Legislation

Establishment of the new Ministry of Tourism and Culture is reflected in an Order-in-Council made April 14, 2010.  This Order-in-Council sets out the powers and duties of the Minister and Ministry and lists the Acts for which the Minister is responsible.

Art Gallery of Ontario Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. A.28

The statute states that the Art Gallery of Ontario is to be managed by a board of 27 trustees, 10 of whom are Lieutenant Governor in Council (LGIC) appointments, five of whom are appointed by the College of Founders of the Art Gallery of Ontario, 10 of whom are elected by the membership of the Gallery and two of whom are appointed by the council of the City of Toronto.

The Gallery’s objects include advancing the cause of visual arts, conducting education programs related to the visual arts and collecting and exhibiting works of art.

Arts Council Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. A.30

The statute states that the Ontario Arts Council is to be composed of 12 members, appointed by LGIC.

The Council’s function is to promote the study, enjoyment and production of art. It may assist arts organizations, provide grants, scholarships or loans for study and make awards for outstanding accomplishments in the arts.

Asian Heritage Act, 2005, S.O. 2005, c. 10

This Act proclaims May in each year as Asian Heritage Month.

Celebration of Portuguese Heritage Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 22

The Act establishes June 10 in each year as Portugal Day. It proclaims June in each year as Portuguese History and Heritage Month.

Centennial Centre of Science and Technology Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. 5

The statute states that the Centennial Centre of Science and Technology (Ontario Science Centre) is to be governed by a Board of 16 to 26 trustees, appointed by LGIC.

Its objects include operating a science centre and conducting public education in science and technology.

The Minister approves the Centre’s bylaws. The Centre may retain its income which is to be applied to carrying out its objects. Its revenues and investments do not form part of the Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Emancipation Day Act, 2008, S.O. 2008, c. 25

The Act establishes August 1 in each year as Emancipation Day.

Foreign Cultural Objects Immunity from Seizure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.23

The Act provides immunity from seizure for art or other objects of cultural significance brought into Ontario for temporary exhibition if, before the work or object is brought into Ontario, the Minister determines it is of cultural significance and that the exhibition is in the interest of the people of Ontario.   The power to make this determination has been customarily delegated to the Assistant Deputy Minister.

Notice of the determination must be published in the Ontario Gazette prior to the shipment of art to Ontario. Once the determination is published, the work of art to be brought into Ontario is immune from seizure.

George R. Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. G.7

The Museum is governed by a board of 15 trustees, five to be appointed by the Board of Regents of Victoria University, one by the council of the City of Toronto and nine in accordance with the Corporation’s bylaws. There are no LGIC appointments to this board.

The Museum’s objects include exhibiting works of ceramic, decorative and fine art, promoting public interest in the history of ceramic development and operating a museum.

German Pioneers Day Act, 2000, S.O. 2000, c. 7

The Act establishes German Pioneers Day as the day following Thanksgiving Day.

Historical Parks Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.9

The Act allows LGIC to designate Crown lands as historical parks, where there is an object, site or land of historical significance.

The Act’s regulation designates Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons Historical Park, Fort William Historical Park and Discovery Harbour (formerly Penetanguishene Military and Naval Establishment Historical Park) as historical parks.

 

Hotel Registration of Guests Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.17

The Act requires every hotel to keep a register of guests and it contains a number of offences relating to the keeping of a register. In addition, the room rates are to be posted in each room, failure of which is also an offence.

Hummingbird Performing Arts Centre Corporation Act, 1998, S.O. 1998, c. 37

The Corporation is managed by a board of 12 directors, nine chosen in accordance with the corporation’s bylaws and three appointed by the council of the City of Toronto. There are no LGIC appointments to this board.

The Corporation’s objects include advancing an appreciation of the performing arts and operating theatrical facilities for performances, exhibitions and receptions.

Innkeepers Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.7

The Act gives an innkeeper a lien on a guest’s goods for price of food or accommodation. The keeper of a stable is given a lien on horses, other animals or carriages for reasonable boarding and labour charges. In both cases, an innkeeper or a keeper of a stable can advertise and sell the items at a public auction.

