2017 Ontario Public Library Service Awards Short List Nominees

The 2017 short list nominees for the Minister’s Award for Innovation and the Angus Mowat Award of Excellence are:

Aurora Public Library

Digital Literacy for Community

The goal of the Digital Literacy for Community Project was to ignite a passion for STEM learning in our community and to help Aurorans develop the skills needed to succeed in a digital economy. The project offered young residents the opportunity to gain these skills by extending Aurora Public Library’s strong tradition of supporting literacy and numeracy to focus on digital literacy. It demonstrated that everyone has the capacity to learn to code, and encouraged participants to embrace technological skills as fun and rewarding. From there, a career path geared to the digital economy is a viable choice.

Clarington Public Library

Winter WonderLearn

Winter WonderLearn is in its 15th year of providing free, interactive, and educational experiences with community partners. Hosted on Family Day Monday, it is an anticipated event in the community and showcases the value of libraries as a connector.

Cochrane Public Library

Cochrane Public Library Outreach Program

The Cochrane Public Library has an outreach program which aims to supply residents and current library card holders of the community with materials during times in which they cannot get to the library. Patrons can call in their requests, which in turn are packaged up by library staff and delivered to their door by volunteers. When the patron is finished with their materials, the library is contacted and a volunteer returns the items for the patron.

County of Brant Public Library

Place Settings: Collected Works Celebrating the County of Brant

This project illustrates how public libraries grow and foster community engagement. Entirely produced by local citizens with a passion for their community but no budget, Place Settings: Collected Works Celebrating the County of Brant is a volume of non-fiction writing selected by a blind jury of community members and librarians under the direction of the Library’s 2016-17 Writer-in-Residence. Both a physical version and an electronic version enhanced with audio recordings were made, making it accessible to the greatest number of readers.

County of Prince Edward Public Library

Summer Fun Construction Zone

When Picton’s Main Street was scheduled for a summer-long closure, many downtown businesses worried about the decrease in both automotive and pedestrian traffic. Barbara Sweet, CEO of the County of Prince Edward Public Library and Archives, saw opportunity. An outdoor “construction zone” play area was developed with assistance from the local hardware store and the construction company responsible for the work. Free children’s books were available, and jokes and construction signage were displayed from the temporary fencing provided by the company doing the construction.

East Gwillimbury Public Library

Holland Landing Food Pantry

East Gwillimbury Public Library launched the Holland Landing Food Pantry to provide a “hand-up” to those who struggle with food sustainability. We know that low income and low literacy rates are inextricably linked and hungry children cannot learn. Working in cooperation with local agency, Network North, we source and provide 3-days’ supply of groceries to over 50 clients every month. Library staff are also on hand to encourage participation in our programs/services, so that clients can also have meaningful social interactions with the larger community.

Fort Frances Public Library

Rainy River District Library Cooperative

The Rainy River District Library Cooperative, a partnership between the Atikokan Public Library, Emo Public Library, Rainy River District School Board, Northwest Catholic District School Board, and the Seven Generations Education Institute, is an innovative partnership that sees education sector and library sector organizations come together to better serve their communities. Many students within the Rainy River District experience barriers to accessing public library services. These barriers are economic and geographic in nature. The Rainy River District Library Cooperative has removed these barriers and ensured that all students have equitable access to community-based learning supports. Together the project partners have made it possible for all students to access both a wide range of reading materials and a public library.

Hamilton Public Library

The Circuit 4.0 - Collaborative Creative Space

This project highlights how the Hamilton Public Library has used technology, innovation and partnerships to transform people's lives. The Circuit 4.0 has helped transform people's attitudes about what a public library can be and what it can do. Since the opening of the Circuit 4.0 the place has become an important downtown destination, attracting students, new Canadians, emerging artists and entrepreneurs.

Kingston Frontenac Public Library

Viva Voce and the Juvenis Festival – Building Youth Capacity in the Arts

Kingston Frontenac Public Library, Blue Canoe Productions and the Juvenis Festival have created a unique community partnership that provides greater access to the arts for youth, developing their artistic capacity and providing employment and employable skills development in the arts industry. This was achieved through a series of coffeehouse-style storytelling events, planned by and featuring local youth ages 13-30.

Markham Public Library

Online 3D Printer e-Learning Course and Certification

MPL’s open online 3D printing e-course is perhaps the first of its kind in North American public libraries. The benefits of this project include: reducing staff time delivering in person certification training, supporting green initiatives as there is no travel or paper, engaging customers in a unique learning environment, providing 24/7 access to content, and allowing customers to learn when it is most convenient.

