This ministry provides leadership within the arts and culture community to support a strong and stable culture sector that will help to build vibrant and liveable communities and a creative and innovative knowledge-based economy in Ontario.

We work with the culture sector to develop and implement policies, programs and services that enhance the contribution of cultural industries, arts, heritage, archaeology, libraries, museums and cultural agencies to Ontario's quality of life.

Among our activities, we:

  • Provide leadership in developing innovative and globally-competitive content for the film, television, interactive digital media, recorded music, book and magazine publishing industries
  • Invest in Ontario's cultural agencies to support innovative programming and collections that showcase the best of our cultural diversity and creativity
  • Administer the Public Libraries Act and the Ontario Heritage Act, license archaeologists in the province, provide funding support, advice and outreach to public libraries, community museums and heritage organizations.

Ontario’s Culture Strategy

In July 2016, Ontario launched its first Culture Strategy, which establishes goals and actions to promote participation in arts and culture, build on the sector's economic impact in communities across the province and help Ontarians tell their stories and express themselves.

The strategy reflects the input of nearly 3,000 people who provided feedback during Culture Talks — a three-month public engagement process on the value of culture in people's lives.

Read more about the strategy.

Culture

Ce ministère assure un rôle de direction au sein de la communauté des arts et de la culture afin d'aider à créer un environnement culturel florissant en Ontario, une économie créative prospère, des collectivités dynamiques où il fait bon vivre et une intendance des biens patrimoniaux.

Nous travaillons en collaboration avec les collectivités locales et les organismes culturels afin de promouvoir les arts et les industries culturelles, de protéger le patrimoine de l'Ontario et de faire progresser le réseau de bibliothèques publiques. Dans le cadre de nos activités :

  • Nous assurons un rôle de direction dans l'élaboration de contenu novateur et compétitif à l'échelle mondiale pour les industries du film, de la télévision, des produits multimédias interactifs numériques, de la musique enregistrée et de l'édition de livres et de revues.
  • Nous contribuons à la création d'emplois et générons un avantage concurrentiel par l'investissement dans des industries créatives novatrices et à forte croissance visant à faire de l'Ontario le chef de file de l'économie fondée sur le savoir.
  • Nous améliorons la contribution des arts au bien-être social, culturel et économique de l'Ontario en assurant la promotion et le soutien du secteur culturel et des artistes ontariens, en protégeant le patrimoine de l'Ontario, en faisant progresser le réseau des bibliothèques publiques et en investissant dans les organismes culturels