water and connected by long-span suspended walkways.
  • The flexible interiors and usable roof spaces of the five pods.
  • The public gathering spaces connected to the three village clusters, with their modernist crystalline modular forms.
  • The varying scale of the complementary built structures — from the prominent Cinesphere to the more modest village clusters.
  • A public entrance with a connection to two west bridges and the presence of Ontario Place branding/wayfinding signage.
  • Designed localized microclimates, using landscaping, trees and indigenous plant materials.
  • The walkways, trails, lagoons and the two west bridges (linking to the west island and the Pavilion) that connect discrete activity areas throughout the site and encourage a pedestrian experience.
  • The design of the breakwaters, fashioned from sunken lake ships.
  • The water features— the marina, the pavilion bay, the inner channel — that help shape entirely new landforms, and that provide a setting for the movement of small watercraft.

Map of Heritage Place

map of Ontario Place displaying highlighted region of the core area

Note: For illustrative & discussion purposes only

Accueil arrow Revitalisation de la Place de l'Ontario arrow La Place de l’Ontario Déclaration de la valeur sur le plan du patrimoine culturel

 

La Place de l’Ontario Déclaration de la valeur sur le plan du patrimoine culturel

Description du bien

La Place de l’Ontario se situe près de la rive du Lac Ontario, dans le secteur riverain occidental de Toronto. La propriété de 63 hectares, où s’enchaînent terrains et plans d’eau (28 hectares de terrains et 35 hectares de plans d’eau), se situe directement au sud de l’Exhibition Place. Le site est composé de deux îles artificielles reliées à la rive par un réseau d’installations (esplanades, ponts et chemins piétonniers) et par les barrières d’accès au public depuis le sentier riverain. Au centre de la Place de l’Ontario se trouvent la Cinésphère et le pavillon, ainsi que trois groupes de villages dont la forme rappelle celle de cristaux, intégrés dans un environnement naturalisé qui comporte des canaux, des lagons et une marina, au centre du site. Le bien s’étend sur 330 mètres à l’ouest et sur 25 mètres à l’est des extrémités des îles du Lac Ontario, jusqu’au boulevard Lake Shore vers le nord et jusqu’au bout du brise-lame de la marina vers le sud.

En 1994, le Comité international pour la documentation et la conservation des édifices, sites et ensembles urbains du mouvement moderne (DOCOMOMO International) a inscrit la Place Ontario à son registre d’importantes réalisations du mouvement moderne.

Énoncé de vision

La Place de l’Ontario, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1971, a été imaginée par l’honorable John Robarts, ancien premier ministre. Il voulait qu’elle soit une vitrine de l’identité de la province, de sa culture et de sa croissance économique. La Place de l’Ontario a été conçue comme un espace public inclusif où se côtoient divertissement, éducation et loisirs. La programmation qui y a eu lieu se voulait d’être le reflet de la population, de la culture et de la diversité géographique de la province, tout en présentant une vision de son futur.

La Place de l’Ontario comportait de nouvelles formes de reliefs et de constructions situées à même le secteur riverain de Toronto, qui ont réinventé la relation entre le paysage urbain et le Lac Ontario. La Place Ontario, véritable paysage du patrimoine culturel, demeure l’un des rares exemples d’expression moderniste où architecture, ingénierie et paysagisme unissent leurs forces pour mettre en valeur le paysage naturel du Lac Ontario et pour s’y intégrer. Cette ambitieuse réalisation constitue un exemple remarquable de l’architecture de la fin du XXe siècle, et continue d’exercer son influence à Toronto, dans la province et dans le monde entier.

Valeur patrimoniale

La Place Ontario est un paysage du patrimoine culturel dont l’importance se fait ressentir à l’échelle de la province.

