Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts

Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts Finalists

The Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts recognize outstanding achievements by Ontario’s artists and arts organizations. The awards are open to artists and arts organizations engaged in any professional arts practice in Ontario whose artistic work or service spans a minimum of 10 years.

2016 nomination deadline: December 1, 2015

Any Ontario resident who enjoys and takes an interest in Ontario’s arts and cultural industries may nominate an artist or arts organization for the awards. You may submit a nomination in one category only, for either the Artist Award or the Arts Organization Award, not both, per year.

Prizes are divided into two categories:

Artist Award:

  • The Artist Award recognizes a professional artist.
  • One laureate will receive a cash award of $35,000 and a framed certificate.
  • Five short-listed finalists will each receive $2,000 and a framed certificate.
  • The laureate will nominate a promising new or emerging individual talent in the same field who will receive a cash award of $15,000 and a framed certificate. 

Arts Organization Award:

  • The Arts Organization Award is given to an arts organization involved in the production and/or distribution of artistic work by professional artists.
  • One laureate will receive a cash award of $50,000 and a framed certificate. 
  • Five short-listed finalists will each receive $2,000 and a framed certificate.

2015 Premier’s Awards Winners

The 2015 Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts were held on October 20, 2015 in Toronto.

Artist

Jane BunnettJane Bunnett

Jane Bunnett is an internationally acclaimed flutist, saxophonist, pianist and composer who has built her career at the crossroads between Cuban music and jazz.

Emerging Artist

Christopher ButcherChristopher Butcher

After only 17 seasons, Soulpepper Theatre Company, led by Artistic Director Albert Schultz and Executive Director Leslie Lester, has become one of Canada’s most celebrated and innovative theatre companies.

Arts Organization

SOULPEPPER - logoSOULPEPPER THEATRE COMPANY

2015 Premier’s Awards Artist Finalists

Jennifer Baichwal

Jennifer Baichwal
Media Arts – Toronto

Jennifer Baichwal has been making award-winning documentaries for over 20 years. Let It Come Down: The Life of Paul Bowles won an International Emmy in 1999. Manufactured Landscapes, released in 12 countries, won multiple international awards. Act of God opened the Hot Docs Film Festival in May 2009. Payback premiered in competition at the Sundance Film Festival in 2012. Watermark, a special presentation at TIFF 2013, was released in 12 countries and won the Toronto Film Critics Association prize for Best Canadian Film. She is currently working on Anthropocene, the third in a trilogy with Edward Burtynsky and Nick de Pencier, which will be completed in 2017.

Christi Belcourt

Christi Belcourt
Visual Arts – Espanola

Christi Belcourt is a Michif (Métis) visual artist and author whose ancestry originates from the Métis historic community of Lac Ste. Anne, Alberta. Like generations of Indigenous artists before her, she celebrates the beauty of the natural world while exploring nature’s symbolic properties. Her work can be found within the public collections of the National Gallery of Canada, the Gabriel Dumont Institute, the Indian and Inuit Art Collection, the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Canadian Museum of History, and the Thunder Bay Art Gallery. She was named the laureate of the 2014 Ontario Arts Council Aboriginal Arts Award.

Jane Bunnett

Jane Bunnett
Music – Toronto

Jane Bunnett is an internationally acclaimed flutist, saxophonist, pianist and composer who has built her career at the crossroads between Cuban music and jazz. She is the recipient of multiple JUNO Awards, a Canadian Urban Music Award, the Order of Canada, an honourary doctorate from Queen’s University and a Diamond Jubilee Medal from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. She has also been nominated twice for GRAMMY Awards in the Best Latin Jazz Album category. In 2012 Jane marked her 30th anniversary of Canadian-Cuban collaborations.

Barry Dempster

Barry Dempster
Literature – Holland Landing

Barry Dempster, twice nominated for the Governor General’s Awards, is the author of 15 collections of poetry, two volumes of short stories, two novels, and a children’s book. He won the Canadian Authors Association Chalmers Poetry Award in 2005 for his book, The Burning Alphabet. This is Barry’s second nomination for the Ontario Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts. Most recently, he was nominated for the 2014 Trillium Book Award for his second novel, The Outside World. He is presently Acquisitions Editor for Brick Books.