The innkeeper’s liability for injury to a guest’s goods is limited to $40, except where loss is due to an innkeeper’s wilful act, default or neglect.

Irish Heritage Day Act, 2004, S.O. 2004, c. 10

The Act establishes March 17 in each year as Irish Heritage Day.

McMichael Canadian Art Collection Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.4

The Act was amended in 2000 to recognize the contribution of the late Signe and Robert McMichael. The Collection is governed by a board of up to 23 trustees, appointed by LGIC. Mr. and Mrs. McMichael were trustees during their lifetime.

The Act creates an Art Advisory Committee composed of five members: the chair of the board, the vice-chair of the board and, in the absence of the McMichaels, three board appointees. The functions of the Art Advisory Committee include making recommendations regarding the purchase and sale of art and designating those artists whose work can be collected. In order to be designated, an artist must have contributed to the development of Canadian art.

The board ensures that the Collection reflects the cultural heritage of Canada and is composed of art by the Group of Seven and their (named) contemporaries and such other artists as may be designated by the Art Advisory Committee.
The Minister approves the Collection’s bylaws and the appointment or removal of the director of the Collection until such time as the Minister is satisfied that the Collection conforms with the legislation.

Metropolitan Toronto Convention Centre Corporation Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.11

This Act establishes the Centre which is managed by a board of seven to 13 members. Up to 10 members may be LGIC appointments.

The objects of the Centre are to operate, maintain and manage an international class convention centre facility in Toronto.

Ministry of Citizenship and Culture Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.18, in respect of culture matters

This Act was created for a Ministry which was subsequently reconfigured. By Order-in-Council, the powers and duties under this legislation relating to citizenship were transferred to the Minister of Citizenship & Immigration. Powers and duties relating to culture were transferred to the former Minister of Culture.

The Act gives the Minister charge of what is now known as the Ministry of Tourism and Culture, and responsibility for administration of its legislation. The Act allows the Minister to delegate statutory powers or duties to the Deputy Minister or to any employee of the Ministry.

The Ministry’s objectives include ensuring the creative and participatory nature of cultural life in Ontario by assisting in the stimulation of cultural expression and cultural preservation.

By 2007 amendments, the Minister is empowered to establish, charge and refund fees to recover the costs of any services that are provided by the Ministry.

Ministry of Tourism and Recreation Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.35, in respect of tourism matters

This Act was created for a Ministry which was subsequently reconfigured. The Act gives the Minister charge of the Ministry of Tourism and Recreation with responsibility for administration of the Ministry’s legislation. As the Ministry was reconfigured in 2005 and responsibility for Sport and Recreation was transferred to the Minister of Health Promotion, the Minister of Tourism and Culture is now only responsible for tourism activities and programs.

The Ministry’s objectives include promoting tourism in Ontario, using tourism to stimulate employment and income opportunities and encouraging improvement in the standards of services offered to the travelling public.

Niagara Parks Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. N.3

This Act establishes the Niagara Parks Commission which is composed of 10 to 12 members, appointed by LGIC. 

The Commission has a general duty to manage, control and develop the Niagara parks. The Minister has the power to issue policy directives approved by LGIC and the Commission must ensure implementation of these directions.

The regulations deal with the use of parks and the issuance of guide and sight-seeing vehicle licences.

Ontario Heritage Act, R.S.O. 1990. c. O.18, except in respect of Part III

The Act sets out the process for municipal designation of heritage properties. The Act was amended in 2005 to empower municipalities to prohibit demolition of designated heritage properties. The amendments gave the Minister the authority to designate properties. Such properties cannot be demolished without the Minister’s approval. The Act also establishes a licensing scheme for archaeological field work.

The Act establishes the Ontario Heritage Trust with objects that include acquiring property of historical interest for people of Ontario. It has a board of up to 12 trustees, appointed by LGIC.

Part III of the Act, which governs the Conservation Review Board, is administered by the Attorney General.