Oshawa Public Library

Oshawa Healthy Kids Community Challenge

Oshawa Public Libraries participated as a key member in Oshawa’s Healthy Kids Community Challenge, a program that brings together community partners to address childhood obesity. Almost 30% of Ontario children and youth are overweight or obese. The Library’s innovative contributions to the project’s initiatives are sustainable and ongoing. Examples include: in-house and outreach library programs incorporating physical activity, growing fruits and vegetables with community garden partners; replacing sugary fruit juice and snacks with water and fruits and vegetables at Library events.

Ottawa Public Library

A la Carte Food Literacy Project

Ottawa Public Library’s à la carte food literacy project has created, through design and implementation, a two year project that brings the public library into the shared conversation around how people are connected to the food they eat and grow. Using non-traditional programming, in the library’s physical and virtual spaces and in surrounding neighbourhoods, Ottawa public library has successfully demonstrated that the library is a current, valued partner and community hub for accessible food literacy resources and programs.

Rideau Lakes Public Library

MAPsack

The MAPsack (Movement and Play) Project should be nominated for the Angus Mowat Award of Excellence because it equipped public libraries with resources to encourage families to get outside, move and play in nature. Through this Project, public libraries throughout the United Counties of Leeds and Grenville were given nature-themed backpacks (MAPsacks) filled with books, activities, gadgets, trail maps and Ontario Parks day passes as part of their collection. The MAPsack Project provided public libraries throughout Leeds and Grenville a united approach to help combat children’s inactivity and the growing disconnection to nature.

Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry County Library

Library Express – Alternative Service Delivery Depots

Library Express is an innovative service to provide access to library resources to underserved communities through public/private partnerships. The project helps to build the spirit of community through community partnerships and encourages residents' to use the Library by providing convenient, alternative access. All residents need is an SD&G County Library card!

Waterloo Public Library

Explore Play Learn @ WPL

Explore Play Learn @ WPL has been successful in building a comprehensive early learning strategy that helps families to understand the value of literacy play and engagement. The programs and dedicated Explore Play Learn spaces encourage families to visit the library together and spend time building individual and collective capacity. WPL is leveraging its spaces and extensive staff ability to create a change and provide opportunity for children and families as they get ready for school.

Whitchurch-Stouffville Public Library

RSVP

RSVP – Return Solution Via Post – solved a major customer service issue at virtually no cost to the library. This quick, efficient, and cost-effective solution, to a problem encountered by many libraries, enabled library customers to return items via Canada Post when the library was not open due to renovation.

Finalistes des Prix d'excellence des bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario 2017

Les finalistes 2017 pour le Prix ministériel pour l’innovation et le Prix d’excellence Angus Mowat sont les suivants :

Bibliothèque publique d'Aurora

Digital Literacy for Community

Le projet Digital Literacy for Community avait pour objectif de susciter une passion pour l'apprentissage lié aux STIM dans notre collectivité et d'aider les résidents d'Aurora à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour réussir dans une économie numérique. Le projet a permis aux jeunes résidents d'acquérir ces compétences en élargissant la solide tradition d'appui à la littératie et à la numératie de la bibliothèque publique d'Aurora pour se concentrer sur la littératie numérique. Le projet a prouvé que chacun a la capacité d'apprendre à coder, et a encouragé les participants à considérer les compétences technologiques comme étant amusantes et enrichissantes. De là, un cheminement professionnel en économie numérique constitue un choix viable.

Bibliothèque publique de Clarington

Winter WonderLearn

Depuis maintenant 15 ans, Winter WonderLearn offre des expériences gratuites, interactives et éducatives en collaboration avec des partenaires de la collectivité. Organisé le lundi du jour de la Famille, il s'agit d'un événement attendu dans la collectivité, qui met en valeur l'importance des bibliothèques à tire de liens.

Bibliothèque publique de Cochrane

Le programme de liaison de la bibliothèque publique de Cochrane

La bibliothèque publique de Cochrane dispose d'un programme de liaison qui vise à fournir aux résidents et aux détenteurs actuels d'une carte de la bibliothèque de la collectivité des documents durant des périodes au cours desquelles ils ne sont pas en mesure de se rendre à la bibliothèque. Les clients peuvent téléphoner pour faire part de leurs demandes, qui sont ensuite emballées par le personnel de la bibliothèque et livrées à leur porte par des bénévoles. Une fois que le client a terminé des documents, il communique avec bibliothèque et un bénévole s'occupe de les rapporter pour le client.

