Books and CD-ROM Home arrow Culture arrow Libraries

Resources for Ontario's public libraries

The American Library Association website includes diverse resources useful to the public library community.

The Canadian Library Association website provides information about the association, its services, events and publications.

Federation of Ontario Public Libraries strategic focus includes advocacy, research and development, marketing and consortia purchasing. The Federation ensures issues facing public libraries are presented to government in a consistent manner benefiting all Ontario public libraries.

The Sound Practices in Library Services to Aboriginal Peoples: Integrating Relationships, Resources and Realities (August 2009)

Funding for public libraries

Ontario Public Library Guidelines

These guidelines provide public libraries of all sizes with a framework for development, help in planning processes, improved accountability to taxpayers, equity of access to information for the public and secured funding.

They were developed and directed by the Ontario public library community to improve the quality of public library service across the province and address recommendations of the 1990 Ontario Public Library Strategic Plan by:

  • Improving our public library infrastructure so it connects libraries and enhances local service
  • Ensuring a uniform and strong public library infrastructure
  • Making a comprehensive improvement process available to public libraries that do not meet Guidelines requirements
  • Developing a voluntary accreditation process that recognizes the achievement of public libraries that meet Guideline requirements.

To earn a Certificate of Accreditation, a library's peers must evaluate it on some 127 guideline points (such as audit policy, planning, resources, and services), and award a score of 90 percent. Public libraries that received Accreditation or Re-Accreditation (meaning they met or exceeded Guidelines requirements) in 2009 included Champlain Township, Englehart, Grand Valley, Kenora, Leeds and 1000 Islands, Middlesex County, and Penetanguishene.

The Ontario Public Library Guidelines Monitoring and Accreditation Council that directs the Guidelines program includes representatives from Ontario public library organizations, the Ontario Library Service agencies and the ministry. It is chaired by an Ontario public library community representative.

The Ontario Library Association is Ontario's oldest and largest library association. The association provides opportunity for people in the library sector to associate, to meet,to share experience and expertise, and to create innovative solutions in a constantly changing environment.

The Ontario Library Service includes two non-scheduled agencies of this ministry – the Ontario Library Service-North and the Southern Ontario Library Service. These agencies provide a wide range of support programs and services to public libraries throughout northern and southern Ontario, excluding Metropolitan Toronto, on behalf of this ministry. Their mandate is to:

  • Increase cooperation and coordination among public library boards and other information providers
  • Promote the provision of library services to the public by assisting public library boards with services and programs that reflect their needs, including consulting, training and development services.

The Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing website provides access to provincial information of a municipal nature (for example information on municipal restructuring orders). This information is useful to public libraries, as they are local boards of municipalities.

Third Generation Public Libraries

This report was commissioned by this Ministry to help it update its policy framework for supporting public libraries. It examines how visionary thinking and services could apply to Ontario's public libraries by 2020.

Other provincial public library resources

Books and CD-ROM Accueil arrow La culture arrow Les bibliothèques publiques

Ressources pour les bibliothèques publiques

Le site Web de l'American Library Association permet d'accéder à une vaste gamme de ressources destinées aux bibliothèques publiques.

Le site Web de l'Association canadienne des bibliothèques fournit des renseignements sur l'Association, ses services, ses activités et ses publications.

Les actions de défense et de promotion, la recherche-développement, le marketing et les achats en consortium sont parmi les activités stratégiques centrales de la Fédération des bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario. La Fédération veille à ce que les questions qui se posent aux bibliothèques publiques soient présentées au gouvernement d'une manière cohérente, qui profite à toutes les bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario.

Pratiques exemplaires des services de bibliothèque offerts aux communautés autochtones (août 2009)

Financement des bibliothèques publiques

Lignes directrices pour les bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario

Ces lignes directrices offrent à l'ensemble des bibliothèques publiques un cadre de développement, de l'aide quant aux processus de planification, une imputabilité renforcée à l'avantage des contribuables, un accès à l'information équitable pour le public et un financement garanti.

Elles ont été mises au point par les bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario pour améliorer la qualité des services de bibliothèque dans toute la province. Les Lignes directrices portent sur les recommandations suivantes du Plan stratégique des bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario de 1990 :

  • améliorer l'infrastructure des bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario afin de les mettre en relation et d'améliorer le service à l'échelle locale;
  • assurer l'uniformité et l'efficacité de l'infrastructure des bibliothèques publiques;
  • mettre un processus d'amélioration complet à la disposition des bibliothèques publiques qui ne satisfont pas aux exigences des Lignes directrices;
  • élaborer un processus d'agrément volontaire qui reconnaît les réalisations des bibliothèques publiques qui satisfont aux exigences des Lignes directrices.

Pour obtenir un certificat d'agrément, une bibliothèque doit être évaluée par ses pairs sur 127 points des Lignes directrices relatifs à des sujets tels que les politiques, la planification, les ressources et les services. Elle doit obtenir une note de 90 % à l'évaluation. Parmi les bibliothèques publiques qui, en 2009, ont reçu l'agrément, c'est‑à-dire qui respectent ou dépassent les exigences des Lignes directrices, citons le canton de Champlain, Englehart, Grand Valley, Kenora, le canton de Leeds and the Thousand Islands, le comté de Middlesex et Penetanguishene.

Le Conseil de l'agrément et du contrôle des Lignes directrices pour les bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario est formé de représentants d'organisations de bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario, d'organismes du Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario et du Ministère. Il est présidé par un représentant des bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario.

L'Association des bibliothèques de l'Ontario est la plus ancienne et la plus importante association de bibliothèques en Ontario. L'association donne aux personnes du secteur des bibliothèques des occasions de s'associer, de se rencontrer, d'échanger les données de leur expérience et de leur savoir-faire, et de trouver des solutions novatrices dans un milieu en constante évolution.

Le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario englobe deux organismes non désignés du Ministère : le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario - Nord et le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario - Sud. Ces organismes proposent, au nom du Ministère, un vaste éventail de programmes et de services aux bibliothèques publiques du nord et du sud de l'Ontario, à l'exclusion de la région métropolitaine de Toronto. Leur mandat est le suivant :

  • accroître la coopération et la coordination entre les conseils de bibliothèques publiques et les autres sources d'information;
  • promouvoir la prestation de services de bibliothèque à la population en offrant aux conseils de bibliothèques publiques des services et des programmes qui répondent à leurs besoins, notamment des services de consultation, de formation et d'encadrement.

Le site Web du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement permet d'accéder à des renseignements provinciaux d'intérêt municipal (par exemple des renseignements sur les ordonnances de restructuration municipale). Ces renseignements sont utiles aux bibliothèques publiques puisqu'elles agissent à titre de conseils locaux des municipalités.

Bibliothèques publiques de troisième génération

Le Ministère a commandé ce rapport pour l'aider à mettre à jour son cadre stratégique visant à appuyer les bibliothèques publiques. Le rapport étudie la façon dont une pensée visionnaire et des services novateurs pourraient s'appliquer aux bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario d'ici 2020.

Ressources pour les bibliothèques publiques des autres provinces et territoires