Alex Pauk

Alex Pauk
Music – Toronto

Conductor and composer Alex Pauk, a Member of the Order of Canada and recipient of the Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prize, revitalized orchestral life for composers in 1983 by founding Esprit Orchestra as Canada’s only orchestra devoted to new music. Through Esprit Orchestra, he fosters high-calibre performances, innovative programming, commissions, recordings, videos, education programs, mentoring programs, outreach initiatives, national and international touring, and interdisciplinary arts ventures. As a composer he works with every kind of performing ensemble, as well as theatre and dance companies. Alex also has a dynamic film music component to his career having composed over 30 movie scores.

Mavis Staines

Mavis Staines
Dance – Toronto

Upon graduation from Canada’s National Ballet School (NBS) in 1972, Staines danced with The National Ballet of Canada and The Dutch National Ballet until an accident cut short her performance career. She subsequently enrolled in NBS' Teacher Training Program, joining NBS' Artistic Faculty in1982 and being appointed Artistic Director in 1989. Mavis works to evolve ballet education by building on the best of traditional schooling while ensuring dancers develop the self-awareness and creativity essential to leading dynamic, innovative careers and lives. She is the driving force behind NBS' commitment to bring dance to all members of the community.

2015 Premier’s Awards Arts Organization Award Finalists

Art Gallery of Hamilton - logo

Art Gallery of Hamilton
Visual Arts – Hamilton

Founded in 1914, the Art Gallery of Hamilton (AGH) has grown and developed along with the communities it serves. It is the oldest and largest art museum in southwestern Ontario. Its permanent collection, one of the finest in Canada, numbers 10,000 works that are nationally recognized as significant achievements in the development of the visual arts. The AGH is a vital creative hub and centre of lifelong learning that enables people of all ages to enrich their lives by gaining a deeper understanding of art. An engine of revitalization, the AGH contributes significantly to the cultural and economic life of Hamilton, Ontario, and Canada.

Prise de parole - logo

Èditions Prise de Parole
Book Publishing – Sudbury

The oldest of the French-language publishing houses in Ontario, Éditions Prise de parole has been working in Sudbury for over 40 years. It is recognized in Canada for the quality of some 350 titles published by over 150 authors. By standing the test of time, patiently building a catalogue of strong, outstanding works that are the expression of its environment, the publishing house has made the Nickel Capital into a literary capital with an indelible literary face and mood. It continues to highlight the wealth of literary creations and scholarly works by creators and researchers of French Canada.

Hot Docs - logo

Hot Docs
Media Arts– Toronto

Canadian International Documentary Festival was founded in 1996 with a mandate to showcase and support the work of Canadian and international documentary filmmakers and to promote excellence in documentary production. Today, Hot Docs produces North America's largest documentary festival, conference and market, and operates the Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, which is the only documentary-focused cinema in the world. Throughout the year, Hot Docs runs a number of programs in support of their mandate, including providing much-needed financial support to filmmakers facing financing gaps at critical stages in their projects through three separate production funds.

ImagineNATIVE - logo

ImagineNATIVE
Media Arts – Toronto

The imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival is the world’s largest annual showcase of film, video, audio and digital media works created by Indigenous artists. Each fall, the festival presents a selection of over 125 of the most compelling and distinctive Indigenous works from around the globe. Other activities throughout the year include a national tour, curated co-presentations and the indigiFLIX community screening series. The works accepted for the festival reflect the diversity of the world's Indigenous nations and illustrate the vitality and excellence of their art and culture in contemporary media.

SOULPEPPER - logo

SOULPEPPER THEATRE COMPANY
Theatre – Toronto

SOULPEPPER is Toronto’s largest not-for-profit theatre, celebrating the stories that move us and the artists who tell them. Founded by artists and led by Artistic Director Albert Schultz and Executive Director Leslie Lester, SOULPEPPER has an integrated mission which includes: industry-leading youth outreach initiatives; artist training through the SOULPEPPER Academy, North America’s only two-year paid training program for theatre artists of all disciplines; new play development; a year-round diverse repertory season of over 600 events; regional, national and international tours; and working across digital and broadcast platforms.  After nearly two decades of award-winning work, it remains a place of belonging for artists, audiences, and aspirants.

