Niagara-on-the-Lake historical museum Home arrow Culture arrow Heritage

Discover Ontario’s Heritage

Museums, Historical Societies and Provincial Heritage Organizations

The ministry works closely with museums, historical societies and provincial heritage organizations. These organizations engage Ontarians in discovery. From learning how to research one`s family history, to telling the stories of your community, these organizations help support cultural tourism and contribute to community vibrancy. Find out how to reach these organizations below.

Museums

The ministry provides over $5M per year in funding support to over 180 local museums in Ontario that meet provincial standards. Together these museums tell Ontario`s story. Find what`s happening at your local museum today.

Historical Societies

There are hundreds of local historical societies in every region of Ontario. Over 350 of these are affiliates of the Ontario Historical Society, with new groups affiliating every year in response to needs in their local community. The ministry provides just over $250,000 per year to over 160 eligible historical societies to support their operations. Discover the local historical society in your region – you might be surprised! 

Provincial Heritage Organizations

This ministry provides annual operating support to the 12 Provincial Heritage Organizations listed below. They are umbrella organizations for the major types of heritage activities across the province, representing disciplines such as archaeology, genealogy, architecture, history, archives and museums. The programs and services they deliver promote wide public access to Ontario's heritage and encourage public participation in heritage conservation activities.

Niagara-on-the-Lake historical museum Accueil arrow La culture arrow Le patrimoine

Découvrez le patrimoine de l'Ontario

Musées, sociétés historiques et Organismes de mise en valeur du patrimoine

Le ministère travaille en étroite collaboration avec les musées, sociétés historiques et patrimoniaux provinciaux. Ces organisations s'engagent dans la découverte de l'Ontario. D'apprendre à la recherche historique s `en famille, à raconter les histoires de votre communauté, ces organisations aident à soutenir le tourisme culturel et de contribuer à la communauté dynamisme. Découvrez comment atteindre ces organisations ci-dessous.

Musées

Le ministère ccorde des subventions annuelles de plus de 5M $ en soutien financier à plus de 180 musées locaux en Ontario qui répondent aux normes provinciales. Ensemble, ces musées racontent l'histoire de l`Ontario. Trouver ce qui s `passe à votre musée local aujourd'hui.

Sociétés historiques

Il ya des centaines de sociétés historiques locales dans toutes les régions de l'Ontario. Plus de 350 d'entre eux sont des filiales de la Société historique de l'Ontario, avec de nouveaux groupes s'affiliant chaque année pour répondre aux besoins de leur communauté locale. Le ministère accorde des subventions annuelles d'un peu plus de $ 250 000 à environ 160 sociétés historiques admissibles pour soutenir leurs activités. Découvrez la société historique locale dans votre région - vous pourriez être surpris!

Organismes provinciaux de mise en valeur du patrimoine

Le Ministère accorde des subventions de fonctionnement annuelles aux 12 organismes provinciaux de mise en valeur du patrimoine énumérés ci-dessous. Ces organismes encadrent les principales activités patrimoniales menées en province et représentent l'archéologie, la généalogie, l'architecture, l'histoire, les archives et la muséologie, entre autres disciplines. Leurs programmes et services élargissent l'accès du public au patrimoine de l'Ontario et encouragent la participation aux activités de conservation du patrimoine.