Film crewHome arrow Culture arrow Creative Cluster

Current policy initiatives and issues

A rapidly evolving regulatory and business environment is now transforming the way in which cultural content products will be conceived, developed, produced, distributed and enjoyed by consumers. This ministry engages in priority policy analysis, development and advocacy with partners at all levels of government. Our goal is to encourage a modernized legislative and regulatory environment that provides cultural content producers with the most favourable environment in the world in which to do business and reach audiences with their work.

Ontario's Entertainment and Creative Cluster: A Framework for Growth

This document lays out this ministry's vision for the continued growth and leadership of Ontario's entertainment and creative cluster (the film, television, publishing, music and interactive digital media sectors).

Broadcasting policy development

The shifting communications environment within the television, radio, wireless and Internet sectors has a fundamental impact on the content production, delivery and consumption of Canada's broadcasting system. This ministry is actively researching and monitoring this sector.

Canada's digital economy strategy

The Government of Canada is developing a Digital Economy Strategy for Canada One of its key elements is the need to position a strong and competitive digital media industry so it can take a leading role in shaping the global digital economy. This ministry is actively engaged in monitoring the process, analyzing the impacts of options on cultural stakeholders and ensuring that an integrated digital economy strategy recognizes the critical role of content producers.

Copyright modernization

The proposed Copyright Modernization Act (Bill C-32) was introduced into the House of Commons in 2010 to update the system of rights and obligations that govern the use of intellectual property in Canada. This ministry is tracking the progress of the Bill and stakeholder responses. A balanced copyright regime is fundamental to the continued growth of the cultural media industries and our culture in general. It would provide fair opportunities for citizens to use and enjoy entertainment content and also ensure that creators of entertainment products benefit from their work.

Digital transformation

This ministry is working on a project, in partnership with the Ontario Media Development Corporation, to analyze the growing transformation of cultural products and experiences to digital platforms. Our goals are to:

  • Better understand future opportunities and successful business models for Ontario products
  • Help maximize our potential in digital production
  • Enable cultural entrepreneurs to innovate and evolve the digital aspects of their businesses.

Foreign investment

Ownership and control of cultural businesses in Canada has been historically critical to preserving cultural expression by Canadians, for Canadians. Investment by non-Canadians in cultural businesses falls under the Investment Canada Act, which can review new investments to determine the impact on and benefits to cultural expression and a thriving cultural sector in Canada. This ministry is keeping a close eye on recent federal initiatives to review Canada's approach to foreign investment in the telecommunications and satellite industry as well as the book publishing industry. These could positively and negatively impact the business of developing and distributing cultural content.

Film crew Accueil arrow La culture arrow Secteur de la création

Initiatives et questions stratégiques

L'évolution rapide de la réglementation et de la conjoncture change la façon dont les produits culturels sont conçus, créés, distribués et utilisés. Le Ministère et ses partenaires des différents ordres de gouvernement travaillent à analyser, à élaborer et à promouvoir des politiques portant sur des questions prioritaires. L'objectif est d'encourager la mise en œuvre de nouveaux règlements et lois qui offriront aux producteurs de contenu culturel le meilleur cadre qui soit pour travailler et conquérir les publics cibles.

Le secteur du divertissement et de la création de l'Ontario : Un cadre propice à la croissance.

Ce document expose la stratégie adoptée par le Ministère pour faire en sorte que le secteur du divertissement et de la création de l'Ontario (cinéma, télévision, édition, musique et produits multimédias interactifs numériques) poursuive sa croissance et continue à jouer un rôle moteur. 

L'avenir de la radiodiffusion

L'évolution des communications dans les industries de la télévision, de la radio, des produits sans fil et d'Internet influe considérablement sur la production, la transmission et l'utilisation du contenu radiophonique au Canada. C'est pourquoi le Ministère travaille activement à étudier et à surveiller le secteur de la radiodiffusion.

Stratégie sur l'économie numérique du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille à une stratégie sur l'économie numérique du Canada. L'un des principaux objectifs de cette stratégie consiste à renforcer l'industrie des médias numériques et à la rendre concurrentielle de façon à ce qu'elle puisse se tailler une place de premier plan dans une économie mondiale numérisée. Le Ministère travaille activement à surveiller le processus, à analyser les répercussions des options offertes chez les intervenants du secteur culturel et à faire en sorte que le rôle central des producteurs de contenu soit reconnu dans le cadre d'une stratégie intégrée.

Modernisation du droit d'auteur

Le projet de loi C‑32 : Loi sur la modernisation du droit d'auteur a été déposé à la Chambre des communes en 2010 dans le but de modifier le régime des droits et des obligations applicables à la propriété intellectuelle au Canada. Le Ministère suit l'évolution du projet de loi et les réactions des parties intéressées. Le développement des industries des médias culturels et de notre culture en général repose essentiellement sur un régime du droit d'auteur équilibré. Ainsi, les citoyens pourraient profiter des produits de divertissement, et les créateurs bénéficieraient de leurs œuvres.

Passage à l'ère numérique

Le Ministère et la Société de développement de l'industrie des médias de l'Ontario collaborent à projet qui vise à étudier la transition des expériences et des produits culturels vers un environnement numérique. Le Ministère s'est fixé les objectifs suivants :

  • mieux comprendre les débouchés et les modèles de gestion efficaces pour les produits ontariens
  • maximiser son potentiel de production numérique;
  • permettre aux entrepreneurs du secteur culturel d'innover et de développer une plateforme numérique pour leurs activités.

Investissements étrangers

La propriété et le contrôle des entreprises culturelles canadiennes sont essentiels à la préservation de l'expression culturelle par les Canadiens et pour les Canadiens. Les investissements étrangers visant des entreprises culturelles sont régis par la Loi sur Investissement Canada. Cette loi autorise l'examen de nouveaux investissements pour en déterminer l'incidence sur l'expression culturelle et sur le secteur culturel canadien, en plein essor. Le Ministère surveille de près les récentes initiatives fédérales visant à revoir la politique canadienne sur les investissements étrangers dans l'industrie des télécommunications et du satellite et l'industrie de l'édition de livres. Ces initiatives pourraient influer sur les activités de création et de distribution de contenu culturel.