Books and CD-ROM Home arrow Culture arrow Libraries

Third generation public libraries

Full report available for download in pdf format

Note: Third generation public libraries was written by Wendy Newman for the former Ministry of Culture and published in 2008.

Executive Summary


The Ontario Ministry of Tourism and Culture commissioned this report to assist with updating its policy framework for supporting public libraries. The report examines how visionary thinking and services could apply to Ontario's public libraries by 2020. To prepare the report, the researcher took into account:

  • Social, economic and technological trends
  • A literature review of the ideas of visionary thinkers in the library sector
  • Major initiatives where libraries have partnered with other organizations
  • Recent library conferences and awards
  • Library innovation in Canada and elsewhere
  • The Deputy Minister of Culture's consultations of 2006
  • Ontario government priorities.

Research shows that, in communities large and small, public libraries have a strong role in literacy and learning, innovation, community, and prosperity. The title of this report, Third Generation Public Libraries, comes from author Shannon Mattern's concept of public libraries that the public helps to design. This paper extends Mattern's concept well beyond architecture into partnerships and services.

Through changing times, people have continued to participate in and esteem their libraries. The public library of 2020 will respond to a new social, technological, and economic environment while keeping its enduring values. It will use new tools and partnerships in its traditional roles as part of a lifelong learning system and as an engine of cultural and economic development. It will remain an agent and sign of community and social cohesion. It will respond to Canada's uniquely “diverse diversity.” It will act on research on reading and learning and make information and communication technology accessible in a democratized and participatory digital universe of uneven quality. It will stimulate creativity in the community and provide exciting public spaces where people can participate and share ideas. Through all these means, the public library will contribute to sustainable prosperity for Ontario and Canada in an increasingly knowledge-based economy.

It is hard to name a public institution that has retained such high rates of participation and esteem amid volatility and change. This report identifies leading examples of innovative practices and services in public libraries in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Nordic countries, Singapore, and Canada. These practices show that, more and more, national governments are acknowledging the value of public libraries through programs, policies and funding. That is not the case at the national level in Canada. However, Ontario can learn from statewide consortia in the US, for example, and from worldwide innovation to improve service delivery and citizen participation. There are differences between jurisdictions, but across Canada and elsewhere, common themes in public library roles and public library innovation do emerge.

Public libraries of the future will be catalysts and leaders in community-based economic development. They will have a strategic role in knowledge-intensive industries like digital media. They will also be mainstays of community-based cultural planning and development. The amount of information available will grow, and much of it will be of questionable value and accuracy. Public libraries will play an increasingly significant role in the literacies of the twenty-first century that enable people to select, assess and use the information that will best meet their needs. As the number of technology devices increases, libraries will enable increased equality of access and participation and help people create and exchange new content. One of the ways libraries will do this is by collaborating, within the library sector and beyond, to develop stronger networks.

Public libraries will continue to be welcoming places of community, both real and virtual. Renewed physical libraries will be exciting and involving spaces. Public libraries will widely adopt research-based approaches. This will enhance their role as the preschooler's door to reading and learning and will strengthen early learning and family literacy. Initiatives for youth in school and at risk will be staples of future public library service, and youth will thrive in the redesigned spaces.

The public library of the future will work more systematically with partners, including government, to integrate newcomers and socially marginalized people. Based on results from pilot projects of the past decade, libraries will be important in responding to language and other settlement needs. The growing numbers of seniors will enjoy services better customized to their interests and abilities. Services to Aboriginal peoples, on and off reserves, will be responsive and relevant to their needs and preferences. The longstanding role of the public library as society's informal learning system will change in terms of service delivery, but it will remain constant in its values and commitment to the individual.

Government and private sector roles will also evolve. Governments will have more fully developed partnerships with public libraries. As a result, governments will be able to deliver services in high-priority areas such as youth, early childhood, and immigration more seamlessly and effectively. In partnership with governments, the public library will be an effective advocate for a balanced approach to intellectual property and a robust public domain of ideas.

The private sector will recognize that public libraries have a key role in reaching a huge market of people seeking information and knowledge. Businesses will understand how this applies to testing exportable software and new media in the “home market.” The long relationship between libraries and the publishing industry will thus extend into the future. Other private sector roles will include designing and supporting facilities, collaborating in business and economic development initiatives, and supporting libraries through volunteerism and philanthropy.

