Health and safety information

These resources provide important health and safety information for working artists, as well as information on health codes and guidelines for organizations.

Al and Malka Green Artists' Health Centre

This centre is located at the Toronto Western Hospital and is supported by the Artists' Health Centre Foundation. It offers complementary/alternative and conventional health care to professional creative and performing artists, and to students and staff at postsecondary arts institutions. Its mandate includes research, education and outreach to the arts community.

Canadian Institute of Theatre Technology

The mission of this national arts service organization is to promote the professional development of its members and work for the betterment of the Canadian live performance community. Its website includes information about health and safety issues across Canada and the guide Theatre Safety Basics.

Public Services Health & Safety Association

This association works primarily with other members of the Prevention System, the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, the Ministry of Labour and the other Safe Workplace Associations and Designated Entities to develop products that teach safety to people in the education sector. It includes links useful to visual artists to information on health and safety for art centres.

Environmental Defence Ontario

This website explains the importance of Material Safety Data Sheets and how to obtain them. Material Safety Data Sheets are technical specification sheets that provide information on a product's hazards, as well as the precautions required for safe use of the product in the working environment.

Ministry of Labour

The safety guidelines for Ontario's film and television industry and for the live performance industry, developed by joint management labour committees, are available at this website. Ministry of Labour inspectors can refer to measures in the guidelines, depending on the circumstances of a particular situation, as reasonable precautions an employer can take under the Occupational Health and Safety Act to protect workers.

To Act in Safety

An initiative of Theatre Ontario with the support of the Ontario Trillium Foundation, this website contains comprehensive information about health and safety issues in Ontario theatres, including safety guidelines. This organization also provides safety training programs.

Workplace Safety and Insurance Board

This website has general information about workplace safety and information about rights and obligations of workers. Its information could be applicable to artists covered by their employers for workplace injuries and accidents under this agency.

Luminato Accueil arrow La culture arrow Les arts et les artistes

Santé et sécurité

Les ressources suivantes fournissent des renseignements importants sur la santé et la sécurité à l'intention des artistes professionnels, de même que des informations sur les codes sanitaires et des directives à l'intention des organismes.

Al and Malka Green Artists' Health Centre

Situé dans l'enceinte du Toronto Western Hospital et soutenu par l'Artists' Health Centre Foundation, ce centre propose à la fois des soins de santé complémentaires ou parallèles et des soins conventionnels aux artistes professionnels dans le secteur de la création et du spectacle, ainsi qu'aux étudiants et au personnel des établissements artistiques postsecondaires. Son mandat inclut la recherche, l'éducation et l'action sociale en faveur de la communauté artistique.

Institut canadien des technologies scénographiques (ICTS)

Cet organisme national de services aux arts a pour mission de promouvoir activement le perfectionnement professionnel de ses membres et d'œuvrer à l'amélioration de la communauté de l'interprétation en direct. Son site Web contient des renseignements sur les questions de santé et de sécurité dans l'ensemble du Canada ainsi que le guide Theatre Safety Basics.

Environmental Defence Ontario

Ce site Web explique l'importance des fiches signalétiques et indique comment se les procurer. Les fiches signalétiques fournissent des informations sur les risques associés aux produits, ainsi que les précautions requises pour une utilisation en toute sécurité du produit dans l'environnement de travail.

Ministère du Travail

Ce site Web contient les directives de sécurité conçues par un comité mixte patronal-syndical. Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail pourront proposer des mesures figurant dans les directives, en fonction des circonstances d'une situation particulière, en tant que précautions raisonnables qu'un employeur peut prendre aux termes de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail pour protéger les travailleurs.

To Act in Safety

Créé par Theatre Ontario avec le soutien de la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario, ce site Web contient des renseignements complets sur la santé et la sécurité dans les théâtres de l'Ontario, en particulier les directives de sécurité. L'organisme offre également des programmes de formation sur la sécurité.

Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail

Ce site Web contient des renseignements généraux à propos de la sécurité en milieu de travail et des informations sur les droits et obligations des travailleurs. Il peut s'adresser aux artistes qui, sous le régime de la Commission, sont couverts par leur employeur en cas de blessure ou d'accident sur leur lieu de travail.