The Municipal Register of Heritage Properties

Identifying properties of cultural heritage value or interest is an essential part of a municipality’s role in heritage conservation. This note explains the importance of including heritage properties in the municipal register.

What is the municipal register of cultural heritage properties?

Section 27 of the Ontario Heritage Act requires the clerk of every municipality to keep a publicly accessible register of properties that are of cultural heritage value or interest situated in the municipality.

The municipal register of heritage properties must list all properties in the municipality that are designated under Part IV (individual property designation) and Part V (within a designated heritage conservation district) of the Ontario Heritage Act.

For properties designated under Part IV, the municipal register must include:

  1. a legal description of the property;
  2. the name and address of the owner; and
  3. a statement explaining the cultural heritage value or interest of the property and a description of its heritage attributes.

For districts designated under Part V, the municipal register must include a map or description of the area of each district.

The Ontario Heritage Act (subsection 27(1.2)) also allows a municipality to include properties of cultural heritage value or interest that have not been designated in its municipal register.

Why should a municipality include properties that have not been designated in its municipal register?

Including non-designated properties in the municipal register is a means to identify properties that have cultural heritage value or interest to the community. The municipal register is an important tool in planning for the conservation of heritage properties and provides interim protection from demolition.

A comprehensive register of cultural heritage properties:

  • Recognizes properties of cultural heritage value or interest in the community.
  • Demonstrates a municipal council’s commitment to conserve cultural heritage resources.
  • Enhances knowledge and understanding of the community’s cultural heritage.
  • Provides a database of properties of cultural heritage value or interest for land use planners, property owners, developers, the tourism industry, educators and the general public.
  • Should be consulted by municipal decision makers when reviewing development proposals or permit applications.
  • Provides interim protection from demolition (see below).

How does inclusion in the municipal register provide interim protection from demolition?

An approved building permit from the municipality is required prior to demolition of a building. The Ontario Building Code Act provides mandatory time frames for the review of building permit applications. These include, for example, 10 days for a house and 20 days for a large building.

These building permit review time frames may not provide enough time for a municipality and its municipal heritage committee to assess the cultural heritage value or interest of properties where demolition is proposed.

To address this issue, the Ontario Heritage Act provides interim protection for non-designated properties that are included in the municipal register (see subsections 27 (3)-(5) of the Ontario Heritage Act). Owners of such properties must give the council of the municipality at least 60 days notice in writing of their intention to demolish or remove a building or structure on the property or to permit the demolition or removal of the building or structure. This allows time for the municipality to decide whether to begin the designation process.

What is the process to include properties in the municipal register?

Each municipality must list all properties that have been designated under Parts IV or V of the Ontario Heritage Act in the municipal register.

To include a property that has not been designated in the municipal register, a municipal council must believe that a property has cultural heritage value or interest and provide a description that is sufficient to readily identify the property, such as the property’s street address.

Although detailed research and evaluation of the property are not required, it is suggested that a brief rationale be included that explains why a municipal council believes that the property is of cultural heritage value or interest. The municipality may want to consider the Criteria for Determining Cultural Heritage Value or Interest in Ontario Regulation 9/06 under the Ontario Heritage Act when deciding which properties to include in the municipal register. For more information on heritage property evaluation, please refer to the guide to Heritage Property Evaluation in the Ontario Heritage Tool Kit.

In a municipality with a municipal heritage committee, council must consult with its committee before a property that has not been designated under Part IV is added or removed from the municipal register.

A municipality is not required to consult with property owners or the public before including non-designated properties in the municipal register. However, notifying the property owner that their property will be included in the municipal register is recommended. For example, when the Toronto Preservation Board (municipal heritage committee) recommends a property’s inclusion on the municipal register, property owners are notified and invited to attend the Toronto Preservation Board meeting to discuss the matter.

Discussion with the broader community may also be helpful. The City of Kenora, for example, held a public forum to help decide which properties of heritage value or interest should be included in its municipal register.

