2018 Public Library Service Awards Winners

Angus Mowat Award of Excellence

Small Library Category

Bkejwanong First Nation Public Library for: Bkejwanong Library Loves Literacy

Bkejwanong First Nation Public Library

Bkejwanong Library respects the community it serves, consistently promotes literacy in all its many guises – storytelling, plays, music, history/genealogy, writing, reading – supporting life-long learning beginning at 0+ months, continuing through school-age children and youth to community Elders. Literacy is highly correlated with academic success; hence, all children’s programs involve high-interest books with activities which extend learning. Adult programs focus on Genealogy/History/Language and quilting, while Family programming involves movie nights and music. Networking and partnerships [schools, community departments, colleges] are critical.


Medium Library Category

Orillia Public Library for: Remembrance Day Interactive Exhibit

Orillia Public Library

For the past five years the Orillia Public Library has partnered with local collectors and museums to host the Remembrance Day Interactive Exhibit. Through an interactive animated exhibit, featuring artifacts, biographical portraits, and costumed interpreters, students from elementary through high school learn about the individual contributions citizens of Orillia, surrounding townships and the members of the indigenous community made in the past wars and military conflicts from World War 1 to present day conflicts.




Large Library Category

Vaughan Public Libraries for: Customer Experience Model

Vaughan Public Libraries

The Customer Experience Model embraces the best practices of customer service into one framework that empowers staff to take customer service to the next level. The model includes 6 key service concepts: Hospitality, Customer Service, Frontline Advocacy, Customer Empowerment, Merchandising, and WOW Moments. In 2017, more than 200 staff were recognized for creating and capturing WOW Moments across VPL.







Minister’s Award for Innovation

Small Library Category

Arnprior Public Library for: Music of Your Life (Music and Memory Program)

Arnprior Public Library

o The Arnprior Public Library launched one of the first Music and Memory Programs in Canada connecting a public library to residents of a local nursing home. "The Music of Your Life" project is an ambitious effort launched in June 2016. It involved not only community awareness and fundraising but also volunteer support to become a dynamic, full circle, intergenerational community effort. In the past two years, personalized play lists - as individual as each recipient - have brought joy to countless seniors living at home and in care facilities.



Medium Library Category

Pickering Public Library for: Pickering Public Library Connect

Pickering Public Library

Pickering Public Library Connect had a significant impact on the perception of the public library as an essential partner in bridging the digital divide in the community by providing equitable and convenient access to internet resources and training and ensuring that all members of the community are able to effectively participate in a 21st century economy.






Large Library Category

Simcoe County Public Library for: Simcoe County Libraries Immigrant Hub

Simcoe County Public Library

The Simcoe County Libraries Immigrant Hub Project is an innovative project designed to strengthen the capacity of libraries to create vibrant, diverse and welcoming communities. It's a timely project, responsive to the rapidly changing demographics and cultural, educational, social and economic needs of immigrants. Its objectives include staff training, multilingual collection development, program provision and cultivation of significant sustainable partnerships. The project's strength is its ability to be replicated elsewhere. Its accomplishments include the reduction of immigrant isolation and increased inclusivity, acceptance and understanding of immigrants in the communities.

Previous winners

Prix d'excellence des bibliothèques publiques 2018

Prix d'excellence Angus Mowat

Catégorie des petites bibliothèques

Bibliothèque publique de la Première nation de Bkejwanong pour : Bkejwanong Library Loves Literacy

Bibliothèque publique de la Première nation de Bkejwanong

La bibliothèque de Bkejwanong respecte la communauté qu’elle dessert, fait constamment la promotion de l’alphabétisation sous toutes ses formes - conte, théâtre, musique, histoire et généalogie, écriture, lecture - en soutenant l’apprentissage continu à partir de 0+ mois, en continuant avec les enfants d’âge scolaire et les jeunes aux aînés de la communauté. La littératie est fortement corrélée à la réussite scolaire; par conséquent, tous les programmes pour enfants comportent des livres très intéressants et des activités qui favorisent l’apprentissage. Les programmes pour adultes mettent l’accent sur la généalogie, l’histoire, la langue et la courtepointe, tandis que la programmation familiale comprend des soirées cinéma et de la musique. Le réseautage et les partenariats (écoles, services communautaires, collèges) sont essentiels.