Ontario is in a leading position in several strategic areas relevant to this view of the future of public libraries:

  • The Knowledge Ontario consortium, which built on the experience of consortia in Canada and elsewhere
  • A strategic plan for service to Aboriginal people on reserves
  • Growing capacity in library boards and staff through the Southern Ontario Library Service and Ontario Library Service North.

Ontario is rising in the following areas:

  • Delivery of government services in public libraries through the Service Ontario partnerships
  • Participation in intergovernmental discussion and cooperation.

In other areas, Ontario needs to take steps to ensure that public libraries achieve their potential:

  • Systematic and stable provincial framework for children and youth services
  • Growing and sustaining Knowledge Ontario
  • Multicultural services and collections
  • Infrastructure and broadband
  • Operating and special funding.

Through leadership in developing and supporting policies, and with reinvestment by the province in operating funding, Ontario has an opportunity to leverage the role of public libraries to achieve maximum benefit for the province. The province could also play a role in interprovincial collaboration to seek partnership with and stable support from the federal government.

Several key policy themes have particularly high potential to advance Ontario's interests and priorities in the knowledge-based economy to 2020:

Knowledge Ontario

Knowledge Ontario is a platform for innovation as well as an information service. Broadening the partnership to include education and post-secondary ministries will be essential to its stability and growth.

Library buildings

Public library buildings should be prominent in the infrastructure revitalization programs of all levels of government. In addition, the Trillium Foundation should expand eligibility for grants to include libraries in communities of all sizes.

Broadband access

Comprehensive broadband access is important to achieving the goal of equity of access to the full range of technology. It will also have economic benefits.

Role of public libraries in government programs

Ontario's programs for literacy, student success, and youth at risk should comprehensively and explicitly include the role of public libraries.

Early childhood learning

Public library support for early childhood learning needs coordination and explicit policy attention.

Literacy

Public libraries have a longstanding and growing role in literacy, including digital literacy. Through interministerial collaboration, Ontario should align this role with other provincial literacy programs.

Diversity

Ontario is a large territory and has great diversity in its population. It is a challenge to serve hundreds of communities with a full range of resources tailored to diverse needs. Building the capacity in the six large urban public libraries, which serve 40 per cent of Ontarians, would respond not only to diversity in these communities, but would also make resources such as collections and professional expertise available to other communities on a shared basis.

Economic development

Public libraries have documented potential to contribute to economic development. Ontario has major opportunities to leverage that potential more systematically.

Changing demographic profile

Population trends show that Ontario will need a stronger policy and program focus on the elderly, persons with disabilities, newcomers, and marginalized people. Knowledge Ontario and new technology will be important tools in responding to changing needs. Interministerial and intergovernmental collaboration will be necessary.

Services to Aboriginal people

Grassroots planning and models exist to improve services to Aboriginal people on reserves.

Government priorities and services

With branches in every community, public libraries offer opportunities for government to apply the potential of public libraries in priorities such as health promotion and prevention to make information more available and visible.

Copyright

Ontario should continue to advocate for carefully balanced copyright laws that respect both creators and users to ensure reasonable access to ideas to promote learning and innovation.

The evidence shows that the exciting vision of innovation described in this report is achievable. Ontario has strong public library foundations on which to build. Achieving the vision will involve the local efforts of public libraries. It will also require the Ministry to renew its library expertise, operating grants, and capacity for interministerial and intergovernmental collaboration. Those elements have dropped sharply in the past 10 to 12 years. Learning and literacy, innovation and strong communities are fundamental to the Ontario of 2020. An innovative, province-wide library system is therefore an attractive government investment.

Books and CD-ROM Accueil arrow La culture arrow Les bibliothèques publiques

Bibliothèques publiques de troisième génération

Rapport complet disponible en format pdf

Sommaire

Le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport de l'Ontario a commandé le présent rapport pour l'aider à mettre à jour son cadre stratégique visant à appuyer les bibliothèques publiques. Le rapport examine comment une pensée visionnaire et des services novateurs pourraient s'appliquer aux bibliothèques publiques de l'Ontario d'ici 2020. Pour établir ce rapport, la chercheure a pris en considération :

  • les tendances sociales, économiques et technologiques;
  • une recension de la littérature sur les idées des penseurs visionnaires du secteur des bibliothèques;
  • les principales initiatives issues du partenariat entre des bibliothèques et d'autres organismes;
  • les récentes conférences du secteur des bibliothèques et les prix qui y ont été décernés;
  • l'innovation en bibliothéconomie au Canada et ailleurs;
  • les consultations menées par la sous-ministre de la Culture en 2006;
  • les priorités du gouvernement de l'Ontario.

