Covered bridge Home arrow Culture arrow Heritage

Tools for individuals, municipalities and communities

Our inheritance of architecture, cultural landscapes, and material culture is an irreplaceable asset and resource. In Ontario, the task of conserving our inheritance of historically and architecturally significant properties is primarily a municipal matter. The Ontario Heritage Act provides a framework within which municipalities can ensure the conservation of properties of cultural heritage value or interest.

Ontario Heritage Toolkit

The Ontario Heritage Toolkit is a series of written booklets. These booklets are guides to help municipal Councils, municipal staff, Municipal Heritage Committees, land use planners, heritage professionals, heritage organizations, property owners, and others understand the heritage conservation process in Ontario. They explain the Ontario Heritage Act, the Planning Act, and related programs.

Municipal heritage committees

The Ontario Heritage Act encourages local citizen participation in heritage conservation. It authorizes the council of a municipality to create a by-law that establishes a municipal heritage committee. Municipal heritage committees, comprised of local citizens who serve their community as volunteers, advise municipal councils and residents on local heritage matters and help municipalities carry out their heritage conservation programs. They are legitimate vehicles for coordinating and conveying community concerns.

For more information on municipal heritage committees, please contact:

Supporting heritage in your community

This ministry has created a presentation that can help your municipal heritage committee or local heritage organizations make the case for supporting heritage in your community. It includes:

  • Tips and Hints for Giving the Presentation
  • Supporting Heritage Slides
  • Main Presentation Speaker Notes
  • Supporting Heritage Supplemental Slides
  • Supplemental Slides Speaker Notes

Heritage property tax relief and sample agreements

Other resources

Covered bridge Accueil arrow La culture arrow Le patrimoine

Outils pour les particuliers, les municipalités et les collectivités

Notre héritage d'architecture, de paysages culturels et de culture matérielle est une ressource et un atout irremplaçables. En Ontario, la conservation de notre patrimoine tant du point de vue historique qu'architectural constitue une tâche qui relève principalement des municipalités. La Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario fournit un cadre dans lequel les municipalités peuvent agir pour assurer la conservation des biens ayant une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel.

Guides Protégeons le patrimoine ontarien

Protégeons le patrimoine ontarien est une série de guides conçus pour aider les conseils municipaux, le personnel des municipalités, les comités municipaux du patrimoine, les responsables de l'aménagement du territoire, les professionnels du patrimoine, les organismes de mise en valeur du patrimoine, les propriétaires de biens et d'autres personnes à comprendre le processus de conservation du patrimoine en Ontario. Les guides expliquent la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario, la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire et d'autres programmes.

Comités municipaux du patrimoine

La Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario encourage la participation de la population locale à la conservation du patrimoine. Elle autorise le conseil d'une municipalité à constituer, par règlement municipal, un comité municipal du patrimoine. Le comité municipal du patrimoine, formé de citoyens qui servent bénévolement leur collectivité, formule des avis au conseil municipal et aux résidents sur des questions d'intérêt local liées au patrimoine, en plus d'aider la municipalité à mener à bien ses programmes de conservation du patrimoine. Il constitue un véhicule légitime de la coordination et de la transmission des préoccupations de la collectivité.

Pour en savoir plus sur les comités municipaux du patrimoine

  • Communiquez avec Bert Duclos, conseiller, liaison en matière de patrimoine, au 416 314‑7154 ou à l'adresse bert.duclos@ontario.ca

Soutien du patrimoine communautaire

Le Ministère a créé ce dossier de présentation pour aider les comités municipaux du patrimoine ou les organismes locaux de mise en valeur du patrimoine à faire valoir le soutien du patrimoine communautaire. Le dossier contient six documents :

  • Conseils et suggestions pour votre présentation
  • Soutien du patrimoine communautaire
  • Présentation principale – Notes de la conférencière ou du conférencier
  • Soutien du patrimoine communautaire – Diapositives additionnelles
  • Diapositives additionnelles – Notes de la conférencière ou du conférencier

Allègement fiscal à l'égard des biens patrimoniaux et exemples d'ententes

Renseignements supplémentaires