Young People's Theatre

Young People's Theatre
Theatre – Toronto

Young People’s Theatre (YPT) is the oldest professional theatre company in Toronto and is a national producer and presenter of theatre for young audiences. Over the past 50 years YPT has staged many important plays that form the canon of work for youth in our country. The enriched learning experience of YPT’s Education & Participation Department provides young people with opportunities to develop their whole being.  YPT strives for a positive and lasting impact on the emotional, social and intellectual development of young people – giving them the chance to grow into the unique and wonderful people they were born to be.

Prix de la première ministre pour l'excellence artistique 2015

Le Prix de la première ministre pour l'excellence artistique vise à récompenser les artistes, les créatifs et les organismes culturels de l'Ontario qui se sont illustrés par leurs réalisations exceptionnelles. Les prix sont ouverts à des artistes et à des organismes artistiques produisant ou distribuant des œuvres d'artistes professionnels en Ontario, depuis au moins dix ans.

Date limite des mises en candidature pour les prix de 2016 : 1er décembre 2015

Tout résident de l’Ontario qui s’intéresse et prend plaisir aux arts et aux industries culturelles de l’Ontario peut proposer la candidature d’un artiste ou d’un organisme artistique pour le prix. Vous pouvez soumettre une seule candidature à un seul volet du prix, soit le prix Artiste, soit le prix Organisme artistique, mais non aux deux.

Les prix sont divisés en deux catégories:

Prix Artiste :

  • Décerné à un artiste ou à un créateur de contenu professionnel.
  • Le lauréat du prix Artiste reçoit 35 000 $ et un certificat encadré.
  • Cinq finalistes reçoivent chacun une somme de 2 000 $ et un certificat encadré.
  • Le lauréat désigne un nouveau talent prometteur dans la même discipline qui reçoit une somme de 15 000 $. 

Prix Organisme artistique :

  • Décerné à un organisme engagé dans la production ou la distribution d'œuvres d'artistes ou de créateurs de contenu professionnels.
  • Le lauréat du prix pour Organisme artistique reçoit 50 000 $ et un certificat encadré.
  • Cinq finalistes reçoivent chacun une somme de 2 000 $ et un certificat encadré.

Artistes Lauréates du Prix de la Première Ministre 2015

Le Prix de la première ministre pour l'excellence artistique 2015 ont eu lieu le 20 Octobre 2015 au Toronto.

Artiste

Jane BunnettJane Bunnett

Jane Bunnett est une flutiste, saxophoniste, pianiste et compositrice de renommée mondiale qui a bâti sa carrière à la croisée de la musique cubaine et du jazz.

Artiste de la relève

Christopher ButcherChristopher Butcher

Figure prééminente de la scène musicale internationale de Toronto, Christopher Butcher est un musicien qui transcende le genre et la prédisposition culturelle, pour le plus grand plaisir de son public international.

Organismes artistiques

SOULPEPPER - logoSOULPEPPER THEATRE COMPANY

Artistes finalistes du Prix de la Première Ministre 2015

Jennifer Baichwal

Jennifer Baichwal
Arts médiatiques – Toronto

Jennifer Baichwal réalise des documentaires primés depuis plus de 20 ans. Let It Come Down: The Life of Paul Bowles a remporté un International Emmy Award en 1999. Manufactured Landscapes, sorti dans 12 pays, a reçu de nombreuses récompenses internationales. Act of God a ouvert le Festival du film Hot Docs en mai 2009. Payback a été présenté au Festival du film de Sundance en 2012. Watermark, une présentation spéciale au Festival international du film de Toronto en 2013, est sorti dans 12 pays et a remporté le prix du meilleur film canadien décerné par le Toronto Film Critics Association. Elle travaille actuellement sur Anthropocene, le troisième volet d’une trilogie avec Edward Burtynsky et Nick de Pencier, qui sera achevé en 2017.