Ontario Place Corporation Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. O.34

This Act establishes the Ontario Place Corporation which is governed by a board of seven to 13 members. The members are LGIC appointments, one of whom must be a director of the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) Association.

Ontario Place Corporation’s objects include operating Ontario Place as a provincial exhibit and recreational centre, developing special programs to enhance the image of the province and co-ordinating activities with the CNE.

Ontario Wine Week Act, 2005, S.O. 2005, c.22

The Act proclaims the third week in June each year as Ontario Wine Week.

Ottawa Convention Centre Corporation Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. O.45

This Act establishes the Ottawa Convention Centre Corporation which is governed by a board of seven to 12 directors. Up to nine members are appointed by LGIC.

The objects of the Centre are to operate, maintain and manage an international convention centre facility in Ottawa.

Public Libraries Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.44

The Act provides for establishment of various types of library boards, including public library boards, their membership, powers and duties. The Act authorizes payment of statutory grants to eligible public library boards for operating funding.  The Act requires that defined library services be provided free of charge to residents.

The Minister has the power to establish by order special library service boards to provide resources and services and to make grants to these boards.  The Southern Ontario Library Service (SOLS) and Ontario Library Service North (OLS–N) are two such boards incorporated by way of Letters Patent under the Corporations Act. They are transfer payment agencies. The Minister recommends two of the nine-member OLS-N board and five of the 20-member SOLS board.

Royal Botanical Gardens Act, [1989 c.Pr.22]

The Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG) is managed by a board of up to 24 trustees.  LGIC appoints two members to the board. The President of McMaster University and the President of the RBG Auxiliary are members, along with nine trustees appointed by the board. Up to six trustees are appointed by the Regional Municipality of Hamilton-Wentworth, up to three by the Regional Municipality of Halton, and two by LGIC.

Its objects include developing and maintaining a living collection of plants and animals, protecting flora and fauna, and conducting botanical research.

Royal Ontario Museum Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. R.35

The statute states that the Royal Ontario Museum is to be managed by a board of 21 trustees. The chair of the Governing Council of the University of Toronto, the president of the University of Toronto and the director of the Museum are, by virtue of office, trustees of the Museum. Three trustees are elected by the members of the Museum and 15 trustees are appointed by LGIC.
Its objects include collecting and exhibiting objects, documents and books that illustrate natural and human history. 

The Museum requires LGIC approval to borrow over $100,000.

Science North Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.4

The statute states that Science North is to be managed by a board of at least 15 trustees, appointed by LGIC.

Its objects include operating a model mine and museum and conducting education in the origins, development and progress of science and technology in Northern Ontario.

The agency requires LGIC approval to borrow money.

South Asian Heritage Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 29

The Act establishes May 5 in each year as South Asian Arrival Day. It proclaims May in each year as South Asian Heritage Month.

St. Lawrence Parks Commission Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S.24

This Act establishes the St. Lawrence Parks Commission which is governed by a board of three to 15 members appointed by LGIC.

The duty of the Commission is to develop, control, manage, operate and maintain parks. The Commission needs LGIC approval to acquire or dispose of  land.

The Act’s regulation deals with the use of parks.

Status of Ontario’s Artists Act, S.O. 2007, Chapter 7, Schedule 39

The Act received Royal Assent on May 17, 2007. The Act’s purpose is to recognize the value and contributions artists make to Ontario and to create a climate in which artists can flourish.

The Act includes, in addition to a purpose clause, statements of recognition of the value of artists and government undertakings to improve the lives of artists. It also establishes that Celebrate the Artist Weekend will take place on a weekend to be designated by the Minister. 

Tartan Act, 2000, S.O. 2000, c. 8

The Act adopts and describes the official tartan for Ontario. The Act was amended in 2006 to correct an error in the weave description.

United Empire Loyalists’ Day Act, 1997, S.O. 1997, c. 42

The Act establishes June 19 in each year as United Empire Loyalists’ Day.