Requests to include a property in the municipal register may come from anyone, including property owners, a municipal heritage committee, municipal staff, local historical societies or residents’ associations.

What about existing heritage inventories?

In addition to the required municipal register of designated cultural heritage properties, many municipalities have existing inventories or lists of properties of potential cultural heritage value or interest. This practice is sometimes referred to as “listing”.

If your municipality has an existing inventory of properties of cultural heritage value or interest, you may wish to consider the following questions when determining whether to include all or part of the inventory in the municipal register:

  • Was the inventory previously adopted by the municipal heritage committee and/or municipal council?
  • Is the inventory recognized in planning policy, such as the municipal Official Plan?
  • Was the public consulted as part of the development of the inventory?
  • Does the list consider the full range of properties that may have cultural heritage value or interest? For example, does the inventory include cultural heritage landscapes?

There are examples of municipal councils who have elected to “roll” all or part of an existing inventory into the municipal register, while others have undertaken a new process to identify properties. This would be an appropriate time to consider whether older inventories were compiled using criteria that are consistent with current heritage conservation best practice.

Can provincially owned heritage properties be included in the municipal register?

The Ontario Heritage Act allows a municipality to include provincially owned heritage properties in the municipal register. Provincially owned heritage properties are exempt from the provisions of Part IV of the Act, including the requirement to provide notice of intention to demolish or remove a building or structure on the property. Provincially owned heritage properties are not subject to designation by municipalities.

Provincially owned heritage properties are protected under Part III.1 of the Ontario Heritage Act, which gives the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport the authority to prepare standards and guidelines that set out the criteria and the process for the identification of properties that have cultural heritage value or interest, and set standards for the protection, maintenance, use and disposal of these properties. These standards and guidelines are known as the Standards and Guidelines for Conservation of Provincial Heritage Properties (the “Standards and Guidelines”). The Standards and Guidelines came into effect on July 1, 2010 and apply to property that is owned or controlled by the provincial government. All provincial ministries and prescribed public bodies listed in Ontario Regulation 157/10 must comply with the Standards and Guidelines.

Including a provincially owned heritage property in the municipal register indicates to the Province, as the property owner/manager, that the property has cultural heritage value or interest to the local community. The Standards and Guidelines require that decisions regarding provincial heritage properties be made in an open, accountable way, taking into account the views of interested persons and communities.



For more information on municipal registers, please contact the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport at (416) 314-7265 or Toll Free at 1-866-454-0049 or general_info@mtc.gov.on.ca.

Le registre municipal des biens patrimoniaux

L’identification des biens ayant une valeur sur le plan du patrimoine culturel fait partie intégrante de la conservation du patrimoine municipal. La présente fiche explique l’importance de l’inscription des biens patrimoniaux sur le registre municipal.

En quoi consiste le registre municipal des biens du patrimoine culturel?

L’article 27 de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario exige que le secrétaire de chaque municipalité locale tienne un registre auquel le public peut avoir accès des biens ayant une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel, situés dans la municipalité.

Le registre municipal des biens patrimoniaux doit énumérer tous les biens au sein de la municipalité qui sont désignés aux termes de la Partie IV (désignation individuelle) et de la Partie V (désignation des districts) de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario.

Dans le cas des biens désignés en vertu de la Partie IV, le registre doit inclure ce qui suit :

  1. leur description légale;
  2. le nom et l’adresse de leur propriétaire;
  3. une déclaration qui explique leur valeur ou leur caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel ainsi qu’une description de leurs attributs patrimoniaux.

Dans le cas des districts désignés en vertu de la Partie V, le registre doit inclure une carte ou une description de la zone correspondant à chacun de ces districts.

La Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario (le paragraphe 27 (1.2)) permet aussi qu’un registre puisse comprendre des biens ayant une valeur sur le plan du patrimoine culturel qui n’ont pas été désignés.

Pourquoi le registre devrait-il comprendre les biens qui n’ont pas été désignés?

