Agencies and Attractions

This ministry oversees the activities and accountabilities of attractions and agencies that promote tourism, economic growth and job creation and offer a wide range of educational, recreational, cultural and entertainment programs. It directly operates two tourism attractions:

Fort William Historical Park

Fort William Historical Park

Fort William Historical Park in Thunder Bay recreates the days of the North West Company and the fur trade in one of the largest living history sites. It has been voted one of the Top Ten Attractions in Canada.

Visitors enjoy a rich tapestry of fur trading life, from culture to crafts, medicine to business, domestic life to heritage farming through a choice of overnight experiences, education programs, artisan workshops, conferences, banquets, festivals, camping, boating, concerts, and more.

Discovery Harbour

Huronia Historical Parks

Discovery Harbour on Penetanguishene Bay traces its roots and location back to the original Penetanguishene British naval and military base built as a result of the War of 1812 to safeguard access to Upper Canada. Popular events include Family Discovery Day and Haunted Harbour.

Huronia Historical Parks

Sainte-Marie among the Hurons in Midland was the 17th century headquarters for the French Jesuit mission to the Huron Wendat First Nation and Ontario's first European community. It has 25 reconstructed buildings, school programs, restaurant and award-winning festivals and events such as First Light and the Aboriginal Festival Weekend.

More of the ministry's attractions and service agencies

			Gallery of Ontario

The Art Gallery of Ontario* cultivates and advances the visual arts. It offers education, art programs, exhibits and displays.

McMichael Canadian Art Collection

The McMichael Canadian Art Collection in Kleinburg displays many of the Group of Seven works of art.

			Toronto Convention Centre

The Metro Toronto Convention Centre is Canada's largest convention centre and is located in the core of Canada's largest metropolis.

Niagara Falls

The Niagara Parks Commission is the park system preserving and programming the natural heritage and cultural landscape (including the famed Niagara Falls) along the 56-kilometre Niagara Parkway from Fort Erie to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Ontario Place

Ontario Place Corporation, Toronto's waterfront family entertainment playground, is set in a park complex on the shores of Lake Ontario.

			Science Centre

The Ontario Science Centre uses science as the lens to inspire and engage people in new ways of seeing, understanding and thinking about themselves and the world. It is also a leading developer of interactive exhibitions for science centres around the world.

			Convention Centre

The Ottawa Convention Centre is the key convention facility in Canada's capital.

Ontario Heritage Trust

The Ontario Heritage Trust is responsible for the identification, protection, renewal and promotion of all types of Ontario heritage — built, cultural and natural and is the Government of Ontario's trustee for properties of provincial heritage interest. Among its many programs and activities, it provides public access to many of its properties and participates in the very popular Doors Open program.

			Botanical Gardens

The Royal Botanical Gardens* is recognized worldwide for its unique contribution to the collection, research, exhibition and interpretation of the plant world and for developing public understanding of nature.

			Ontario Museum

The Royal Ontario Museum showcases art, archaeology and science. It is the largest museum in Canada to explore the natural world and humankind's cultural past.


St. Lawrence Parks Commission includes Upper Canada Village, Fort Henry and a series of recreational facilities and parks spread along 280 kilometres of the St. Lawrence River.

Science North

Science North educates the public about the origins, development and progress of science and technology and their relationship to society. It features exhibits, a model mine, museum and IMAX theatre.

Ontario Arts Council

The Ontario Arts Council provides funding to support artists and arts organizations, ensures access to the arts, and recognizes artists and their accomplishments.


The Ontario Library Service-North* delivers programs and services to Northern Ontario. It increases cooperation and coordination among public library boards and information providers, and also offers consulting, training and development services.

Ontario Media Development Corporation

The Ontario Media Development Corporation supports cultural industries including book publishing, music, film, interactive digital media and television.

			Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation

The Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation works with tourism partners to develop integrated, research-driven marketing programs that establish Ontario as a premier, four-season destination and has a consumer travel website

Ontario Trillium Foundation

The Ontario Trillium Foundation makes strategic investments to build healthy, sustainable and caring communities. It reaches out to new sectors in the community to support the important role that arts, culture, recreation, sports, the environment and social services play in the creation of vibrant communities.


The Southern Ontario Library Services* delivers programs and services to Southern Ontario, excluding Metropolitan Toronto, by increasing co-operation and co-ordination among public library boards and information providers. The organization also provides consulting, training and development services.

* While the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Royal Botanical Gardens, Ontario Library Service – North, and Southern Ontario Library Services receive transfer payments from the province, they are not provincial agencies. These entities have at least one provincially appointed representative on their governing boards, but they are not bound by the financial and administrative requirements for agencies set by the provincial government.

Le Ministère supervise les activités et les responsabilités d'attractions et organismes qui promeuvent le tourisme, stimulent l'économie et la création d'emplois et proposent un vaste éventail de programmes éducatifs, récréatifs et culturels. Le Ministère exploite lui-même deux attractions touristiques :

Parc historique du Fort William

parc historique du Fort WilliamLe parc historique du Fort William à Thunder Bay, qui relève du Ministère, a pour mission de recréer l'époque de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest et de la traite des fourrures au Canada.Les visiteurs peuvent profiter d'une foule d'activités, dont des séjours, des programmes éducatifs, des ateliers d'artisanat, des conférences, des banquets, des festivals, du camping, de la navigation de plaisance et des concerts.