Ontario Media Development Corporation, O.Reg. 672/00

The Ontario Media Development Corporation was established by Regulation 672/00 under the Development Corporations Act. The Corporation was formerly called the Ontario Film Development Corporation. The board is to be composed of up to 17 members appointed by LGIC.

Its objects are to stimulate employment and investment in Ontario by methods such as promoting the culture media industry and administering provincial tax credit programs.

Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation, O. Reg. 618/98

The Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation was established by Ontario Regulation 618/98 under the Development Corporations Act.

The Corporation is governed by a board of at least three directors, appointed by LGIC. One appointment is to be a Deputy Minister of a Ministry other than the Ministry of Tourism and Culture.

The Corporation’s objects include marketing Ontario as a travel destination.

Ontario Trillium Foundation

Unlike the other agencies listed above, the Ontario Trillium Foundation was not established by a Special Act of the Legislature but by letters patent under the Corporations Act. The Foundation makes strategic investments to build healthy, caring and economically strong Ontario communities.

The board is to be composed of up to 25 members approved by LGIC for election by the Minister’s class of members. The Minister approves the individual who is to be elected chair and appoints the vice-chair. There are 16 Grant Review Teams composed of over 300 volunteers, appointed by LGIC.

Next page

VUE D'ENSEMBLE DU MINISTÈRE (suite)

Lois

La création du nouveau ministère du Tourisme et de la Culture ressort d'un décret émis le 14 avril 2010. Ce décret précise les pouvoirs et les obligations du ministre et du ministère, et indique les lois qui relèvent du ministre.

Loi sur le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario, L.R.O. 1990, c. A.28

D'après son texte, la Loi sur le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario doit perpétuer le Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario, géré par un conseil d'administration de 27 membres, dont dix sont nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil (« LTG »), cinq sont nommés par le Collège des fondateurs du Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario, dix sont élus par les membres du Musée et deux sont nommés par le conseil de la cité de Toronto.

Le Musée a pour mission de promouvoir les arts visuels, de diriger des programmes éducatifs ainsi que de collectionner et d'exposer des œuvres d'art.

Loi sur le Conseil des arts, L.R.O. 1990, c. A.30

D'après son texte, la Loi sur le Conseil des arts doit perpétuer le Conseil des arts de l'Ontario, composé de douze membres nommés par le LTG.

La Collection a pour mission de promouvoir l'étude, le plaisir et la production de l'art. Il peut venir en appui aux organismes artistiques, offrir des subventions, des bourses ou des prêts d'études et remettre des prix pour les réalisations exceptionnelles dans le domaine des arts.

Loi de 2005 sur le patrimoine asiatique, L.O. 2005, c. 10

Cette loi fixe le mois du patrimoine asiatique en mai.

Loi de 2001 sur la fête du patrimoine portugais, L.O. 2001, c. 22

Cette loi fixe le jour du Portugal au 10 juin de chaque année. Elle désigne le mois de juin de chaque année comme celui de l'histoire et du patrimoine portugais.

Loi sur le Centre Centennial des sciences et de la technologie, L.R.O. 1990, c. 5

Le Centre Centennial des sciences et de la technologie (Centre des sciences de l'Ontario) doit être régi par un conseil d'administration de 16 à 26 membres nommés par le LTG.

Le Centre a pour mission d'administrer un centre des sciences et de sensibiliser le public aux sciences et à la technologie.
Le ministère approuve les règlements du Centre. Celui-ci peut conserver son revenu qui doit être affecté à la réalisation de sa mission. Les produits et investissements du Centre ne font pas partie du Trésor.

Loi de 2008 sur le Jour de l'Émancipation, L.O. 2008, c. 25

Cette loi fixe le jour de l'émancipation au 1er août.

Loi sur l'insaisissabilité des biens culturels étrangers, L.R.O. 1990, c. F.23

Cette loi prévoit l'immunité contre la saisie des œuvres d'art importées en Ontario par une institution culturelle aux fins d'exposition. Le ministre a la responsabilité de déterminer si une œuvre d'art étrangère a une importance culturelle et si l'exposition temporaire de l'œuvre présente un intérêt pour la population de l'Ontario. Le pouvoir de décision en la matière revient habituellement au sous-ministre adjoint.