Inscrire les biens non désignés dans le registre municipal permet d’identifier les biens qui ont une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel aux yeux de la collectivité. Le registre est un outil important permettant de planifier la conservation des biens et d’offrir une mesure de protection provisoire.

Un registre exhaustif des biens du patrimoine culturel :

  • Répertorie les biens ayant une valeur sur le plan du patrimoine culturel dans la collectivité
  • Démontre l’engagement du conseil municipal dans la conservation des ressources du patrimoine culturel
  • Augmente la connaissance du patrimoine culturel de la collectivité et permet de mieux le comprendre
  • Fournit une base de données des biens du patrimoine culturel à l’intention des responsables de l’aménagement du territoire, des propriétaires de biens immobiliers, des promoteurs immobiliers, de l’industrie touristique, des éducateurs et du grand public
  • Devrait être consulté par des décideurs municipaux dans le cadre de l’examen des projets d’aménagement ou des demandes de permis
  • Accorde une protection provisoire aux biens figurant sur la liste (voir ci-dessous).

Comment l’inscription dans le registre municipal peut-elle accorder la protection provisoire?

Un permis de construction approuvé par la municipalité est nécessaire avant la démolition d'un bâtiment. La Loi sur le code du bâtiment de l'Ontario prévoit des délais obligatoires pour l'examen des demandes de permis de construire. Par exemple, un délai de 10 jours pour une maison et un délai de 20 jours pour un grand bâtiment.

Les municipalités et comités municipaux du patrimoine pourraient manquer de temps, en raison des délais d’examen des permis de construction, pour évaluer la valeur ou le caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel des biens pour lesquels une démolition est proposée.

Pour régler ce problème, la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario permet d’assurer la protection provisoire des biens non désignés qui sont inscrits sur le registre municipal (voir les paragraphes 27 (3)-(5) de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario). Les propriétaires de tels biens doivent accorder au conseil de la municipalité un préavis d’au moins 60 jours de leur intention de démolir ou d’enlever un bâtiment ou une construction qui se trouve sur le bien. Cela permettra d’accorder à la municipalité assez de temps pour décider si elle souhaite entamer le processus de désignation.

En quoi consiste le processus d’inscrire des biens non désignés dans le registre?

Chaque municipalité doit énumérer dans son registre tous les biens qui ont été désignés aux termes des Parties IV our V de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario.

Pour inscrire un bien qui n’a pas été désigné dans le registre, le bien doit, selon le conseil municipal, avoir une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel. Le registre doit aussi donner une description qui rend le bien aisément identifiable, comme l’adresse du bien. Bien qu’il ne soit pas nécessaire de faire de recherches ou une évaluation détaillée du bien, le conseil municipal devrait fournir une courte justification expliquant la raison pour laquelle le conseil municipal estime que le bien a une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel. La municipalité peut considérer les Critères permettant d'établir la valeur ou le caractère d'un bien sur le plan du patrimoine culturel dans le Règlement de l’Ontario 9/06 en vertu de la Loi du patrimoine de l’Ontario en decidant quels biens seront inscrits dans le registre. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’évaluation des biens patrimoniaux, veuillez consulter le guide d’Évaluation des biens patrimoniaux de la trousse Protégeons le patrimoine ontarien.

Dans les municipalités ayant un comité municipal du patrimoine, le conseil doit consulter son comité avant qu’un bien non désigné aux termes de la Partie IV puisse être ajouté ou radié du registre.

La municipalité n’est pas tenue de consulter les propriétaires du bien ou le public pour inscrire des biens non désignés dans le registre. Cependant, nous recommandons d’aviser les propriétaires que leur bien est inscrit. Par exemple, lorsque le Toronto Preservation Board (comité municipal du patrimoine) recommande qu’un bien soit inscrit dans le registre, il en avise les propriétaires et il les invite à assister à la réunion du Toronto Preservation Board au cours de laquelle la question sera débattue.