Parcs historiques de la Huronie

Havre de la découverte

Les origines du Havre de la découverte de la baie de Penetanguishene remontent à la base navale et militaire britannique de Penetanguishene, construite après la guerre de 1812 pour défendre le Haut-Canada. Parmi ses manifestations populaires, citons les pirates de la baie et «Pumpkinferno» au Havre hanté.

Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-HuronsSainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, à Midland, est une reconstitution du quartier général du XVIIe siècle de la mission des jésuites français dans le territoire des Wendats, tribu huronne et première communauté européenne à s'installer en Ontario. Le site abrite 25 bâtiments reconstruits, un restaurant, et des programmes éducatifs ainsi que des festivals et des manifestations primés comme la fête des Premières lueurs et le festival de crosse "Bagattaway".

Nos autres attractions

Centre des congrès d'OttawaLe Centre des congrès d'Ottawa est le principal centre de congrès de la capitale canadienne.
Centre des sciences de l'OntarioLe Centre des sciences de l'Ontario utilise la science pour encourager les visiteurs à voir, à comprendre et à interpréter le monde autrement. Il est aussi un grand créateur d'expositions interactives pour des centres de sciences dans le monde entier.
Centre Science NordScience Nord informe le public sur les origines et l'évolution de la science et des technologies et sur leurs rapports avec la société. Il offre des expositions, une reproduction de mine, un musée et un cinéma IMAX.
Collection McMichael d'art canadienLa Collection McMichael d'art canadien à Kleinburg présente de nombreuses œuvres du Groupe des Sept.
Parcs du NiagaraLa Commission des parcs du Niagara est l'organisme responsable de la préservation et de l'animation du cadre naturel, historique et culturel (incluant les célèbres chutes Niagara) situé le long des 56 kilomètres de la promenade Niagara, entre Fort Erie et Niagara-on-the-Lake.
Fort HenryLa Commission des parcs du Saint-Laurent comprend l'Upper Canada Village, le Fort Henry ainsi que des installations récréatives et des parcs dispersés sur 280 kilomètres le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Fiducie du patrimoine ontarienLa Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien est le seul organisme de mise en valeur du patrimoine constitué par une loi responsable de l'identification, de la protection, du renouvellement et de la promotion de tous les types de patrimoine en Ontario. Parmi ses nombreux programmes et activités, elle permet au public d'accéder à bon nombre de ses propriétés et elle fait découvrir au public de nombreux trésors du patrimoine ontarien grâce à son programme provincial Portes ouvertes Ontario.

Jardins botaniques royauxLes Jardins botaniques royaux sont reconnus dans le monde entier pour leur contribution unique à l'inventaire, à l'étude, à l'exposition et à l'interprétation de la flore afin de mieux faire comprendre la nature à la population.
Musée des beaux-arts de l'OntarioLe Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario veille à la préservation et à la promotion des arts visuels. Il propose de l'information, des programmes relatifs aux arts et des expositions.
Musée royal de l'OntarioLe Musée royal de l'Ontario présente des expositions consacrées à l'art, à l'archéologie et à la science. Il s'agit du plus grand musée canadien à explorer le monde naturel et le passé culturel de l'humanité.
Palais des congrès de la communauté urbaine de TorontoLe Palais des congrès de la communauté urbaine de Toronto, situé au cœur de la métropole, est le plus grand centre de congrès du Canada.
Place de l'OntarioLa Place de l'Ontario est un terrain de jeux familial de Toronto situé dans un complexe en bordure du lac Ontario.
Conseil des arts de l'Ontario

Le Conseil des arts de l'Ontario finance les artistes et les organismes artistiques, favorise l'accès aux arts et reconnaît le travail des artistes.

Fondation Trillium de l'OntarioLa Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario effectue des investissements stratégiques pour bâtir des communautés saines, durables et solidaires. Elle noue des relations avec les nouveaux secteurs pour soutenir le rôle crucial que jouent les arts, la culture, les loisirs, les sports, l'environnement et les services sociaux dans la création de communautés dynamiques.

BibliothèquesLe Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario-Nord offre des programmes et des services au Nord de l'Ontario. Il renforce la coopération et la coordination entre les conseils de bibliothèques publiques et les fournisseurs d'informations, en plus de proposer des services de conseil, de formation et de perfectionnement.

Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario-SudLe Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario-Sud offre des programmes et des services au Sud de l'Ontario, à l'exclusion du grand Toronto. Il renforce la coopération et la coordination entre les conseils de bibliothèques publiques et les fournisseurs d'informations, en plus de proposer des services de conseil, de formation et de perfectionnement.
Société de développement de l'industrie des médias de l'OntarioLa Société de développement de l'industrie des médias de l'Ontario, catalyseur des industries culturelles, stimule la création d'emplois et les investissements. Elle soutient les industries culturelles, notamment l'édition, la musique, le cinéma, les médias numériques interactifs et la télévision.

Société du Partenariat ontarien de marketing touristiqueLa Société du Partenariat ontarien de marketing touristique est responsable du site touristique du Ministère destiné aux consommateurs : www.ontariotravel.net.



* Alors que le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario, les Jardins botaniques royaux, le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario – Nord et le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario- Sud reçoivent des paiements de transfert de la province, ils ne sont pas des organismes provinciaux. Ces entités ont au moins un représentant nommé par la province à leurs conseils d’administration, mais elles ne sont pas liées par les exigences financières et administratives applicables aux organismes qu’impose le gouvernement provincial.