Un avis de décision est publié dans la Gazette de l'Ontario avant que l'œuvre d'art soit livrée à la province. Dès la publication de la décision, l'œuvre en question ne peut faire l'objet d'une saisie.

Loi sur le George R. Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art, L.R.O. 1990, c. G.7

Le Museum est géré par un conseil administratif de quinze membres, dont cinq sont nommés par le conseil d'administration de l'Université Victoria, l'un est nommé par le conseil de la cité de Toronto et neuf sont élus conformément aux règlements administratifs du conseil. Aucun des membres de ce conseil n'est nommé par le LTG.

Le musée a pour mission d'exposer des œuvres en céramique, des objets d'art décoratifs et des œuvres des beaux-arts, de promouvoir l'intérêt public dans l'histoire du développement de la céramique et d'exploiter un musée.

Loi de 2000 sur le Jour des pionniers allemands, L.O. 2000, c. 7

Cette loi fixe le jour des pionniers allemands au lendemain de l'Action de grâces.

Loi sur les parcs historiques, L.R.O. 1990, c. H.9

Cette loi autorise le LTG à désigner comme parcs historiques des terres de la Couronne où se trouve un objet ou un site de valeur historique.

Le règlement pris en application de la Loi désigne comme parcs historiques Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons (Parcs historiques de la Huronie), le parc historique du Fort William et le Havre de la Découverte (ancien parc historique des Établissements navals et militaires de Penetanguishene).

 

Loi sur l'inscription dans les hôtels, L.R.O. 1990, c. H.17

Cette loi impose à chaque hôtel de tenir un registre de ses clients et prévoit diverses infractions possibles liées à la tenue du registre. Un hôtel doit également afficher le tableau des tarifs de location dans chaque chambre, sous peine d'infraction.

Loi de 1998 sur la Société du Centre Hummingbird des arts d'interprétation, L.O. 1998, c. 37

La société est gérée par un comité de douze directeurs, dont neuf sont choisis conformément aux règlements administratifs de la société et trois sont nommés par le conseil de la cité de Toronto. Aucun des directeurs de ce comité n'est nommé par le LTG.

La Société a pour mission d'accroître l'appréciation des arts de la scène et de diriger le théâtre pour les spectacles, les expositions et les réceptions.

Loi sur les aubergistes, L.R.O. 1990, c. I.7

Cette loi donne à l'aubergiste un droit de rétention sur les biens apportés par son client jusqu'à concurrence du prix de la nourriture ou du logement fournis. Le patron d'une écurie de louage a un droit de rétention sur chaque cheval, autre animal ou voiture d'un client jusqu'à concurrence des frais raisonnables engagés pour l'abri et l'entretien. Dans les deux cas, l'aubergiste ou le patron d'une écurie peut vendre ces biens aux enchères après avoir fait publier une annonce.

En cas de dégradation ou de perte des biens d'un client, la responsabilité de l'aubergiste est limitée à 40 dollars, sauf si la dégradation ou la perte est due à un acte volontaire, une omission ou une négligence de la part de l'aubergiste.

Loi de 2004 sur le Jour du patrimoine irlandais, L.O. 2004, c. 10

Cette loi fixe le jour du patrimoine irlandais au 17 mars de chaque année

Loi sur la Collection McMichael d'art canadien, L.R.O. 1990, c. M.4

Cette loi a fait l'objet d'une modification en 2000 pour reconnaître le rôle de Robert et Signe McMichael. La Collection est gérée par un conseil d'administration de 23 membres tout au plus, nommés par le LTG. M. et Mme McMichael étaient administrateurs à vie.

Cette loi établit un Comité consultatif des arts composé de cinq membres : le président et le vice-président du Conseil et en l'absence de M. et Mme McMichael, trois personnes nommées. Le Comité consultatif des arts est habilité à faire des recommandations sur l'acquisition et la vente d'œuvres et à désigner les artistes qui peuvent faire partie de la collection. Pour être désigné comme tel, un artiste doit avoir contribué au développement de l'art canadien.