Valeur contextuelle et historique

La Place Ontario, un important projet provincial de travaux publics de l’ère du centenaire du Canada, est le reflet d’une époque de prospérité et de développement social en Ontario, qui commença après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. La construction s’est déroulée au cours d’une période dynamique d’expansion sur le plan économique, d’urbanisation. Il régnait un sentiment d’optimisme, de confiance et une nouvelle vie intellectuelle et culturelle commençait dans la province.

La Place Ontario a été construite en réponse au succès du pavillon de l’Ontario présenté à l’Expo 67, à Montréal. Elle est aussi le reflet de l’engagement du gouvernement provincial, qui consistait à investir dans l’identité culturelle en misant sur les loisirs de la population, la construction d’installations éducatives et la formation d’organismes publics. Le Centre des sciences de l’Ontario et le parc historique Fort William sont d’autres exemples d’investissements de cette nature.

Dans son ensemble, le site, qui intègre des approches innovantes en matière de planification, d’aménagement du paysage, d’architecture, d’ingénierie et de programmes éducatifs, communique le message audacieux et visionnaire de son époque, concrétisé à une échelle et d’une qualité qui lui ont valu reconnaissance et admiration sur le plan international. La Place Ontario est fortement liée aux politiciens et aux fonctionnaires qui l’ont imaginée et qui ont fourni les ressources nécessaires à sa construction ainsi qu’aux concepteurs qui sont parvenus à la concrétiser. On l’associe à l’honorable John Robarts, ancien premier ministre, au fonctionnaire provincial Jim Ramsay, à l’architecte Eberhard Zeidler, détenteur d’une médaille d’or de l’Institut royal d’architecture du Canada, à Michael Hough, architecte paysagiste et à Eric McMillan, architecte de structures ludiques et pionnier dans ce domaine.

En sa qualité de centre récréatif de divertissement et d’enseignement desservant la province tout entière, la Place Ontario a accueilli des millions de visiteurs depuis l’ouverture de ses portes, en 1971, et demeure un lieu emblématique aux yeux de ses visiteurs et de la population ontarienne. Le site a été conçu comme un lieu destiné à un public de tous âges et de toutes cultures.

Valeur sur le plan de la conception

La Place Ontario est un rare exemple d’un paysage aménagé du patrimoine culturel qui s’inscrit dans le mouvement moderniste international de la fin du XXe siècle. Le site constituait un environnement unique où s’intégraient divertissement, enseignement et loisirs.

Le secteur central de la Place Ontario (voir la carte) demeure relativement intact. Sa conception concrétise une vision moderniste de formes géométriques interconnectées. Cela est visible dans les grandes structures qui composent la Cinésphère et les nacelles, reliées par des passerelles, ainsi que dans les structures en forme de cristal, plus petites, qui composent les trois groupes de villages, conçus comme des lieux de rassemblement pour les visiteurs. Ces structures se trouvent dans un paysage écologique composé de formes de relief imitant la nature, où des éléments aquatiques, notamment des canaux, des lagons et une marina, contribuent à créer des vues saisissantes du site.

Cette unique combinaison d’éléments fait que ce site figure parmi les plus importantes oeuvres du modernisme de la fin du XXe siècle de l’histoire de la province – les formes de relief imitant la nature, à la fine pointe de tendances en matière de design écologique; la Cinésphère et son dôme à ossature triangulaire, qui a été pionnière de la technologie IMAX; le pavillon, composé de cinq nacelles reliées entre elles et dont la disposition évoque une tension structurelle; le Forum et l’aire de jeux, le Village des enfants, qui ont donné lieu à de nouvelles formes de participation publique (ils n’existent plus); et les programmes qui avaient pour but de changer la perception que le public avait du secteur riverain.