Les études indiquent que, dans les petites comme dans les grandes collectivités, les bibliothèques publiques jouent un rôle crucial sur les plans de la littératie et de l'apprentissage, de l'innovation, de la vie communautaire et de la prospérité. Le titre de ce rapport, Bibliothèques publiques de troisième génération, s'inspire du concept énoncé par l'auteure Shannon Mattern désignant des bibliothèques publiques que le public aide à concevoir. Le présent document élargit le concept de Mattern en allant au‑delà de l'architecture pour toucher les partenariats et les services.

Durant les périodes de transformation, les bibliothèques ont continué à bénéficier de la participation et de l'estime la population. La bibliothèque publique de 2020 répondra à de nouvelles réalités sociales, technologiques et économiques, tout en préservant ses valeurs durables. Elle utilisera de nouveaux outils et partenariats pour assumer ses rôles traditionnels en tant qu'élément d'une structure d'éducation permanente et que moteur du développement culturel et économique. Elle restera un facteur et un symbole de cohésion communautaire et sociale. Elle sera sensible à la « diversité diversifiée » propre au Canada. Elle tiendra compte des recherches sur la lecture et l'apprentissage et donnera accès à la technologie de l'information et de la communication dans un univers numérique démocratisé et participatif de qualité inégale. Elle stimulera la créativité au sein de la collectivité et offrira des espaces publics dynamiques où les gens peuvent participer et échanger des idées. Par tous ces moyens, la bibliothèque publique contribuera à la prospérité durable de l'Ontario et du Canada dans une économie de plus en plus axée sur le savoir.

Il est difficile de nommer une institution publique qui a conservé des taux aussi élevés de participation et d'estime dans un tel climat de volatilité et de changement. Le présent rapport donne des exemples marquants de pratiques et de services novateurs dans les bibliothèques publiques aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni, en Australie, dans les pays nordiques, à Singapour et au Canada. Ces pratiques montrent que, de plus en plus, les gouvernements nationaux reconnaissent la valeur des bibliothèques publiques par des programmes, des politiques et des mesures de financement. Ce n'est toutefois pas le cas au niveau national au Canada. Cependant, l'Ontario peut s'inspirer de consortiums établis à l'échelon des États aux États-Unis, par exemple, et des innovations réalisées à l'échelle mondiale pour améliorer la prestation des services et la participation des citoyens. Il existe des différences selon les ressorts de compétence, mais, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, des thèmes communs se dégagent concernant les rôles des bibliothèques publiques et l'innovation dans le secteur de la bibliothéconomie.

Les bibliothèques publiques de l'avenir seront des catalyseurs et des chefs de file du développement économique à l'échelon des collectivités. Elles joueront un rôle stratégique dans des industries du savoir comme les médias numériques. Elles seront également les piliers de la planification et du développement culturels communautaires. La quantité d'informations disponibles ira en grandissant, et une bonne partie de ces informations seront de valeur ou d'exactitude douteuse. Les bibliothèques publiques joueront un rôle de plus en plus important dans les compétences de littératie du XXIe siècle qui permettront aux gens de choisir, d'évaluer et d'utiliser l'information qui répond le mieux à leurs besoins. À mesure qu'augmente le nombre d'outils technologiques, les bibliothèques favoriseront une plus grande égalité d'accès et de participation et aideront les gens à créer et à échanger de nouveaux contenus d'information. Pour ce faire, les bibliothèques devront collaborer, au sein du secteur des bibliothèques et au-delà, pour créer des réseaux plus forts.