Le Conseil s'assure que la Collection représente le patrimoine culturel du Canada et qu'elle est composée d'œuvres d'art du Groupe des Sept et de leurs contemporains et d'autres artistes désignés par le Comité consultatif des arts.

Le ministère approuve les règlements de la Collection ainsi que la nomination ou la destitution du directeur de la collection dès qu'il estime que la Collection se conforme à la loi.

Loi sur la Société du Palais des congrès de la communauté urbaine de Toronto, L.R.O. 1990, c. M.11

Cette loi institue la Société, qui est dirigée par un conseil d'administration de sept à treize membres, dont dix membres tout au plus peuvent être nommés par le LTG.

L'objet de la Société est d'exploiter et de gérer un palais des congrès de premier ordre à Toronto.

Loi sur le ministère des Affaires civiques et culturelles, L.R.O. 1990, c. M.18, sujets relatifs à la culture 

Cette loi visait à l'origine un ministère qui a fait l'objet d'un remaniement ultérieur. En vertu d'un décret, les pouvoirs et obligations de cette loi qui renvoient à la citoyenneté ont été transférés à la ministre des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration. Les pouvoirs et obligations qui renvoient à la culture ont été transférés à l'ancienne ministre de la Culture.

Selon cette loi, le ministre est responsable du ministère désormais appelé le ministère du Tourisme et de la Culture, et de l'exécution des lois de ce ministère. Le ministre peut déléguer au sous-ministre ou à un employé du ministère tout pouvoir ou toute fonction que lui confère ou lui attribue cette loi.

Le ministère a pour mission de favoriser la vie culturelle en Ontario tant au niveau de la création que de la participation en contribuant à l'expression culturelle et à la sauvegarde de la culture.

Par suite des modifications de 2007, le ministre a le pouvoir de fixer et d'exiger des droits pour recouvrer les coûts des services fournis par le ministère, et de rembourser des droits.

Loi sur le ministère du Tourisme et des Loisirs, L.R.O. 1990, c. M.35, sujets relatifs au tourisme

Cette loi visait à l'origine un ministère qui a fait l'objet d'un remaniement ultérieur. Elle donne au ministre la direction du ministère du Tourisme et des Loisirs et la responsabilité d'appliquer les lois relevant du ministère. À la suite de la réorganisation du ministère en 2005 et du transfert de la responsabilité des Sports et des Loisirs au ministre de la Promotion de la santé, le ministère du Tourisme et de la Culture est désormais chargé uniquement des activités et des programmes relatifs au tourisme.

Les objectifs du ministère sont la promotion du tourisme en Ontario, l'utilisation du tourisme en vue de stimuler l'emploi et les possibilités de revenus, et l'amélioration des normes en matière de services offerts aux voyageurs.

Loi sur les parcs du Niagara, L.R.O. 1990, c. N.3

Cette loi institue la Commission des parcs du Niagara, qui est composée de dix à douze membres désignés par le LTG. 

La Commission est chargée de gérer, de diriger et d'aménager les parcs du Niagara. Le ministre peut émettre des directives en matière de politique, approuvées par le LTG, et la Commission doit veiller à la mise en œuvre de ces directives.

Les règlements pris en application de cette loi traitent de l'utilisation des parcs et de la délivrance de permis pour les guides et les véhicules d'excursion.

Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario, L.R.O. 1990. c. O.18, à l'exception de la partie III

Cette loi présente le processus de désignation municipale des biens culturels. Elle a fait l'objet d'une modification en 2005 pour habiliter les municipalités à interdire la démolition des biens désignés comme patrimoniaux. D'après les modifications apportées, le ministre a le pouvoir de désigner les biens patrimoniaux. Ces biens ne peuvent être démolis sans le consentement du ministre. Cette loi crée également un système de délivrance des permis pour les fouilles archéologiques.