Bibliothèque publique du comté de Brant

Place Settings: Collected Works Celebrating the County of Brant

Ce projet illustre à quel point les bibliothèques publiques font croître et favorisent la participation communautaire. Entièrement réalisé par des citoyens de la région passionnés de leur collectivité, mais sans budget, Place Settings: Collected Works Celebrating the County of Brant est un recueil d'écrits documentaires sélectionnés par un jury à l'aveugle formé de membres de la collectivité et de bibliothécaires sous la direction de l'auteure en résidence 2016-2017 de la bibliothèque. Le recueil a été publié en version imprimée et en version électronique rehaussée d'enregistrements audio, permettant ainsi au plus grand nombre possible de lecteurs d'y avoir accès.

Bibliothèque publique du comté de Prince Edward

Summer Fun Construction Zone

Lorsqu'il a été prévu que la rue Main de Picton serait fermée pendant tout l'été, de nombreux commerces du centre-ville se sont inquiétés de la diminution de la circulation automobile et piétonne. Barbara Sweet, chef des opérations à la bibliothèque et archives du comté de Prince Edward, y a vu une occasion. Une aire de jeu extérieure « zone de travaux » a été aménagée avec l'aide de la quincaillerie locale et de l'entreprise responsable des travaux. Des livres pour enfants étaient gratuitement accessibles, et des blagues et panneaux de travaux ont été affichés sur les clôtures temporaires fournies par l'entreprise durant les travaux.

Bibliothèque publique de Gwillimbury Est

Holland Landing Food Pantry

La bibliothèque publique de Gwillimbury Est a lancé le projet Holland Landing Food Pantry afin de soutenir les personnes éprouvant des difficultés avec la viabilité alimentaire. Nous savons que les taux de faible revenu et de faible niveau de littératie sont liés de façon intrinsèque, et que les enfants qui ont faim ne peuvent apprendre. En collaboration avec un organisme local, Network North, nous sélectionnons et fournissons une épicerie de trois jours à plus de 50 clients chaque mois. Les employés de la bibliothèque aident également à encourager la participation à nos programmes et services, afin que les clients puissent également avoir des interactions sociales enrichissantes avec la collectivité élargie.

Bibliothèque publique de Fort Frances

Rainy River District Library Cooperative

La coopérative Rainy River District Library Cooperative, un partenariat entre la bibliothèque publique d'Atikokan, la bibliothèque publique d'Emo, le conseil scolaire du district de Rainy River, le Northwest Catholic District School Board et le Seven Generations Education Institute, est un partenariat novateur qui constitue un regroupement d'organismes des secteurs de l'éducation et des bibliothèques afin de mieux desservir leurs collectivités. De nombreux élèves du district de Rainy River sont confrontés à des obstacles lorsqu'ils veulent accéder aux services de la bibliothèque publique. Ces obstacles sont de nature économique et géographique. La coopérative Rainy River District Library Cooperative a éliminé ces obstacles et fait en sorte que tous les élèves ont un accès équitable aux mesures d'aide à l'apprentissage en milieu communautaire. Ensemble, les partenaires du projet ont fait en sorte que tous les élèves puissent avoir accès à un large éventail de documents à lire et à une bibliothèque publique.

Bibliothèque publique de Hamilton

The Circuit 4.0 - Collaborative Creative Space

Ce projet met en lumière la manière dont la bibliothèque publique de Hamilton s'est servie de la technologie, de l'innovation et de partenariats pour transformer la vie des gens. Le Circuit 4.0 a permis de changer l'attitude des gens à propos de ce qu'est une bibliothèque publique et de ce qu'elle peut faire. Depuis l'inauguration de Circuit 4.0, cet endroit est devenu une importante destination du centre-ville qui attire les étudiants, les Néo-Canadiens, les artistes émergents et les entrepreneurs.

Bibliothèque publique de Kingston Frontenac

Viva Voce et le festival Juvenis – Building Youth Capacity in the Arts

La bibliothèque publique de Kingston Frontenac, Blue Canoe Productions et le festival Juvenis ont créé un partenariat communautaire unique qui offre aux jeunes un plus grand accès aux arts, leur permettant ainsi de perfectionner leurs talents artistiques et leur offrant un emploi et un perfectionnement de compétences utiles dans l'industrie des arts. Ce projet a été réalisé au moyen d'une série d'activités de style « culture des cafés » portant sur le conte, mettant en vedette des jeunes de 13 à 30 et organisées par eux.