Catégorie des mediums bibliothèques

Bibliothèque publique d’Orillia pour: Exposition interactive du jour du Souvenir

Bibliothèque publique d’Orillia

Au cours des cinq dernières années, la bibliothèque publique d’Orillia s’est associée à des collectionneurs et des musées locaux pour organiser l’exposition interactive du jour du Souvenir. Grâce à une exposition interactive animée, comportant des artefacts, des portraits biographiques et des interprètes costumés, les élèves du primaire et du secondaire découvrent les contributions individuelles des citoyens d’Orillia, des cantons environnants et des membres de la communauté autochtone aux guerres passées et aux conflits militaires de la Première Guerre mondiale à nos jours.



Catégorie des grandes bibliothèques

Bibliothèques publiques de Vaughan pour : Modèle d’expérience client

Bibliothèques publiques de Vaughan

Le Modèle d’expérience client regroupe les pratiques exemplaires du service à la clientèle dans un cadre unique qui permet au personnel d’amener le service à la clientèle à un niveau supérieur. Le modèle comprend 6 concepts clés de service : l’accueil, le service à la clientèle, la défense des intérêts de première ligne, l’habilitation de la clientèle, le marchandisage et les moments WOW. En 2017, plus de 200 employés ont été récompensés pour avoir créé et capturé des moments WOW dans les bibliothèques publiques de Vaughan.



Prix du ministre pour l'innovation

Catégorie des petites bibliothèques

Bibliothèque publique d’Arnprior pour : Rainy River District Library Cooperative

Bibliothèque publique de Fort Frances

La bibliothèque publique d’Arnprior a lancé l’un des premiers programmes Music and Memory au Canada qui relie une bibliothèque publique aux résidents d’une maison locale de soins infirmiers. Le projet The Music of Your Life est un projet ambitieux lancé en juin 2016. Il ne s’agissait pas seulement de sensibiliser la communauté et de recueillir des fonds, mais aussi d’obtenir l’appui de bénévoles pour créer un effort communautaire dynamique, intergénérationnel et complet. Au cours des deux dernières années, des listes de lecture personnalisées - aussi individuelles que chaque récipiendaire - ont fait le bonheur d’innombrables aînés vivant à la maison et dans des établissements de soins.

Catégorie des mediums bibliothèques

Bibliothèque publique de Pickering pour : Pickering Public Library Connect

Bibliothèque publique de Pickering

Le projet Pickering Public Library Connect a eu un impact important sur la perception de la bibliothèque publique en tant que partenaire essentiel dans la réduction de la fracture numérique dans la communauté, en fournissant un accès équitable et pratique aux ressources et à la formation sur Internet et en s’assurant que tous les membres de la communauté sont en mesure de participer efficacement à une économie du 21e siècle.





Catégorie des grandes bibliothèques

Bibliothèque publique du comté de Simcoe pour : Simcoe County Libraries Immigrant Hub

Bibliothèque publique du comté de Simcoe

Le projet Simcoe County Libraries Immigrant Hub est un projet novateur conçu pour renforcer la capacité des bibliothèques à créer des communautés dynamiques, diversifiées et accueillantes. Il s’agit d’un projet opportun, adapté à l’évolution rapide de la démographie et aux besoins culturels, éducatifs, sociaux et économiques des immigrants. Ses objectifs comprennent la formation du personnel, le développement de collections multilingues, la prestation de programmes et l’établissement d’importants partenariats durables. La force du projet réside dans sa capacité à être reproduit ailleurs. Ses réalisations comprennent la réduction de l’isolement des immigrants et l’amélioration de l’inclusion, de l’acceptation et de la compréhension des immigrants dans les collectivités.

Lauréats des années précédentes