Cette loi établit la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, qui a pour mission l'acquisition de propriétés d'intérêt historique pour la population ontarienne. La Fiducie est gérée par un conseil d'administration qui compte tout au plus douze membres, nommés par le LTG.

Le procureur général fait appliquer la partie III, qui régit la Commission des biens culturels.

Loi sur la Société d'exploitation de la Place de l'Ontario, L.R.O. 1990, c. O.34

Cette loi institue la Société d'exploitation de la Place de l'Ontario, qui est dirigée par un conseil d'administration de sept à treize membres. Les membres du conseil, dont l'un doit être choisi parmi les administrateurs de l'Association de l'Exposition nationale canadienne, sont nommés par le LTG.

La Société a notamment pour mission d'exploiter la Place de l'Ontario comme centre d'exposition et de loisirs pour la province, d'élaborer des programmes visant à rehausser l'image de l'Ontario et de coordonner les activités avec l'Exposition nationale canadienne.

Loi de 2005 sur la Semaine des vins de l'Ontario, L.O. 2005, c. 22

Cette loi désigne la troisième semaine du mois de juin comme la Semaine des vins de l'Ontario.

Loi sur la Société du Centre des congrès d'Ottawa, L.R.O. 1990, c. O.45

Cette loi institue la Société du Centre des congrès d'Ottawa, qui est dirigée par un conseil d'administration de sept à douze membres, dont neuf au plus peuvent être nommés par le LTG.

Le Centre a pour objet d'assurer le fonctionnement et la gestion d'un centre de congrès de premier ordre à Ottawa.

Loi sur les bibliothèques publiques, L.R.O. 1990, c. P.44

Cette loi prévoit le maintien de différents types de conseils de bibliothèques, y compris des conseils de bibliothèques publiques, les membres des conseils, ainsi que leurs pouvoirs et fonctions. Elle autorise le paiement de subventions législatives aux conseils de bibliothèques publiques admissibles aux subventions d'exploitation. Elle exige que certains services des bibliothèques soient offerts gratuitement aux résidents.

Le ministre a le pouvoir de créer par décret des conseils spéciaux de services aux bibliothèques publiques en vue de fournir des ressources, des services et des subventions à ces conseils. Le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario – Sud (« SBO-Sud ») et le Service des bibliothèques de l'Ontario – Nord (« SBO-Nord ») sont deux exemples de ces conseils, et sont constitués par lettre patente en vertu de la Loi sur les personnes morales. Ces organismes bénéficient de paiements de transfert. Le ministre nomme deux des neuf membres du conseil du SBO-Nord et cinq des vingt membres du conseil du SBO-Sud.

Royal Botanical Gardens Act, [1989 c.Pr.22]

Cette loi perpétue les Jardins botaniques royaux, gérés par un conseil d'administration qui compte tout au plus 24 membres. Le LTG nomme deux membres du conseil. Le recteur de l'Université McMaster et le président du service des auxiliaires des Jardins botaniques royaux en sont membres, ainsi que neuf personnes nommées par le conseil. La municipalité régionale de Hamilton-Wentworth nomme jusqu'à six membres, la municipalité régionale de Halton en nomme jusqu'à trois tandis que le LTG en nomme deux.

Le conseil a pour mission le développement et l'entretien d'une collection de plantes et d'animaux vivants, la protection de la faune et de la flore, et la recherche botanique.

Loi sur le Musée royal de l'Ontario, L.R.O. 1990, c. R.35

Cette loi prévoit que le Musée royal de l'Ontario doit être géré par un conseil d'administration comptant 21 membres. Le président du conseil d'administration de l'Université de Toronto, le recteur de l'Université de Toronto et le directeur du Musée sont administrateurs d'office du Musée. Trois administrateurs sont élus par les membres du Musée et quinze sont nommés par le LTG.
Le Musée a pour mission la collection et l'exposition d'objets, de documents et de livres qui illustrent l'histoire humaine et naturelle. 

Le Musée requiert l'approbation du LTG s'il veut emprunter plus de 100 000 $.