Les bibliothèques publiques continueront d'être des lieux communautaires accueillants, tant réels que virtuels. Les lieux physiques renouvelés des bibliothèques seront des espaces stimulants et invitants. Les bibliothèques adopteront largement des approches issues de la recherche scientifique, ce qui enrichira leur rôle en tant que porte ouverte sur la lecture et l'apprentissage pour les enfants d'âge préscolaire et renforcera l'apprentissage des tout-petits et la littératie en milieu familial. Les initiatives destinées aux élèves adolescents et aux jeunes à risque seront des éléments essentiels des services des bibliothèques publiques de l'avenir, et les jeunes s'épanouiront dans ces espaces de conception nouvelle.

Les bibliothèques publiques de l'avenir travailleront plus systématiquement avec des partenaires, y compris les gouvernements, pour intégrer les nouveaux arrivants et les personnes marginalisées. Selon les résultats de projets pilotes menés au cours de la dernière décennie, les bibliothèques joueront un rôle important pour répondre aux besoins linguistiques et aux autres besoins relatifs à l'établissement. Les personnes âgées, qui seront plus nombreuses, bénéficieront de services mieux adaptés à leurs intérêts et à leurs aptitudes. Les services aux Autochtones, à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves, répondront à leurs besoins et à leurs préférences de manière plus sensible et plus pertinente. Le rôle traditionnel des bibliothèques publiques comme réseau informel d'apprentissage changera sur le plan de la prestation des services, mais il restera constant sur le plan des valeurs et de l'engagement envers l'individu.

Les rôles des gouvernements et du secteur privé évolueront eux aussi. Les gouvernements auront des partenariats plus mûrs avec les bibliothèques publiques. Par conséquent, les gouvernements seront en mesure d'améliorer la coordination et l'efficacité des services offerts dans les secteurs de grande priorité, comme la jeunesse, la petite enfance et l'immigration. En partenariat avec les gouvernements, les bibliothèques publiques seront des défenseurs efficaces d'une approche équilibrée à l'égard de la propriété intellectuelle et d'un solide domaine public des idées.

Le secteur privé reconnaîtra que les bibliothèques publiques ont un rôle clé à jouer pour atteindre un vaste marché de personnes en quête d'informations et de connaissances. Les entreprises comprendront comment cela s'applique à la mise à l'essai de logiciels exportables et de nouveaux médias dans le marché intérieur. Les rapports de longue date qui unissent les bibliothèques et l'industrie de l'édition se poursuivront donc dans l'avenir. D'autres rôles du secteur privé comprendront la conception et le soutien des installations, la collaboration à des initiatives de développement commercial et économique, et l'appui aux bibliothèques par le bénévolat et la philanthropie.

L'Ontario occupe une place de premier rang dans plusieurs secteurs stratégiques importants pour cette vision de l'avenir des bibliothèques publiques :

  • le consortium Knowledge Ontario, qui tire parti de l'expérience de consortiums de ce genre au Canada et à l'étranger;
  • un plan stratégique de services aux Autochtones dans les réserves;
  • le renforcement des capacités au sein des conseils et du personnel des bibliothèques grâce au Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario – Sud et au Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario – Nord.

L'Ontario prend de l'essor dans les secteurs suivants :

  • la prestation de services gouvernementaux dans les bibliothèques publiques grâce aux partenariats avec ServiceOntario;
  • la participation aux discussions et à la collaboration intergouvernementales.

Dans d'autres secteurs, l'Ontario doit prendre des mesures pour s'assurer que les bibliothèques publiques réalisent leur potentiel :

  • un cadre provincial systématique et stable pour les services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse;
  • la croissance et le maintien de Knowledge Ontario;
  • Les collections et les services multiculturels;
  • l'infrastructure et le service à large bande;
  • le financement pour le fonctionnement et les projets spéciaux.

En assumant un leadership dans l'élaboration et le soutien des politiques et en réinvestissant dans le financement de fonctionnement, l'Ontario a la possibilité de miser sur le rôle des bibliothèques publiques pour en tirer le maximum de bénéfices pour la province. Le gouvernement ontarien pourrait aussi jouer un rôle dans la collaboration interprovinciale en vue d'arriver à un partenariat solide avec le gouvernement fédéral et à en obtenir un soutien stable.