Christi Belcourt

Christi Belcourt
Arts visuels – Espanola

Christi Belcourt est une auteure et artiste visuelle Michif (Métis) dont les ancêtres appartenaient à la communauté historique métisse du Lac Ste-Anne, en Alberta. Comme des générations d’artistes autochtones avant elle, elle célèbre la beauté du monde naturel tout en explorant ses propriétés symboliques. Ses œuvres se trouvent dans les collections publiques du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, de l’Institut Gabriel Dumont, de la collection nationale d’art indien et inuit, du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, du Musée canadien de l’histoire et du Musée des beaux-arts de Thunder Bay. Elle a récemment été la lauréate 2014 du Prix du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario pour les arts autochtones.

Jane Bunnett

Jane Bunnett
Musique – Toronto

Jane Bunnett est une flutiste, saxophoniste, pianiste et compositrice de renommée mondiale qui a bâti sa carrière à la croisée de la musique cubaine et du jazz. Elle a remporté de nombreux prix JUNO, un prix de musique urbaine canadienne, et a été nominée deux fois aux Grammy Awards dans la catégorie meilleur album de latin jazz. Elle a été décorée de l’Ordre du Canada et a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II. Elle est titulaire d’un doctorat honoraire de l’université Queen’s. En 2012, Jane a célébré 30 ans de collaborations cubaines et canadiennes.

Barry Dempster

Barry Dempster
Littérature – Holland Landing

Barry Dempster, sélectionné à deux reprises pour le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général, a écrit 15 recueils de poésie, deux recueils de nouvelles, deux romans et un livre pour enfants. Son livre, The Burning Alphabet a remporté le prix de poésie Chalmers de la Canadian Authors Association en 2005. Pour la deuxième fois, Barry figure parmi les finalistes pour les Prix du Premier Ministre pour l’excellence artistique en Ontario. Plus récemment, il a été finaliste du Prix littéraire Trillium 2014 pour son deuxième roman, The Outside World. Il est actuellement responsable des acquisitions pour la maison d’édition Brick Books.

Alex Pauk

Alex Pauk
Musique – Toronto

Alex Pauk, chef d’orchestre et compositeur, membre de l’Ordre du Canada, a reçu le Prix Molson du Conseil des arts du Canada. En 1983, il a fondé l’Esprit Orchestra, le seul orchestre canadien consacré à la musique nouvelle, revitalisant ainsi la vie orchestrale des compositeurs. Grâce à Esprit Orchestra, il commande des œuvres et des programmes novateurs, il soutient des performances de haute qualité, des enregistrements, des programmes éducatifs et de mentorat, des projets de sensibilisation, des tournées nationales et internationales, et des collaborations artistiques interdisciplinaires. Il collabore avec toute sorte d’ensembles interprètes, des compagnies de théâtre et de danse. Il a également composé durant sa carrière plus de 30 musiques de film.

Mavis Staines

Mavis Staines
Danse – Toronto

Après l’obtention de son diplôme à l’École Nationale de Ballet du Canada en 1972, Mavis Staines a dansé avec le Ballet national du Canada et le Het Nationale Ballet avant de devoir subitement mettre fin à sa carrière en raison d’une blessure. Elle s’est ensuite inscrite au Programme de formation pour les professeurs de l’École, a intégré la faculté artistique de l’École en 1982 et en est devenue la directrice artistique en 1989. Mavis s’efforce de faire évoluer l’enseignement du ballet en s’appuyant sur les meilleurs enseignements traditionnels tout en veillant à ce que les danseurs développent leur conscience de soi et leur créativité, qualités essentielles pour mener une carrière et une vie aussi dynamiques que novatrices. Elle est à l’origine de l’engagement de l’École à rendre la danse accessible aux membres de la collectivité.

Organismes artistiques Finalistes du Prix de la Première Ministre 2015

Art Gallery of Hamilton - logo

Art Gallery of Hamilton
Arts visuels – Toronto

Fondée en 1914, la Galerie d’art d’Hamilton s’est développée au même rythme que les collectivités qu’elle dessert. Il s’agit du plus ancien et du plus grand musée d’art du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Sa collection permanente, l’une des plus belles au Canada, compte 10 000 œuvres reconnues à l’échelle nationale comme des réalisations importantes en termes de développement des arts visuels. La Galerie est un centre créatif s’adressant à toutes les générations, indispensable à quiconque souhaitant enrichir ses connaissances artistiques grâce à un apprentissage continu. Moteur de revitalisation, elle contribue de manière significative à la vie culturelle et économique d’Hamilton, de l’Ontario et du Canada.