Attributs Patrimoniaux

Un certain nombre d’attributs contextuels et relatifs à la conception font partie du site. Ils contribuent à sa valeur sur le plan du patrimoine culturel provincial de la Place Ontario, à titre individuel ou collectif. Des éléments de valeur historique sont intégrés à l’ensemble du site et du paysage, et on les retrouve dans les attributs décrits ci-dessous :

Attributs contextuels

Les attributs suivants se retrouvent dans l’ensemble du site et continuent d’exprimer les idées originales qui sont à l’origine de la création de la Place Ontario :

  • une redéfinition audacieuse de la relation entre la ville et le lac, qui adopte une approche intégrée en matière d’architecture, d’ingénierie et d’aménagement du paysage terrestre et aquatique;
  • une audacieuse harmonie du design et de la programmation – les formes de relief, les structures et les esplanades sont le reflet d’une vision de la Place Ontario qui consistait à en faire un lieu de loisirs, d’enseignement, de divertissement et de rassemblement;
  • un projet de travaux publics dédié aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens et commémoré par une plaque située à l’entrée principale;
  • une série de structures reliées entre elles qui sont innovantes aussi bien sur le plan géométrique que sur le plan technologique, qui comprend notamment des bâtiments, des passerelles et des nacelles en avant-plan d’un paysage naturalisé agrémenté d’arbres matures et d’espèces végétales indigènes;
  • l’aménagement et le modelé des formes de relief, qui créent une série de lagons et de canaux intégrés au paysage, ainsi que les rives naturalisées qui donnent sur le Lac Ontario, ce qui engendre un rapport entre terre et eau qui est à la fois proche et lointain;
  • les sentiers ponctués de points de vue tournés vers l’intérieur et ouverts sur l’extérieur du site; des panoramas d’un paysage urbain, vers le nord, ainsi que des panoramas qui sont tournés vers la vaste étendue d’eau qu’est le Lac Ontario;
  • les points de vue situés dans le secteur central, partie intégrante des divers sentiers nécessaires aux déplacements terrestres, et les points de vue sur l’eau depuis les grandes structures.

Attributs sur le plan de la conception

On retrouve des attributs sur le plan de la conception dans le secteur central de la Place de l’Ontario. Ils correspondent aux éléments novateurs et emblématiques suivants du site et on les retrouve dans les structures ainsi que dans l’intégration des éléments architecturaux avec le paysage terrestre et aquatique :

  • l’architecture très géométrique du pavillon, de la Cinésphèere et des passerelles et des ponts les reliant, composés de verre et d’acier apparent (p. ex., colonnes, poutres, contreventements) caractéristiques du style architectural moderne;
  • le système structurel à ossature triangulaire de la Cinésphère, dont la forme sphérique est emblématique, et dont la conception de l’écran permit d’employer l’innovant système de projection IMAX;
  • le pavillon et ses cinq nacelles fixées à des mats les hissant hors de l’eau et qui sont reliées par des passerelles à longue portée;
  • les espaces intérieurs flexibles et les toits aménagés des cinq nacelles;
  • les espaces de rassemblement public reliés aux trois groupes de villages, aux formes modernistes modulaires qui évoquent des cristaux;
  • les différentes envergures des bâtiments et des structures complémentaires, qui comprennent la Cinésphère, qui domine, et les groupes de villages, plus petits;
  • une entrée du public reliée aux deux ponts vers l’ouest et la présence de panneaux de signalisation qui affichent la marque « Place de l’Ontario »;
  • des microclimats artificiels, qui se forment en conséquence de l’aménagement du paysage et de l’agencement d’arbres et de plantes indigènes;
  • les passerelles, les sentiers, les lagons et les deux ponts vers l’ouest (reliant l’île occidentale et le pavillon) qui relient les aires d’activités distinctes du site et qui mettent l’accent sur une expérience pédestre;
  • la conception du brise-lame, réalisé avec des navires qui ont coulé au fond du lac;
  • le paysage aquatique (la marina, la baie du pavillon, le canal intérieur) qui contribue à façonner de nouvelles formes de relief, et qui permet le déplacement de petites embarcations.

Carte du lieu patrimonial

Carte du lieu patrimonial

Nota: La carte n'est incluse qu'à des fins d'illustration et de discussion.