Young people in Library Home arrow Culture arrow Libraries

Questions and Answers about Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act

The following questions and answers provide information on the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and its relationship to personal information in library patron records. The Ministry is not providing legal advice on any of the issues. For further questions relating to these questions or your particular circumstances, you must consult with your own legal advisors. For further information on what is meant by personal information and the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act please consult the Ministry of Government Services Web site.

Can a library use the personal information of library patrons for purposes other than those for which the information was originally collected (e.g., fundraising, launching a new reader's advisory service)?

Personal information can only be used for the purpose for which it was originally obtained or compiled, or for a consistent purpose (see question 2). Using personal information for other purposes is not permitted by the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. If a library wants to use a patron's personal information for a purpose that is not consistent with the one for which it was originally obtained or compiled, it must first acquire the patron's written consent to use the personal information for that purpose (see question 4).

The use of a patron's personal information for fundraising would not be permitted unless that use could have been reasonably expected when the personal information was collected. Before using personal information for fundraising purposes, libraries need to carefully evaluate whether patrons could reasonably expect their personal information to be used for fundraising purposes on the basis of the written information they received when their personal information was originally collected.

Similarly, if a library wanted to use a patron's personal information for a new type of service, such as a new reader's advisory service, the library's use of the personal information for that new service would need to be consistent with the purpose for which the personal information was originally obtained or compiled.

What does 'consistent purpose' mean?

  • A purpose is a 'consistent purpose' only if the individual from whom the information was directly collected might reasonably have expected such a use of the information.

What types of library patron information are considered personal information?

  • Library patron personal information is information about the patron and includes, but is not limited to: the patron's name, address, telephone number, email address, reading preferences, record of materials borrowed, and program attendance.

What must a library do if it would like to use patron information for a new purpose?

  • If a library wants to use the personal information of patrons for a new purpose (i.e., one that is not already provided for, or consistent with the purpose under which the information was collected), the library must acquire and retain the signed consent of the library patron. This consent should state:

    • the name of the patron;
    • the particular personal information to be used;
    • the use or uses for which consent is given;
    • the date of the consent; and
    • the institution to which consent is given.

    Where a library does not retain a paper copy of the patron's signed consent, it is recommended that some record which demonstrates written consent was received is maintained.

Young people in Library Accueil arrow La culture arrow Les bibliothèques publiques

Foire aux questions à propos de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information municipale et la protection de la vie privée

Les questions et réponses suivantes fournissent des renseignements sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information municipale et la protection de la vie privée et sur ses rapports avec les renseignements personnels compris dans les dossiers des usagers des bibliothèques. Le ministère n'offre aucune opinion juridique sur ces questions. Si vous avez d'autres questions sur ce sujet ou sur vos circonstances particulières, vous devez consulter vos propres conseillers juridiques. Pour plus de renseignements sur le sens des renseignements personnels et sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information municipale et la protection de la vie privée, veuillez consulter le site Web du ministère des Services gouvernementaux.

  1. Une bibliothèque peut-elle utiliser les renseignements personnels sur les usagers de la bibliothèque à des fins autres que celles pour lesquelles ces renseignements ont été recueillis (ex. : collecte de fonds, lancement d'un nouveau service de conseils aux lecteurs)?

    Les renseignements personnels ne peuvent être utilisés qu'aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été obtenus et compilés ou pour une fin conforme à ces fins (voir la question 2). L'utilisation des renseignements personnels à d'autres fins n'est pas permise par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information municipale et la protection de la vie privée. Si une bibliothèque veut utiliser les renseignements personnels d'un usager à des fins non conformes à celles pour lesquelles ces renseignements ont d'abord été recueillis et compilés, elle doit obtenir le consentement écrit de l'usager avant de le faire (voir la question 4).

    Il n'est pas permis d'utiliser les renseignements personnels de l'usager pour la collecte de fonds à moins qu'il ait été raisonnable de s'attendre à ce qu'on en fasse cet usage au moment de la collecte des renseignements. Avant d'utiliser les renseignements personnels à des fins de collecte de fonds, les bibliothèques doivent évaluer soigneusement s'il était raisonnable que leurs usagers s'attendent à ce que leurs renseignements personnels servent à des fins de collecte de fonds en analysant les renseignements écrits que les usagers ont reçus au moment oú leurs renseignements personnels ont été recueillis.

    De la même façon, la bibliothèque qui veut utiliser les renseignements personnels d'un usager pour un nouveau type de service, comme un nouveau service de conseils pour lecteurs, doit s'assurer que son utilisation des renseignements personnels pour ce nouveau service est conforme aux fins pour lesquelles les renseignements personnels ont été recueillis et compilés.

  2. Qu'entend-on par «fin conforme»?

    Une fin est une «fin conforme» seulement s'il est raisonnable que le particulier auprès duquel les renseignements ont été directement recueillis s'attende à cette utilisation des renseignements.

  3. Quels sont les renseignements concernant l'usager d'une bibliothèque qui sont considérés renseignements personnels?

    Les renseignements personnels sur les usagers d'une bibliothèque sont des renseignements sur l'usager qui comprennent, de façon non exclusive, le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de téléphone, l'adresse électronique, les préférences de lecture, le registre des ouvrages empruntés et la fiche de participation aux programmes de l'usager.

  4. Que doit faire la bibliothèque qui veut utiliser les renseignements personnels d'un usager à une nouvelle fin?

    La bibliothèque qui veut utiliser les renseignements personnels de ses usagers à une nouvelle fin (c'est-à-dire à une fin qui n'a pas été prévue ou qui n'est pas conforme aux fins pour lesquelles les renseignements ont été recueillis) doit obtenir et conserver le consentement écrit de l'usager de la bibliothèque. Ce consentement devrait comporter :

  • le nom de l'usager,
  • les renseignements personnels qui seront utilisés,
  • les utilisations qui seront faites de ce consentement,
  • la date du consentement et
  • l'institution à laquelle le consentement est accordé.

Lorsqu'une bibliothèque ne conserve pas une copie sur papier du consentement écrit de l'usager, on recommande de conserver un registre quelconque démontrant que l'on a bien reçu ce consentement écrit.