Plusieurs thèmes clés des politiques sont particulièrement prometteurs pour faire avancer les intérêts et les priorités de l'Ontario dans l'économie du savoir d'ici 2020 :

Knowledge Ontario

Knowledge Ontario est un environnement propice à l'innovation ainsi qu'un service d'information. L'élargissement de ce partenariat pour y inclure les ministères responsables de l'éducation et de l'enseignement postsecondaire sera essentiel à sa stabilité et à sa croissance.

Bâtiments des bibliothèques

Les bâtiments des bibliothèques publiques devraient avoir une place importante dans les programmes de revitalisation de l'infrastructure de tous les ordres de gouvernement. De plus, la Fondation Trillium devrait élargir ses critères d'admissibilité aux subventions pour y inclure les bibliothèques de toutes les collectivités, des plus grandes aux plus petites.

Accès au service à large bande

Un accès universel au service à large bande est une condition importante pour atteindre le but de l'équité d'accès à toute la gamme de technologies, en plus de présenter des avantages économiques.

Rôle des bibliothèques publiques dans les programmes gouvernementaux

Les programmes de l'Ontario en faveur de la littératie, de la réussite des élèves et des jeunes à risque devraient comprendre de manière détaillée et explicite le rôle des bibliothèques publiques.

Apprentissage des jeunes enfants

Le soutien qu'apportent les bibliothèques publiques à l'apprentissage des tout-petits nécessite une coordination et une politique explicite.

Littératie

Les bibliothèques publiques ont toujours joué un rôle important et continuent de jouer un rôle croissant en matière de littératie, y compris la littératie numérique. Par la collaboration interministérielle, l'Ontario devrait harmoniser ce rôle avec les autres programmes provinciaux de littératie.

Diversité

L'Ontario occupe un vaste territoire et a une population d'une grande diversité. C'est un défi que d'offrir à des centaines de collectivités une gamme complète de ressources adaptées à des besoins divers. Le renforcement de la capacité des six grands réseaux urbains de bibliothèques publiques, lesquels atteignent 40 pour 100 de la population ontarienne, répondrait non seulement aux besoins découlant de la diversité dans ces collectivités, mais mettrait des ressources, comme les collections et l'expertise professionnelle, à la disposition d'autres collectivités en vertu d'une entente de partage. 

Développement économique

Les bibliothèques publiques ont démontré leur capacité de contribuer au développement économique. L'Ontario pourrait saisir d'importantes occasions de tirer parti de ces capacités de façon plus systématique.

Transformation du profil démographique

Les tendances démographiques indiquent que l'Ontario devra mettre un accent plus fort sur les politiques et les programmes destinés aux personnes âgées, aux personnes handicapées, aux nouveaux arrivants et aux personnes marginalisées. Knowledge Ontario et la nouvelle technologie seront des outils importants pour répondre à l'évolution des besoins. La collaboration interministérielle et intergouvernementale sera nécessaire.

Services aux Autochtones

Il existe des activités de planification et des modèles de prestation à l'échelon local pour améliorer les services aux Autochtones vivant dans les réserves.

Priorités et services du gouvernement

Grâce à leurs succursales dans toutes les collectivités, les bibliothèques publiques offrent au gouvernement des occasions de mettre à profit le potentiel des bibliothèques publiques dans des activités prioritaires comme la promotion de la santé et la prévention des maladies afin d'accroître la diffusion et la visibilité de l'information.

Droits d'auteur

L'Ontario devrait continuer à intervenir en faveur de lois bien équilibrées qui respectent à la fois les créateurs et les utilisateurs afin d'assurer un accès raisonnable à des idées en vue de promouvoir l'apprentissage et l'innovation.

Les données recueillies indiquent que la vision d'innovation fort prometteuse décrite dans le présent rapport est réalisable. L'Ontario possède un réseau de bibliothèques publiques doté de solides assises sur lesquelles il peut bâtir. La réalisation de cette vision exigera les efforts des bibliothèques publiques à l'échelon local. Elle exigera aussi que le ministère renouvelle son expertise en bibliothéconomie, ses subventions de fonctionnement et sa capacité de collaboration interministérielle et intergouvernementale. Ces éléments ont accusé un déclin marqué au cours des 10 à 12 dernières années. L'apprentissage et la littératie, l'innovation et les communautés fortes sont des aspects fondamentaux de l'Ontario de 2020. Un réseau novateur de bibliothèques à l'échelle de la province est donc un investissement attrayant pour le gouvernement.