Bibliothèque publique de Markham

Cours en ligne et certification pour utilisation d'imprimantes 3D

Le cours en ligne ouvert sur l'impression 3D de la BPM est peut-être le premier du genre à être offert dans les bibliothèques publiques d'Amérique du Nord. Le projet comporte plusieurs avantages, notamment : diminution du temps consacré par les employés à offrir une formation en personne pour la certification, appui aux initiatives écologiques, puisqu'il n'y a aucun déplacement ni utilisation de papier, participation des clients dans un milieu d'apprentissage unique, accès en tout temps au contenu et possibilité pour les clients d'apprendre au moment où cela leur convient le mieux.

Bibliothèque publique d'Oshawa

Action communautaire - Enfants en santé d'Oshawa

Les bibliothèques publiques d'Oshawa ont participé à titre de membre essentiel à Action communautaire - Enfants en santé d'Oshawa, un programme qui réunit des partenaires de la collectivité pour lutter contre l'obésité chez les enfants. Près de 30 % des enfants et des jeunes de l'Ontario présentent un surplus de poids ou sont obèses. Les contributions innovantes de la bibliothèque aux initiatives du projet sont durables et permanentes. En voici quelques exemples : programmes de la bibliothèque sur place et itinérants intégrant l'activité physique; culture de fruits et de légumes en collaboration avec des jardins communautaires partenaires; remplacement des collations et des jus de fruits sucrés par de l'eau et des fruits et légumes dans le cadre d'activités à la bibliothèque.

Bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa

Littératie alimentaire À la carte

Le projet de littératie alimentaire À la carte de la bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa a créé, au moyen de la conception et de la mise en oeuvre, un projet de deux ans qui fait participer la bibliothèque publique à la discussion commune sur la façon dont les gens sont liés aux aliments qu'ils consomment et cultivent. À l'aide d'un programme non traditionnel, dans les locaux physiques et virtuels de la bibliothèque et dans les quartiers avoisinants, la bibliothèque publique d'Ottawa a démontré avec succès que la bibliothèque constitue un partenaire actuel et précieux ainsi qu'un carrefour communautaire pour des ressources et des programmes accessibles en littératie alimentaire.

Bibliothèque publique de Rideau

MAPsack

Le projet MAPsack (Movement and Play) doit être mis en candidature pour le Prix d’excellence Angus Mowat parce qu'il a doté les bibliothèques publiques de ressources pour encourager les familles à sortir à l'extérieur, à bouger et à jouer dans la nature. Grâce à ce projet, les bibliothèques publiques des Comtés unis de Leeds et Grenville ont reçu des sacs à dos sur le thème de la nature (MAPsacks) remplis de livres, d'activités, de gadgets, de cartes de sentiers et de laissez-passer d'un jour de Parcs Ontario faisant partie de leur collection. Le projet MAPsack a fourni aux bibliothèques publiques des comtés de Leeds et Grenville une approche unifiée pour aider à combattre l'inactivité chez les enfants et une rupture croissante d'avec la nature.

Bibliothèque publique des Comtés unis de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry

Library Express – Alternative Service Delivery Depots

Library Express est un service novateur permettant d'offrir un accès aux ressources de la bibliothèque à des collectivités mal desservies grâce à des partenariats public-privé. Le projet favorise la création d'un esprit de communauté grâce à des partenariats communautaires et encourage les résidents à se servir de la bibliothèque en fournissant une autre façon pratique d'y avoir accès. Il suffit aux résidents d'être détenteurs d'une carte de la bibliothèque des Comtés unis de Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry!

Bibliothèque publique de Waterloo

Explore Play Learn @ WPL

Explore Play Learn @ WPL a réussi à établir une stratégie complète d'apprentissage préscolaire qui aide les familles à comprendre la valeur du jeu et de la participation en lien avec la littératie. Les programmes et locaux consacrés à Explore Play Learn encouragent les familles à visiter la bibliothèque ensemble et à consacrer du temps au renforcement de la capacité individuelle et collective. WPL tire profit de ses locaux et de la très grande compétence du personnel pour créer un changement et offre une occasion aux enfants et aux familles qui se préparent à l'école.

Bibliothèque publique de Whitchurch-Stouffville

RSVP

RSVP – Return Solution Via Post – a permis de régler un important problème du service à la clientèle à un coût pratiquement nul pour la bibliothèque. Cette solution rapide, efficace et économique à un problème que connaissent de nombreuses bibliothèques a permis aux clients de la bibliothèque de retourner les documents par l'entremise de Postes Canada au moment où la bibliothèque était fermée en raison de travaux de rénovation.