Legal and copyright

General

Artists' Legal Advice Service

This organization provides free legal advice to Ontario artists working in all disciplines. Artists can schedule an appointment to see a lawyer for a half-hour by calling 416-367-2527.

Canadian Intellectual Property Office

This agency is associated with Industry Canada. It is responsible for the administration of intellectual property in Canada. Its website provides basic information about Canada's copyright law and systems, including a section of frequently asked questions for choreographers.

Lawyer Referral Service

The Law Society of Upper Canada established this service in 1969. It provides people who call 416-947-3330 with the name of a lawyer who will provide an inexpensive consultation lasting up to 30 minutes.

Legal Line

A not-for-profit organization which offers legal information free of charge, Legal Line makes written information available about copyright, internet law, business law, bankruptcy and entertainment law (primarily music and the recorded media), among other topics.

Legal Aid Ontario

This organization funds community legal clinics and specialty clinics that provide services to defined communities.

Media and performance arts

Collective Societies

Artists working in film and television can assign their copyright or associated right to one or more collective societies. The most important in Ontario are:

Neighbouring Right

Performers whose recorded performances are broadcast or used for commercial purposes could be entitled to receive a royalty. Such performers can choose to assign this "neighbouring right" to a collective society — either the ACTRA Performers' Rights Society or Artisti.

Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada

This organization licenses the use of its members' music in Canada. As the copyright collective for the public performance of musical works, it administers the performing rights of members (composers, lyricists, songwriters and their publishers) and those of affiliated international societies.

Visual arts

Canadian Artists Representation (CARFAC Ontario)

CARFAC Ontario coordinates the Visual Artists' Legal Clinic. This service pairs each participant with a lawyer for a free 30-60 minute session. Artists can consult on questions such as copyright, commercial, contract and tax law. Artists outside Toronto can call 1-(877) 890-8850 to inquire by telephone. Members can also get advice on exhibition contracts, taxation, international regulations and other business of art matters.

Canadian Artists Representation Copyright Collective

This copyright collective licenses, administers and collects copyright for visual and media artists in Canada who have assigned their copyright to it.

Writing and publishing

Canadian Copyright Licensing Agency

Formerly called Can Copy, this collective society administers the rights of authors, illustrators, photographers, publishers and others to control the reproduction of their works in books, magazines and newspapers. This website also contains comprehensive information about Canada's copyright law and systems.

Canadian Private Copying Collective

This non-profit umbrella organization is responsible for collecting and distributing royalties on the media used by individual Canadians to copy music. It represents songwriters, recording artists, music publishers and record companies, on whose behalf the royalties are collected. Individual artists are members of collective societies which in turn formed this collective.

Creators' Rights Alliance and the Creators' Copyright Coalition

These websites provide information about domestic and international copyright issues. These organizations are coalitions of national artists' associations and collectives responsible for managing authors' rights. They are devoted to the defence, promotion and protection of the interests of Canadian creators in relation to intellectual property.

Public Lending Right Commission

This public program provides payments for Canadian authors when their books are in libraries.

Le ballet Accueil arrow La culture arrow Les arts et les artistes

Questions juridiques et droits d'auteur

Général

Artists Legal Advice Service

Cette organisation offre un service gratuit de conseils juridiques aux artistes ontariens œuvrant dans n'importe quelle discipline. Les artistes peuvent prendre rendez-vous pour rencontrer un avocat pendant une demi-heure en composant le 416 367-2527.

Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada

Cet organisme associé à Industrie Canada est responsable de l'administration de la propriété intellectuelle au Canada. Son site Web fournit des informations de base à propos de la loi sur le droit d'auteur et du régime du droit d'auteur au Canada et comporte une section FAQ pour les chorégraphes.

Service Assistance-avocats (aucun lien disponible)

Le Barreau du Haut-Canada a mis en place ce service en 1969. En composant le 416 947-3330, vous pouvez obtenir le nom d'un avocat pour une consultation d'une durée maximale de 30 minutes, moyennant des frais minimes.

Legal Line

Legal Line est un organisme à but non lucratif qui propose des renseignements juridiques gratuits. Il fournit des informations écrites à propos d'un certain nombre de sujets, en particulier le droit d'auteur, le droit d'Internet, le droit des affaires, les faillites et le droit du divertissement (essentiellement la musique et les œuvres enregistrées).

Aide juridique Ontario

Cette société finance des cliniques communautaires d'aide juridique et des cliniques spécialisées qui fournissent des services à des communautés particulières telles que les locataires, les Premières nations, les Afro-Canadiens et les Ontariens originaires de Chine et d'Asie du Sud.

Arts médiatiques et arts du spectacle

Sociétés collectives

Les artistes travaillant dans les secteurs du cinéma et de la télévision peuvent céder leurs droits d'auteur ou un droit connexe à une ou plusieurs sociétés collectives, dont les plus importantes en Ontario sont les suivantes :

Droits connexes

Les artistes du spectacle dont les représentations sont diffusées ou utilisées à des fins commerciales pourraient avoir droit à des redevances. Ces artistes peuvent décider de céder ce « droit connexe » à l'une des sociétés collectives suivantes : ACTRA Performers' Rights Society ou Artisti.

Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique

Cette organisation émet des licences pour l'utilisation de la musique de ses membres au Canada. à titre de société collective pour les représentations publiques d'œuvres musicales, elle gère les droits d'exécution des membres (compositeurs, paroliers, auteurs-compositeurs et leurs éditeurs) et ceux des organisations internationales affiliées.

Arts visuels

Canadian Artists Representation (CARFAC Ontario)

La CARCC est une société de gestion des droits d'auteur qui octroie des licences de droit d'auteur et qui administre et perçoit les droits d'auteur des artistes des secteurs des arts visuels et médiatiques au Canada qui ont cédé leurs droits à cet organisme.

Canadian Artists Representation Copyright Collective

This copyright collective licenses, administers and collects copyright for visual and media artists in Canada who have assigned their copyright to it.

Rédaction et édition

Canadian Copyright Licensing Agency

Anciennement connue sous le nom de CanCopy, cette société mutuelle administre les droits des auteurs, des illustrateurs, des photographes, des éditeurs et d'autres professionnels afin de contrôler la reproduction de leurs œuvres dans les livres, les magazines et les journaux. Ce site Web contient également des renseignements complets au sujet de la loi sur le droit d'auteur et du régime du droit d'auteur au Canada.

Société canadienne de perception de la copie privée

Cet organisme-cadre à but non lucratif est chargé de la perception et de la répartition des redevances des médias utilisés par les Canadiens pour copier de la musique. Il représente les auteurs-compositeurs, les artistes-interprètes, les éditeurs de musique et les maisons de disques, au nom desquels les redevances sont perçues. Les artistes sont membres des sociétés collectives qui, à leur tour, ont constitué cette société.

Alliance des droits des créateurs et Creators Copyright Coalition

Il s'agit d'alliances d'associations nationales d'artistes et de collectifs responsables de la gestion des droits d'auteur qui se consacrent à la défense, à la promotion et à la protection des intérêts des créateurs canadiens pour ce qui a trait à la propriété intellectuelle. Ces sites Web contiennent des informations sur les questions de droit d'auteur d'intérêt national et international.

Commission du droit de prêt public

Ce programme public verse des paiements aux auteurs canadiens lorsque leurs livres se trouvent dans les bibliothèques.