Prise de parole - logo

Éditions Prise de parole
Édition de livres – Sudbury

Les Éditions Prise de parole, la plus ancienne maison d’édition francophone de l’Ontario, est présente à Sudbury depuis plus de 40 ans. Elle est reconnue au Canada pour la qualité des quelque 350 titres et 150 auteurs qu’elle a publiés. Résistant à l’épreuve du temps, la maison d’édition a patiemment élaboré un catalogue d’œuvres aussi fortes qu’exceptionnelles, représentatives de son environnement, transformant la « Capitale du nickel » en une capitale de la littérature possédant une empreinte littéraire indélébile. Elle continue de promouvoir la richesse des œuvres littéraires et des travaux d’érudition réalisés par des créateurs et des chercheurs du Canada francophone.

Hot Docs - logo

Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival
Arts médiatiques – Toronto

Créé en 1996, Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival a pour mission d’exposer et de soutenir le travail des documentaristes canadiens et internationaux et de promouvoir l’excellence dans la production documentaire. Hot Docs produit aujourd’hui le plus grand festival, forum et marché du documentaire en Amérique du Nord, et exploite le Bloor Hot Docs Cinema, le seul cinéma au monde privilégiant les documentaires. Tout au long de l’année, Hot Docs dirige et soutient plusieurs programmes, en apportant notamment, par le biais de trois fonds de production distincts, une aide financière essentielle aux documentaristes souffrant d’un manque de financement à des étapes critiques de leurs projets.

ImagineNATIVE - logo

imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival
Arts médiatiques – Toronto

Le Festival imagineNATIVE du film et des arts médiatiques est le plus grand événement annuel au monde célébrant les œuvres d’artistes autochtones dans les domaines du film, de la vidéo, de la radio et des médias numériques. Chaque automne, le Festival présente une sélection de plus de 125 œuvres, parmi les plus fascinantes et remarquables réalisations autochtones du monde entier. D’autres activités sont organisées pendant l’année, comme une tournée nationale, des coprésentations et les séries de projection indigiFLIX. Les œuvres admises dans le cadre du festival reflètent la diversité des nations autochtones du monde et la vitalité et l’excellence de leur art et de leur culture dans les médias contemporains.

SOULPEPPER - logo

SOULPEPPER THEATRE COMPANY
Théâtre – Toronto

SOULPEPPER est la plus grande compagnie théâtrale sans but lucratif de Toronto. Elle célèbre les histoires qui nous touchent et les artistes qui les racontent. Dirigée par le directeur artistique Albert Schultz et la directrice exécutive Leslie Lester, sa mission comprend : des projets novateurs de sensibilisation des jeunes; la formation d’artistes à la SOULPEPPER Academy, le seul programme de formation payée de deux ans en Amérique du Nord pour les artistes de toutes les disciplines; l’élaboration de nouvelles pièces; une saison d’un an au répertoire diversifié avec plus de 600 événements; des tournées régionales, nationales et internationales; des plateformes numériques et de radiodiffusion. Depuis près de vingt ans, la compagnie offre un lieu d’appartenance aux artistes, au public et aux aspirants comédiens.

Young People's Theatre

Young People’s Theatre
Théâtre – Toronto

Young People’s Theatre est la compagnie théâtrale professionnelle la plus ancienne de Toronto. C’est aussi une compagnie nationale de production et de présentation du théâtre à destination du jeune public. Lors des 50 dernières années, la compagnie a mis en scène beaucoup de pièces de référence pour les jeunes du pays. L’expérience d’apprentissage enrichissante du département d’Éducation et Participation du Young People’s Theatre permet aux jeunes de développer leur personnalité. La compagnie prône l’épanouissement émotionnel, social et intellectuel positif des jeunes, leur donnant l’opportunité de se forger la personnalité unique et brillante à laquelle ils sont destinés.