Sound mixing boardHome arrow Culture arrow Creative Cluster

The World is Changing: Opportunities for Ontario in New and Emerging Markets

Table of contents

Growth in the global entertainment and media market has led to increased export opportunities for Ontario's Creative Cluster (e.g. as emerging economies begin to spend more on entertainment products), but has also heightened the competition (e.g. as these same emerging economies start to develop their own Creative Clusters).

Other countries and regions have recognized that Creative Clusters represent a good investment for future economic growth, and are aligning government support to stimulate this growth, gain global prominence and attract future investment and talent. Ontario's competitors rely on both quality of product and competitive pricing of that product. The U.S. entertainment industry remains the traditional global leader. However, small countries (e.g. Iceland and Finland) are also exporting their creative products, and — along with larger economies in every region of the world — are working to attract talent and investment. Ontario has also developed a leading role as a cost-competitive service provider to other Creative Clusters, such as Hollywood, but intensifying competition from other service jurisdictions is placing increased stress on this position.

Over the past couple of decades, Ontario cultural industries have proven to be leaders in international sales and strong partners for co-production and distribution world-wide. This record forms a solid base from which to approach the current situation, in which the market for creative products and services is becoming increasingly globalized. Established markets (e.g. UK and France) as well as new and emerging markets (e.g. India and China) represent significant opportunities for companies with good quality and high value-for-money products and services.

BOX 1: CASE STUDY OF ARTS + CRAFTS RECORDS

Founded in 2002, Arts + Crafts is an Ontario-based independent record label, management company and music publisher. Arts + Crafts has a talent pool including such internationally successful artists as Feist, Stars, Constantines, The Dears and The Stills. The company offers a 50-50 revenue sharing scheme to artists, which is significantly more competitive than the industry standard. The sense of community among the artists has served as a catalyst for collaboration and as encouragement for artists to pursue their creative interests. Arts + Crafts has found its niche in the cinematic market with music that has been featured in a host of soundtracks, including The O.C., Falcon Beach, and The Comeback Season.

The company demonstrates how an artist-owned label can be successful domestically but also expand and distribute globally. In January 2006, Arts + Crafts opened an office in Europe (in a partnership with City Slang Records) thereby enabling Canadian independent artists to distribute their records in the UK, Germany, Austria and Netherlands. Similarly, in October 2008, Arts + Crafts opened an office in Mexico City where they plan to distribute their own artists while also tapping into the talent pool in Mexico and South America.

Continue

Sound mixing board Accueil arrow La culture arrow Secteur de la création

Le monde change : les possibilités s'offrant à l'Ontario dans les marchés nouveaux et émergents

Table des matières

La croissance dans le marché mondial du divertissement et des médias a entraîné un accroissement des débouchés pour le secteur ontarien de la création (p. ex., les économies émergentes dépensent de plus en plus en produits de divertissement), mais aussi l'exacerbation de la concurrence, car ces mêmes économies émergentes commencent à développer leur propre secteur de la création.

D'autres pays et régions ont reconnu l'importance du secteur de la création afin d'assurer la croissance économique future et harmonisent le soutien du gouvernement de façon à stimuler la croissance, à obtenir une renommée mondiale et à attirer les futurs investissements et talents. Les concurrents de l'Ontario tablent sur la qualité des produits ainsi que sur leur prix concurrentiel. L'industrie américaine du divertissement conserve sa place de chef de file mondial. Toutefois, certains petits pays (comme l'Islande et la Finlande) exportent également leurs produits créatifs et, à l'instar des grandes économies de chaque région du monde, s'efforcent d'attirer les talents et les investissements. L'Ontario assume aussi un rôle de premier plan à titre de fournisseur de services à prix concurrentiels à d'autres partenaires, comme les industries créatives d'Hollywood, mais l'intensification de la concurrence internationale met davantage de pression sur la province.

Au cours des deux ou trois dernières décennies, les industries culturelles de l'Ontario ont démontré qu'elles étaient des chefs de file au chapitre des ventes internationales ainsi que des partenaires majeurs pour ce qui est de la coproduction, de la distribution et des ventes. L'Ontario devra s'appuyer sur cette solide réputation pour aborder le contexte actuel, c'est-à-dire la mondialisation croissante du marché destiné aux produits et aux services créatifs. Les marchés développés (la France et le R.-U., p. ex.) ainsi que les marchés nouveaux et émergents (l'Inde et la Chine, p. ex.) représentent d'importants débouchés pour les entreprises dont les produits et les services sont de bonne qualité et rentables.

Encadré 1 : Étude de cas de Arts & Crafts Records

Fondée en 2002, Arts & Crafts est une maison de disques ontarienne indépendante, une entreprise de gestion et un éditeur de musique. Arts & Crafts dispose d'un basin de talents, dont des artistes remportant du succès sur la scène internationale comme Feist, Stars, The Constantines, The Dears and the Stills. L'entreprise garde la moitié des revenus et donne l'autre moitié aux artistes, ce qui est beaucoup plus concurrentiel que ce qui se fait normalement dans l'industrie. Le sentiment d'appartenance au groupe des artistes sert de catalyseur à la collaboration et encourage les artistes à poursuivre leur parcours créatif. Arts & Crafts a trouvé sa niche dans le marché cinématographique; la musique de ses artistes s'étant retrouvée sur plusieurs bandes sonores, dont The O.C., Falcon Beach, et The Comeback Season.

L'entreprise est la preuve qu'une maison de disques appartenant à des artistes peut réussir à l'échelle nationale, mais également prendre de l'expansion et distribuer ses produits dans le monde entier. En janvier 2006, Arts & Crafts a ouvert un bureau en Europe (en partenariat avec City Slang Records), permettant ainsi aux artistes canadiens indépendants de distribuer leurs disques au R.-U., en Allemagne, en Autriche et aux Pays-Bas. De même, en octobre 2008, Arts & Crafts a ouvert un bureau à Mexico, où la maison de disques prévoit distribuer les disques de ses artistes tout en exploitant également les talents du Mexique et de l'Amérique du Sud.

Continuer