Loi sur Science Nord, L.R.O. 1990, c. S.4

Cette loi prévoit que l'organisme Science Nord doit être géré par un conseil d'administration d'au moins quinze membres nommés par le LTG.

Il a pour mission l'exploitation d'une mine miniature et d'un musée ainsi que l'éducation sur les origines, le développement et la progression des sciences et de la technologie dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

L'organisme requiert l'approbation du LTG s'il veut faire des emprunts.

Loi de 2001 sur l'héritage sud-asiatique, L.O. 2001, c. 29

Cette loi fixe le jour de l'arrivée des Asiatiques du sud au 5 mai de chaque année. Elle désigne le mois de mai de chaque année comme le mois de l'héritage sud-asiatique.

Loi sur la Commission des parcs du Saint-Laurent, L.R.O. 1990, c. S.24

Cette loi institue la Commission des parcs du Saint-Laurent, qui est dirigée par un conseil d'administration de trois à quinze membres désignés par le LTG.

La Commission est chargée d'aménager et d'entretenir les parcs. Elle doit avoir l'autorisation du LTG pour acheter ou vendre des terres.

Les règlements pris en application de cette loi traitent de l'utilisation des parcs.

Loi de 2007 sur le statut des artistes ontariens, L.O. 2007, c. 7, annexe 39

Cette loi a reçu la sanction royale le 17 mai 2007. Elle a pour but de reconnaître la valeur des artistes et leurs contributions à l'Ontario ainsi que la création d'un climat propice à l'épanouissement des artistes.

En plus de la disposition de déclaration d'objet, cette loi comprend des déclarations de reconnaissance de la valeur des artistes et des engagements du gouvernement envers l'amélioration de la vie des artistes. Elle établit également que le ministre fixera la Fin de semaine des artistes. 

Loi de 2000 sur le tartan, L.O. 2000, c. 8

Cette loi adopte et décrit le tartan officiel de l'Ontario. Elle a fait l'objet de modifications en 2006 pour corriger une erreur dans la description du tissage.

Loi de 1997 sur le jour des Loyalistes de l'Empire-Uni, L.O. 1997, c. 42

Cette loi fixe le jour des Loyalistes de l'Empire-Uni au 19 juin de chaque année.

Société de développement de l'industrie des médias de l'Ontario, Règlement ontarien 672/00

La Société de développement de l'industrie des médias de l'Ontario a été établie par le règlement 672/00 de la Loi sur les sociétés de développement. À l'origine, la Société s'appelait la Société de développement de l'industrie cinématographique ontarienne. Le conseil d'administration peut être composé tout au plus de 17 membres, nommés par le LTG.

La Société a pour mission de stimuler l'emploi et les investissements en Ontario à l'aide de méthodes telles que la promotion de l'industrie des médias culturels et l'administration des programmes provinciaux de crédit d'impôt.

Société du Partenariat ontarien de marketing touristique, Règlement de l'Ontario 618/98

La Société du Partenariat ontarien de marketing touristique a été instituée par le Règlement de l'Ontario 618/98 pris en application de la Loi sur les sociétés de développement.

La Société est dirigée par un conseil d'administration composé d'un minimum de trois membres, désignés par le LTG. L'un des membres du conseil doit être le sous-ministre d'un ministère autre que celui du Tourisme et de la Culture.

L'un des objets de la Société est de promouvoir l'Ontario comme destination de voyage.

Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario

Contrairement aux organismes mentionnés ci-dessus, la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario n'a pas été constituée par une loi spéciale du Parlement, mais par lettres patentes en application de la Loi sur les personnes morales de l'Ontario. La Fondation effectue des investissements stratégiques pour établir des communautés saines, bienveillantes et économiquement solides en Ontario.

Le conseil d'administration compte un maximum de 25 administrateurs que le LTG a approuvé avant leur élection par certains membres du ministère. Le ministre approuve l'élection du président et nomme le vice-président. L'organisme compte 16 équipes d'évaluation des demandes de subvention, qui regroupent plus de 300 bénévoles nommés par le LTG.

Continuer