Les discussions avec la communauté élargie peuvent aussi être bénéfiques. La ville de Kenora, par exemple, a organisé une réunion publique pour décider quels biens patrimoniaux importants devraient être inscrits dans le registre. Les demandes d’inscription d’un bien dans le registre municipal peuvent émaner de propriétaires de biens, de comités municipaux du patrimoine, du personnel responsable du patrimoine municipal ou de l’urbanisme, de sociétés d’histoire locales ou d’associations de résidents.

Qu’en est-il des inventaires existants du patrimoine?

En plus du registre municipal requis des biens du patrimoine culturel désignés, de nombreuses municipalités ont des inventaires ou des listes de biens ayant une valeur ou un caractère potentiel sur le plan du patrimoine culturel. Cet exercice est parfois appelé le « listage ».

Si votre municipalité a un inventaire existant des biens ayant une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel, vous pouvez considérer les questions suivantes en décidant d’inscrire soit l’inventaire complet soit une partie de l’inventaire dans le registre :

  • Cet inventaire a-t-il déjà été adopté par le comité municipal du patrimoine ou le conseil municipal?
  • Cet inventaire est-il reconnu dans les politiques de planification, tel que le plan officiel de la municipalité?
  • Le public a-t-il été consulté durant l’élaboration de l’inventaire?
  • Est-ce que la liste tient compte de tout l’éventail de biens qui pourront avoir une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel. Par exemple, est-ce que l’inventaire comprend les paysages du patrimoine culturel?

Il y a des exemples de conseils municipaux qui ont décidé de « transférer » tout l’inventaire ou une partie de celui-ci dans le registre, tandis que d’autres ont entamé un nouveau processus d’identification des biens. À ce moment-là, il serait opportun de considérer si des inventaires plus anciens ont été dressés en utilisant des critères cohérents avec les pratiques exemplaires courantes de la conservation du patrimoine.

Les biens patrimoniaux que possède le gouvernement de l’Ontario peuvent-ils être inscrits dans le registre municipal?

La Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario permet à une municipalité d’inscrire des biens patrimoniaux que possède le gouvernement de l’Ontario dans le registre municipal. Les biens patrimoniaux que possède le gouvernement de l’Ontario sont exempts des termes de la Partie IV de la loi, y compris l’exigence d’accorder un préavis d’une intention de démolir ou d’enlever un bâtiment ou une construction qui se trouve sur le bien. Les biens patrimoniaux que possède le gouvernement de l’Ontario ne sont pas sujets à la désignation par les municipalités.

Les biens patrimoniaux que possède le gouvernement de l’Ontario sont protégés aux termes de la Partie III.1 de la Loi sur le patrimoine de I’Ontario, qui permet au ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport de fixer des normes et lignes directrices établissant les critères et le processus à suivre pour désigner les biens à valeur patrimoniale, et d'élaborer des normes pour la protection, l'entretien, l'utilisation et la disposition de ces biens. Ces normes et lignes directrices sont connues comme les Normes et lignes directrices relatives à la conservation des biens à valeur patrimoniale de l'Ontario (les « Normes et lignes directrices »). Les Normes et lignes directrices sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 2010 et s'appliquent aux biens que possède et dirige le gouvernement de l'Ontario. Tous les ministères du gouvernement de l’Ontario ainsi que les organismes publics prescrits mentionnés dans le Règlement de l'Ontario 157/10 sont tenus de se conformer aux Normes et lignes directrices.

Inscrire un bien que possède le gouvernement de l’Ontario dans le registre municipal indique à la province, en tant que propriétaire ou gérante du bien, que le bien a de la valeur ou du caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel aux yeux de la collectivité locale. Les Normes et lignes directrices exigent que les décisions concernant les biens patrimoniaux provinciaux soient prises de manière transparente et responsable en tenant compte des points de vue de personnes ou de collectivités intéressées.



Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les registres municipaux, veuillez contacter le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport au (416) 314-7265 ou composez le numéro sans frais 1-866-454-0049. Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web.